Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2010

      Very delicious! I made twelve balls and when I rolled them out (as thin as it could possibly go) they came out to be the size of the smaller flour tortillas. Which was fine with me, it was the size I was going for. I love the omission of the shortening. These were quick and easy to make, and turned out very pretty and authentic looking. Ate it with spinach and pepperjack cheese. Thank you, Dancer! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I really loved how the list of ingredients is so short! This was so unbelievably easy to make. I'd love to get some kind of press though, since I couldn't quite get them as thin as the store-bought ones. Nevertheless, they came out well. I'm not quite sure how you get 12 9" tortillas though.. I divided my dough into 12 and they ended up pretty tiny, no matter how much I rolled them out. Oh well. Guess I'll just have to make a double batch next time! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These were amazing! My kids loved them as well. thanks for the cheap and easy - yet scrumptious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      These were really yummy once filled to the point that I kept noticing that they just really tasted more "real" than store bought. I can't quite explain, but it was a good thing. I wasn't prepared for how much time and effort the rolling took, but now that I know, I can plan accordingly and make a bunch at once to freeze because they really are good. I bet the rolling will be a little easier and the shape a little more round with more practice. This was my first ever batch of homemade tortillas, and I was so proud of myself when I used them for our meal. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing this basic, inexpensive and very yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      nice except mine werent very soft

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Great recipe! Thanks Dancer this is going to save me a lot of money! I slipped in some wholemeal flour - replaced 1/2 white with it. Great texture - so soft and delish! I wrapped them in a clean tea towel to keep them soft until I served them. I also let the dough rest a bit longer and it was super easy to roll out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I used half regular flour and half oat flour. I had no problems preparing them whatsoever. They crisp up very nicely, too. After I'd filled them, I sprayed a pan with cooking spray and fried them, turning occasionally, until they were beautifully golden brown on all sides. DELICIOUS...and fat free to boot! This is my one and only tortilla recipe. Thank you ever so much for sharing! Deep- One plus to making your own is that you know exactly what's going into your food. You don't have to worry about additives and preservatives and all that other junk that's often found in the store bought stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      These were fabulously easy to make and I love that they are low fat. I couldn't quite get them to roll out to 9 inches, so next time instead of dividing into 12 parts, I'll do between 8 and 10. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I will not rate this, but I did try it. All I have to say is that the time, ingredients, environmental energy used, this is just simply an energy waster, with no significant differecnce from the store bought varieties. I simply cannot substantiate the cost of making these as opposed to buying the pre-mades at the grocery. I have to say that tortillas are one product that the manufacturers have beat us at our own game! I love your recipe, but it won't be repeated. I do encourage the adventurous to try this, as there are no flaws in the recipe. It's just that some "Homemades" exceed the end result. If someone wishes to oppose my views, please clue me in to the reasons, and I'll respect them. I am not soliciting attacks, just honest opinions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I am ashamed to admit that I have not reviewed these delicious and tender tortillas yet... I had run out of flour tortillas one day and really didn't feel like going out... I picked this recipe since there was no lard or oil... It made me wonder if they would turn out! So curiosity got the better of me, and I had a great time making these. Very easy to throw together, all the ingredients are cheap and on hand most of the time, and they are not hard to roll out or cook at all. I thought they were going to be hard, but once they steamed in the plastic bag, were a great texture! Delicious while still warm, but kept well for a few days in the refrigerator. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup regular flour and the flavour was great. With the whole wheat flour they were a bit of a pain to roll out, but I don't mind eating my tortillas as triangles, squares or circles! Will not be buying them from the store any time soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      These are so wonderful! I also had a hard time getting them thin enough (as some other reviewers have also found), but the flavor is wonderful and I don't mind them being closer to the thickness of pita bread. I think I just need to work on my upper-body strength a little more before I attempt to roll out a batch of tortillas! Thanks for posting - I will use this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      This was my first time making flour tortillas, and on the whole I would rate it a positive, though maybe challenging experience. I found it a bit difficult to get these to the proper thinness, so I settled for what made more of a thin pita-like tortilla, which actually was almost better! Very easy to throw together though. Next time, I might add a few spices to match whatever I'm serving with it (i.e. a little garlic powder, onion powder....) Thank you for a great, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      This recipe is a dream to make and to eat. The exclusion of fats from the ingredients list is wonderful. I will no longer be looking for another tortilla recipe. When grilling this, I used a tip from another reviewer for another recipe and used a damp towel to cover the top of the tortilla before flipping it over. Thank you for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Hey this recipe is really easy and good - yum! taste is delicious I used a tortilla press - it makes them paper thin and a perfect circle and it's just so fast. I can make 60 of them in just a few minutes. Always press them between two sheets of wax paper or you'll have a mess trying to scrape them off of the press!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Dead easy to make and they they fry up really easy with nothing sticking. I roll them out between two pieces of baking paper so it is extremely easy to peel them off after rolling. Excellent recipe. One adult, a 5 year old and a 2 year old polished off 12 in one sitting so be warned - they won't last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I'm very impressed with myself for successfully making tortillas on my first try, thanks to this recipe. I love the fact that there's no fat involved! While they're for tonight's dinner, I couldn't resist trying a fresh one rolled up with peanut butter and raisins, and it was pretty darn good! A little chewy, but I did sub half whole-wheat flour which usually makes things a bit tough. I also had a bit of an issue rolling them thin, but again, darn that whole-wheat flour. Great flavour though! Mild enough not to overpower the faste of the fillings. Thanks Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      EXCELLENT! I was SO impressed. I halved the recipe to make 6 tortillas since this was my first attempt at making tortillas. Boy, I should have made the whole recipe - I made them for luch for 3 of us...20 minutes later there were none left! The dough was really easy to work with. My tortillas sure weren't perfectly round, but they were thin like store bought. I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the tortillas they really do compare to store bought yet they have very little fat and no preservatives which is excellent!! Thanks so much Dancer, I'll definitely be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      I found this to be a really good, easy recipe. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and the rest white, and I ended up with more than 12 - I rolled them REALLY thin, and they were pretty large. You don't miss the fat at all!!!! Keep them in a ziplock bag to keep them soft. Refridgerate any leftovers, they will turn moldy fast. My kids loved them. They do lose softness easily once out of the bag, but do great to zap in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      This was the first time I have ever made tortillas, was a little disappointed. They were hard to roll out and very dry. The next day I tried a differ recipe that contained crisco in the recipe (#4132)Whole different story. Very easy to roll out, not dry, and very tasty. If I make this recipe again I would definetly use the lard, about 1 T per cup of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (625 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    44%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 207.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes