55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I double this batch and make it about every 2 weeks. I use the water part and it turns out great! I have tried with milk but since water is more readily available I go with that. I also do half and half of white flour and whole wheat (I tried doing all whole wheat and it was not to my liking) I used to buy tortillas all the time and now I make them myself!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NightStar November 01, 2010

used 1/2 C wheat flour to 1.5 C white flour. Great combo. Will make again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@m@nd@ April 06, 2009

Great recipe. I made the tortillas with canola oil instead of shortening, used water, and did 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 c. all purpose. In the future I will likely make them only with A.P. flour when using them for tacos/fajitas but for use as wraps I think the combination of wheat and A.P. flour works well. This recipe was very easy and makes delicious tortillas. I will definitely continue to use this recipe instead of purchasing tortillas at the store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somanyruns May 11, 2013

Great recipe, Definitely a keeper and really simple to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siyounb May 18, 2012

These were great!! I made them using water, ( I will try milk next time to see the difference). I rolled them paper thin and cooked them on a non stick skillet. They puffed up to the thickness of store bought ones. But tasted a 100 times better. They made the best soft taco's I have ever had!!!
thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dad the cook August 31, 2010

Thank you for a way to do low carb tortillas that still taste like tortillas! I used soy flour and whole milk - and didn't pay any attention to the directions because I fried them. They were SO GOOD! Next time I'll cook them the right way and see if they will roll lol. But this is a wonderful recipe. I look forward to experimenting with it a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abi Fae February 06, 2009

I've tried other recipes including one that was tweaked from this one, and this, is THE ONE for my family. For the first couple of times I used vegetable oil or shortening, which is great, but I've settled for butter and have been doubling the batch since. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let'sCookAndEat November 05, 2014

For ease of use this recipe definitely gets 5 stars. The dough is soft, pliable and easy to work with. However, I did not care for the flavor/texture of the tortillas. They quantity of fat used made them too rich tasting for me. The fat overwhelmed the flavor of the flour. Also, I like tortillas with a bit more bite or chewy quality. This is a perfectly good tortilla recipe. It just does not make my idea of good homemade tortillas. I had fun trying the recipe though. Thanks for sharing spicygrits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz August 12, 2014

Used water and whole grain flour. Pressed with my cast iron tortilla press and they still puffed up a bit in the skillet. Too thick to fold without breaking, but very tasty regardless, and my son loved pressing and helping flip the tortillas for the family. I made 8 medium sized breads with this. Very tender and easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 10, 2014

These were great! The dough was very easy to roll out thin after it rested for 30 minutes. I mixed 1 1/2 cups unbleached AP flour, 1/2 cup flax meal, 1/4 cup lard, and 1/2 cup + 1 Tbls of water (plus the recommended salt and BP) in my Kitchenaid using the paddle attachment, and they turned out delicious! I cooked them in my iron skillet, rolled the next out as one was cooking, and it was done in no time at all. I think this may be my go to recipe for flour tortillas from now on. I've tried several and I loved the results with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christyak June 10, 2014
Flour Tortilla Recipe