Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flour Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flour Frosting

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2002

      This is the BEST frosting! I use butter instead of margarine (with any recipe I do that) and the recipe may sound a bit odd, but it is absolutely worth it and doesn't taste odd at all! It is especially good with rich, dark chocolate cake. It is a bit more work than traditional home-made frostings but everyone loves it the best! Tasting is believing :)~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      We really enjoy this frosting on chocolate cake. I use butter and natural shortening (Spectrum brand) and get good results. Just keep beating--the sugar does not stay grainy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      This frosting is fab! The first time I made it the flour/milk mixture clumped and no matter what I couldnt get it to be the right consistency. Instead of using the stove top, I heated the milk for appr 2 mins, then GRADUALLY wisked the flour in, REFRIDGERATED the mixture until completely cooled, THEN added it gradually as directed. If you do this its delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      I decided to edit my review. We made this frosting when I was a child and I always liked it because it wasn't so cloyingly sweet. And this is the frosting I used on the cake that won me first prize at the county fair when I was about 13!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Although I haven't made this exact recipe, I've been making flour frosting for more years than I care to remember. I wanted to share a little tip: bar sugar or caster sugar (NOT powdered/confectioner's sugar) is a finer grain than regular granulated table sugar, therefore it dissolves more easily without the graininess. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This is a great frosting. I couldn't get the milk and flour mixture to bubble but it seemed to work out. The sugar took forever to stop being grainy. I think I will try it with a little more butter than shorting next time to see if it improves the texture.

      Kristy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Better alternative to the buttercream frosting ... less sweet and creamier. It takes more time to make versus the buttercream. I will try to make it in the microwave next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This is fantastic! I love the creamy texture without all the heavy sweetness. I added 2 tbsp of cocoa to it and it was the perfect chocolate flavor. Goes great with a really dark chocolate cake. Looked really weird for the ingredients, but came out awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      You saved me with this recipe Leta! I was out of powdered sugar and needed to make my pb & chocolate frosting. I added 2 tbsp baking cocoa and 2 tbsp creamy peanut butter to this. Perfect!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This was simple and unreal. So perfectly creamy and not too sweet. I'm generally not a fan of frosting, I scrape it off cakes, but I ate this like it was cool. Put on Dark Chocolate Cake and they were a perfect combo. Thanks for making me fat Leta!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Unbelievable frosting. Creamy and not too sweet. I used it to frost brownies. I halved the recipe using only butter. I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa. It was fantastic! Thanks - I had never heard of flour frosting before.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      WOW super easy. Most of the frosting that I have made used powdered sugar and a lot of it which is to sweet. This frosting was not so overpowering like the others I have made. Very economical to make, I will never buy frosting again!!! I have been making this for over 6 months and finally thought I should leave a review on it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Great frosting if you are looking for a not too sweet version. It is light and fluffy! I slowly stirred the milk into the flour while whisking and cooked the mixture until it didn't smell like flour anymore. Thanks for sharing!

      The amount of frosting doesn't really cover a 2 layer cake as thickly as I prefer. If I had a different filling, then this frosting would be the perfect amount for the outside. And it frosts a ton of cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      I wave been making this frosting for 30 years. My children have grown up on it and I've passed it on to them when they became adults so my review is not about how great it is. I've read the reviews about having trouble making the flour and milk mixed. I have always just put them both in a shaker and shook it for a couple minutes no lumps just nice consistency. As for waiting for it to bubble mine never has. I just cook and stir continuously until it thickens it really only takes a few minutes. As for the frosting separating I've never had that problem. I have to admit most of the time I use all butter instead of the shortening but try the Crisco sticks it will work. Mix, mix, and mix you will have have grainy frosting. Lastly, as others have said 2 tablespoons of cocoa work great for chocolate frosting. Enjoy it. Best frosting. Makes plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Very good smooth & light. Just right amount of sweetness not overpoweringly thick & sweet. Reminded me of a cross between a butter cream frosting & a fluffy custard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      This really was super easy to make and totally delicious! I've always loved this kind of frosting and am so glad I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I've been trying alot of different frosting recipes lately but this one is the absolute best. Tastes like whipped cream and soooo easy to spread. So glad I tried it. Will be using it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I grew up on this frosting. I especially loved it on banana cake. My son wanted to treat his baseball teammates to brownies. I frosted them with this frosting. The kids absolutely loved them. I had to make these again for my son's english class. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I made this recipe to frost a strawberry cake. It was very good! A long proccess, but worth the work. I will use this again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Very smooth and airy, nothing like the confectioner's frosting I'm used to. I cooked the flour and milk until they were very thick, almost gummy, and the frosting has not separated at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flour Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (705 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2400.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1415
    58%
    Total Fat 157.3 g
    242%
    Saturated Fat 40.6 g
    203%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1236.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 243.8 g
    81%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 199.9 g
    799%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites