13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

ok!!! i tryed this to the exact recipe shown, this is noway the same as flo's went and bought 3 jars and compared it absolutly not what i made here gross!!! threw it over the bank behind my house! anyway buy a jar save your money. if you look at the ingredients on the label you'll understand theres more to it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pokerace48 February 04, 2010

I made this sauce before I saw it here, so this is NO REFLECTION on the poster of this recipe. I cut the recipe by 75% because no way did I need that much sauce... Other wise I made it exactly as the recipe said... IMO, it was terrible, and I can't for the life of me figure out why people would ruin a good hot dog with this sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa Deuce August 31, 2009

OMG, this stuff is GREAT! I made a batch to see if it's like Flo's and it is EXACTLY the same. We often go to Flo's in Cape Neddick Maine, and indulge in her delicious dogs, but now I can make them at home and save on gas. I am so psyched! Thanks Linda!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMelMel May 28, 2008

I made 1/3 the recipe and got about 3-1/2 cups relish. DH and I loved the flavor, sweet, spicy, oniony with the flavor of baked beans from the molasses and brown sugar. I simmered it uncovered for 7 hours when it was thick like jam and started to stick to the pan. I served it on dogs with the mayo, mustard and celery salt. I liked the flavor the celery salt gave. I've never been to Flo's but if this is close to her recipe I'm one happy camper. chefly

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefly April 08, 2007

I have been to Flo's and the sauce they use makes you go back for more dogs. I had to try this recipe and it came out really well. The flavor is sweet and a little twinge of hot at the same time. I tested it on my dh and he says this is a 2 thumbs up sauce, so I am giving it 5 stars. I would give it more if I could!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay April 08, 2007

I was so excited to see this recipe posted! I can't wait to give it a try. Also, don't forget the other optional topping of celery salt which also seemed very popular in this amazing hot dog shack.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C. Taylor March 25, 2007

I have made this many times and it is the recipe... I live a few miles from Flo's and have eaten many hot dogs from there... Not everyone like the hot sauce as we call it, it is something you either like or don't like... But most Mainers love it !!!!!!! I didn't cook as long as stated but other wise it is exactly like I cook it but I add a little more hot sauce then stated.... Enjoy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy W. December 06, 2014

Made up a half batch of this relish and it came out great. It really added flavor to our dogs and with the addition of the celery salt it was extra special! I look forward to sharing this with my mom and my neighbor. I know they will love it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme February 08, 2011

I was not sure that I would like this because I am not fond of molasses, but it sounded just interesting enough for me to try. I made the recipe using 4 ounces ground onions, 5 teaspoons molasses, 1 1/4 teaspoons white vinegar, 1 Tablespoon brown sugar, ½ teaspoon Sirachi Hot Sauce & 1 cup water. I cooked it in a 1-qt heavy saucepan, over low heat, covered, for approximately 2 hours, stirring often, uncovering it for the last half hour to allow it to thicken. I ended up with approximately 1 cup of delicious sauce. It is absolutely wonderful and has a complex flavor that really grows on you. I will make a larger recipe SOON. Thank you for this unusual recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mshreve July 30, 2009

I tried this recipe for a second time and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue78 April 26, 2009
Flo's Special Hot Dog Relish