19 Reviews

I made this with flounder, it was absolutely fabulous! The fish had a beautiful, golden color, the sauce was delicious. For my taste, the amount of lemon was perfect, I also added a few capers to the sauce. This is an impressive, company worthy recipe! Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 June 27, 2012

Yummy!!! I love just about anything with fresh lemon juice and this was delicious!!! I made this using chicken and served it with pasta, green beans and garlic rolls and the whole family loved it. I felt the amount of lemon juice was just perfect for my tastes. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. Made for Holiday Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 13, 2012

I would give this 10 stars! This recipe is awesome! I changed the flours to combination of gluten free flours and this was a hit with everyone! I made it again tonight (the first time was not even a week ago!) A definite keeper! The sauce was SO delicious! I doubled the sauce the 2nd time since we had it over mashed potatoes. I used flounder for this since we do not eat chicken. This wasso delicious, the only regret we had was that I hadn't made more! Thank you again for an over the top recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine_Trish April 06, 2011

This recipe was excellent! I just finished making it and my mom loved it!! I will defintely keep this recipe in rotation!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef in 1 hour or less April 05, 2009

It was fab. The fish over rice with the special sauce was the key.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vince volpe July 05, 2010

What to cook...what to cook? Aaaahhhhhhh that's right! I tagged for the Edn8 A/NZ tag game Realtor's Flounder Francaise or Chicken Francaise. It's a package-it-up and tie-it-with-a-bow delicious! 10 Stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 02, 2009

This was awesome with the flounder! I look forward to having it with the chicken too! Served with mashed potatoes and garlic string beans, we enjoyed it very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette March 19, 2009

The flounder was absolutely delicious. I have never cooked fish or meat in this manner (with the egg following the flour mixture), but I ended up LOVING it. I also liked that the egg seemed to prevent the flour from coming off in the pan, so less blackened bits accumulated and there was very little smoke associated with the frying process. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup corn starch. My only complaint is with the sauce. I found it to be WAAAY too lemony and also the wine was overpowering. Perhaps this was because I added cornstarch to the seasoning blend and used less flour? Thankfully I didn't pour the sauce over all of the fish, so we were able to eat only the fish, which was good all by itself. The next time I make this I will stick with only the fish and will pick a different recipe for the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicailene September 25, 2013

This was really good, and somewhat easy to make. The only thing I would change next time is use half the amount of lemon it calls for, it was just too lemony for my tastes. Other than that, my husband raved about how the fish was cooked!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irishgal76 September 05, 2013

I agree with previous review. I made this with wild caught thin flounder fillets (about 6-8) and cooked for a few minutes each side in electric skillet. Removed and made the sauce right in a corner of the skillet, and it turned out perfect. I also made some tartar sauce for the kids with a little Hellman's mayo, dill relish, and lemon juice. This was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sioux13208 August 24, 2013
Flounder Francaise or Chicken Francaise