Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Tortilla Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Tortilla Recipe

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2010

      I double this batch and make it about every 2 weeks. I use the water part and it turns out great! I have tried with milk but since water is more readily available I go with that. I also do half and half of white flour and whole wheat (I tried doing all whole wheat and it was not to my liking) I used to buy tortillas all the time and now I make them myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      used 1/2 C wheat flour to 1.5 C white flour. Great combo. Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Great recipe. I made the tortillas with canola oil instead of shortening, used water, and did 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 c. all purpose. In the future I will likely make them only with A.P. flour when using them for tacos/fajitas but for use as wraps I think the combination of wheat and A.P. flour works well. This recipe was very easy and makes delicious tortillas. I will definitely continue to use this recipe instead of purchasing tortillas at the store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Great recipe, Definitely a keeper and really simple to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      These were great!! I made them using water, ( I will try milk next time to see the difference). I rolled them paper thin and cooked them on a non stick skillet. They puffed up to the thickness of store bought ones. But tasted a 100 times better. They made the best soft taco's I have ever had!!!
      thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Thank you for a way to do low carb tortillas that still taste like tortillas! I used soy flour and whole milk - and didn't pay any attention to the directions because I fried them. They were SO GOOD! Next time I'll cook them the right way and see if they will roll lol. But this is a wonderful recipe. I look forward to experimenting with it a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Used water and whole grain flour. Pressed with my cast iron tortilla press and they still puffed up a bit in the skillet. Too thick to fold without breaking, but very tasty regardless, and my son loved pressing and helping flip the tortillas for the family. I made 8 medium sized breads with this. Very tender and easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      These were great! The dough was very easy to roll out thin after it rested for 30 minutes. I mixed 1 1/2 cups unbleached AP flour, 1/2 cup flax meal, 1/4 cup lard, and 1/2 cup + 1 Tbls of water (plus the recommended salt and BP) in my Kitchenaid using the paddle attachment, and they turned out delicious! I cooked them in my iron skillet, rolled the next out as one was cooking, and it was done in no time at all. I think this may be my go to recipe for flour tortillas from now on. I've tried several and I loved the results with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      Love love love! Did exactly as written. I made sure my comal was very clean and not too over cook my tortilla. Smeared with beans and Central American cream for delicious Baleadas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Easy and tasty! Now I need to get a tortilla press to make them appear like store bought. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      I have to say this is the first time i have made tortillas from scratch, so easy, beautiful dough, delicious. I have made them 10 times already, and I will never buy those cardboard store bought again, thank you for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Wow! These are so good that i sprinkled half a tsp of sugar and cinnamon on one and had it for dessert! <br/>I don't know if I overcooked mine or what, but they weren't soft, but rather flaky and pie-crust-like, even though I rolled them thin.<br/>I used half whole wheat flour, and half unbleached flour. I only added a dash of salt, rather than half a tsp, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I'll definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Yummy!!! Great recipe!! I, like many other people that have commented, use water instead of milk and they turn out fabulous!! :) no more store bought tortillas for this family!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Super simple and it produces a great tortilla which tastes a lot like naan. The only thing I did was slight wipe the skillet with a damp paper towel between each tortilla and use a quick spray of cooking oil spray. I also I'd best with the eye at about 2/3 heat since high was cooking too fast. It might depend on your stove. I used one part soft wheat flour to three parts white flour. I might never buy store tortillas again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      This was so easy! I really like the little hints you through in there spicygrits, they helped a tortilla rookie like me make great tortillas. Only problem now is convincing my family I am not a professional cook :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Best tortillas ever! The texture and taste were so much better than store-bought. I made mine with shortening and milk and sprayed the skilled with a little cooking spray each time. I will never buy tortillas again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

    • on January 06, 2013

      these are excellent!!! it was a little more time consuming then i originally anticipated but well worth it! so much more affordable AND truly better tasting than store bought! we will be wrapping everything in tortillas now :) we used water and all white flour, but will be trying with whole wheat next time so that i can wrap my stepdaughters lunches for school! if using for tacos or fajitas and such, def roll them out pretty thin because they will end up a bit like naan bread if not, but thats not so bad either:) great recipe! thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

    • on July 10, 2012

      Followed this exactly. Definitely a winner! Just like my mom used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Tortilla Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    35%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 255.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites