Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2002

      These were great! I was very skeptical at first about the limited ingredients - especially considering most tortilla recipes I have tried have always called for some shortening or oil and these do not. I made these entirely by hand, including the mixing and kneading of the dough, and they came out smooth and perfect. They cooked very quickly and exactly as described. My family never knew this was a fat reduced recipe. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      Dancer, What an easy recipe to make! These turned out much better than the tortilla in the store. Thanks for posting! Barb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      This recipe turned out super! I made this for my family, but I didn;t tell them that I made them myself. They all said that the tortillas were excellent and asked what brand they were. When I told them they wre homemade, everyone was surprised! The tortillas were very thin and light. They had a nice taste, also. It was a little hard trying to get them very thin and circular, though. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      What can be said, these are amazing. I have an 8-inch tortilla press and they came out perfect. As said above nobdy new they were home made. Prefection. Thanks so much. Polly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Fantastic Torts, Dancer! Super-simple, quick and easy to make up. The taste is just ducky! Keep those great recipes comin! Thanks for posting another winner! Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      My first attempt at making tortillas is a success! Great detailed recipe, easy to follow, great results! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      These tortillas turned out really good, considering how low-fat they are. It was my first effort at making homemade tortillas, so they didn't turn out very round, but the taste is what matters anyway, eh? My husband suggested that recipes with a little bit of shortening or lard have a little better flavor, but when you fill the tortillas with lots of flavorful meat and toppings, the flavor of the tortilla isn't quite as important. They were fun to make and I will definitely try these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      These tortillas turned out delicious - as good or better than store-bought, and without the laundry list of added chemicals. However, it took me 2 tries to get it right. The first time I tried a half-recipe and the dough simply couldn't spread thin. I'm pretty sure I added too much water to the dough. They ended up more like nan than tortillas, but they were still decent, if a tad disappointing. The second time I made a full batch and just to make things more complicated used whole wheat flour instead of regular. I resisted the urge to add more water even though the dough seemed really really thick and hard. I'm glad I did, because the dough then spread as thin as I wanted and the tortillas turned out beautifully. I don't think I'll ever buy tortillas again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I used this receipe to try and make totillas without my mexican husband's help and the dough was not right, nor did the tortillas taste as fantastic as his. He said they needed shortening. The dough should be kind of spongy, and this dough was too hard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      these tasted great, and dh loves this, but that is actually a bad thing, since i found it was a real workout to roll them out - maybe a tortilla press would make this easier? CHristmas is coming...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      These have good flavor, i made two batches of them. It was hard for me to roll them out into anything that looked like a circle, so I trimmed the edges with a pizza cutter, works great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      I made the recipe from "The Almost No Fat Cookbook", which is the same as this recipe. They turned out quite well -- I was impressed with myself for making homemade tortillas! It was hard to make them nice and round, but they tasted good anyway. Very nice to have a tortilla with no added fat (which most if not all of the commercial tortillas have). I will be making them again -- next time I'll make more and freeze the extras.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      I was excited to try this recipe due to the lack of shortening in it, anyway to cut fat. The taste was really good. I doubled the batch and out family of six consumed them all. The only trouble I had was getting them thin enough. I used my torilla press, however, when I peeled my tortilla off the press the tortilla shrunk quite a bit. I really felt that this was due to the lack of a fat that helps with elasticity. Like I said they were tasty but just a little too thick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      This was the first tortilla recipe i have ever tried and I love it! Its so easy, and they taste better than store bought ones. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      Wonderful! Easy! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white, and it couldn't have been easier. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      Very easy! Great to find a recipe that is low fat and tasty! Very pretty to the eye as well as the mouth. Must try for anyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      What an easy, tasty recipe. I can take tortillas off my shopping list. Thanks Dancer for the freezing tips. I agree with Syb, rolling them thin was challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      I decided to try these since they had no added fat, they were good, easy to make and tasty. I made half a recipe and then divided the tortilla balls in half to make smaller tortillas. I found it easier to roll them into rounds this way and they fit my comal better. I will make them again, thanks Dancer^!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I've used this recipe for awhile and keep forgetting to post a review. I just finished making a dozen and they turned out wonderful as always. They are so tasty! Mine always come out a little tough, but putting them in a plastic bag to seal the heat in really does soften them up.
      Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I was really skeptical at first about these because of a couple of shoddy reviews-- but was *really* pleased with the way that they turned out. I think that the cooking time for these tortillas took a lot longer than expected-- especially because I did not have anyone helping me. The longest part was rolling out the tortillas which probably took about 2-3 minutes per tortilla (which was probably me). Additionally I was nervous about not using an oil/butter on the pan-- but I definitely didn't use any and they turned out perfect. Can't wait to use them tonight for dinner! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (625 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    44%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 207.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites