41 Reviews

These have good flavor, i made two batches of them. It was hard for me to roll them out into anything that looked like a circle, so I trimmed the edges with a pizza cutter, works great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 October 05, 2003

I made the recipe from "The Almost No Fat Cookbook", which is the same as this recipe. They turned out quite well -- I was impressed with myself for making homemade tortillas! It was hard to make them nice and round, but they tasted good anyway. Very nice to have a tortilla with no added fat (which most if not all of the commercial tortillas have). I will be making them again -- next time I'll make more and freeze the extras.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner October 02, 2003

I was excited to try this recipe due to the lack of shortening in it, anyway to cut fat. The taste was really good. I doubled the batch and out family of six consumed them all. The only trouble I had was getting them thin enough. I used my torilla press, however, when I peeled my tortilla off the press the tortilla shrunk quite a bit. I really felt that this was due to the lack of a fat that helps with elasticity. Like I said they were tasty but just a little too thick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely September 04, 2003

This was the first tortilla recipe i have ever tried and I love it! Its so easy, and they taste better than store bought ones. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandyleigh K July 22, 2003

Wonderful! Easy! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white, and it couldn't have been easier. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ June 29, 2003

Very easy! Great to find a recipe that is low fat and tasty! Very pretty to the eye as well as the mouth. Must try for anyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Staci J June 02, 2003

What an easy, tasty recipe. I can take tortillas off my shopping list. Thanks Dancer for the freezing tips. I agree with Syb, rolling them thin was challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckwalter March 02, 2003

I decided to try these since they had no added fat, they were good, easy to make and tasty. I made half a recipe and then divided the tortilla balls in half to make smaller tortillas. I found it easier to roll them into rounds this way and they fit my comal better. I will make them again, thanks Dancer^!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu May 26, 2014

I've used this recipe for awhile and keep forgetting to post a review. I just finished making a dozen and they turned out wonderful as always. They are so tasty! Mine always come out a little tough, but putting them in a plastic bag to seal the heat in really does soften them up.
Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy K October 25, 2011

I was really skeptical at first about these because of a couple of shoddy reviews-- but was *really* pleased with the way that they turned out. I think that the cooking time for these tortillas took a lot longer than expected-- especially because I did not have anyone helping me. The longest part was rolling out the tortillas which probably took about 2-3 minutes per tortilla (which was probably me). Additionally I was nervous about not using an oil/butter on the pan-- but I definitely didn't use any and they turned out perfect. Can't wait to use them tonight for dinner! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wisconsincheddar28 August 10, 2010
Flour Tortillas