Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2003

      This recipe was fairly easy to make. The dough is extremely sticky. Make sure to have a well floured surface and rolling pin. A trick to make things easier: put wax paper down and flour it to use as your work area. Then, you can turn the wax paper between rollings instead of trying to turn the tortilla...much easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I made this recipe for my hispanic friend and he said they were just like those his grandmother made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Granted, I am an amature making tortillas, but all I got out of this was a sticky mess. As soon as I read the recipe I thought there was too much water in it and I was right. I never even added all the water and it was a disater. I didn't even bother to try rolling these out. I quickly found a corn tortilla recipe and made them instead. They came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      When I was 12 (now 65), a Mexican woman taught me to make these. This is the same recipe she used. Works perfect every time! Really yummy when fresh hot off the old wood stove lid with real butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I've made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it, I didn't need to use the entire cup of water as my kitchen was quite humid. I was boiling beans while making them. The second time, all my other cooking was done and they were made spur of the moment to use as wraps. I added sesame oil and sesame seeds but needed the entire cup of water. I'm thinking the stickiness problem some people have mentioned is due more to humidity in the air or flour than an inherent problem with the recipe. I had no problems whatsoever and thought they were lovely! Basic and easily varied to suit your needs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Wonderful! And what I did was added Garlic, Basil, Parmesan Cheese, and a pinch of white pepper. Yummy! I also added just a bit more shortening as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      A little sticky but easy! I added a little basil and used them as a wrap with ham, cheese, lettuce and ranch dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Had no trouble what so ever with this recipe. Dough was very easy to work with and the whole recipe from start to finish was not in the least time consuming, with a great result at the end. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      I had no trouble with this recipe,not sticky at all.Great tasting tortillas! Easy to make but a little time consuming to make.Well worth it though.I made about 20 tortillas,froze some and reheated in microwave 20 seconds came ot fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      I followed the directions on making this recipe and it came out sticky and runny. I had to use more flour and the tortillas where really small. I was not happy at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2004

      This recipe was EXTREMELY sticky and does not hold together. I needed a lot more flour just to get coherent shapes. I give this recipe 2 stars because it gave me a place to start. It would have been better to suggest to start with 1/2 cup water or 2 1/2 cups flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Very good recipe. My dough was not sticky at all and seemed very easy to work with. I barely had to use but a smidgen of flour to roll out. I tried 'flour tortillas #32131' and they were not nearly as good probably because there was no grease in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      I found this recipe very easy and terrific! I do suggest substituting cold bacon drippings (I keep a small covered cup in the fridge) for the shortening. It adds a subtle flavor and makes the dough soft and easy to work with. I also used warm water. This makes about 12 tortillas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1136.3
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    22%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1174.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 190.7 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites