13 Reviews

Oh my gosh, I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful this dish tasted! My husband went on and on about how good everything was and when I packed his lunch with the leftovers, he told me to make sure that I put all of the leftover sauce on his fish for today. He really enjoyed it and that is saying something because he usually cringes when I say that I'm making fish. I followed the recipe ingredients as written, except that I didn't add the jalapeno seeds because my kids were also eating this and I didn't want it to be too spicy. I went with the suggestion of another reviewer and broiled the fish instead of poaching it in the sauce. I also seasoned the adult's fish with Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning before broiling. I cannot believe I didn't catch my husband licking his plate with the way he talked about this dish! I will absolutely make this again and again. Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness March 15, 2012

We had this last night with tilapia which was what I had...what a simple quick recipe! My husband raved, which is rare on fish dishes unless it's fried. I will making this many times in the future...thanks so much for posting ellie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 March 07, 2011

How Totally Wonderful! Perfect flavor, super easy, quick and delish. Followed it to a tee. I did use mangrove snapper, but very similar in texture to flounder, a tender white fish. It was great.

I served it with jasmine rice and steamed green beans I finished off in a saute pan with nothing more than butter, a pinch of red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Very simple.

The recipe is great, a great combo of flavors and sauce. Perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook December 14, 2010

Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup ~ 2014 tag game and what a wonderful choice! DH loves fish that doesn't have a fried coating and this was delicious! Served with jasmine rice and a mixture of zuchinni and yellow squash. Definately going into my Favorites of 2014. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 09, 2014

The flounder I used was somewhat disappointing but the sauce was terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 July 29, 2010

This is incredible! I had fresh caught Carolina flounder, and it turned out perfectly. I had quite a bit of fish, so I doubled the sauce. Next time, I will add more jalapenos and cilantro, as well. I served this with egg noodles and broiled zucchini. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon June 10, 2010

This was a delicious change from fried fish. I'm sure that catfish or walleye and other mild white fish could be prepared the same way. The fillets I purchased were very thin so I doubled the amount of sauce to cover everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bshigley April 07, 2009

My husband and I love this. I have made it numerous times. I use regular onions when I don't have scallions. I don't fold the fish in half, I just lay it flat in the cream and then turn once. It goes well with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biglinnie February 18, 2008

Can't believe I'm just now rating this one. I have already made this about 5 times and shared it with my neighbor. I couldn't even say it's my "go to" recipe for flounder, that wouldn't do it justice. This is the recipe that brings me outside when my husband gets home from fishing and I'm saying "but did you get any flounder??" Redfish have been demoted! (Although, I think you could put this sauce on anything and be happy.)The only changes I make are to use plum tomatoes peeled,seeded, and diced and to saute the fish seperately in butter because I am afraid to poach it in the sauce. It's a texture thing for me. Thank you SO much for this recipe. My freezer is flounder-free and it makes the gas for the boat worth every penny!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymee December 16, 2006
Flounder in Jalapeno Cream