Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flo's Special Hot Dog Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flo's Special Hot Dog Relish

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      ok!!! i tryed this to the exact recipe shown, this is noway the same as flo's went and bought 3 jars and compared it absolutly not what i made here gross!!! threw it over the bank behind my house! anyway buy a jar save your money. if you look at the ingredients on the label you'll understand theres more to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I made this sauce before I saw it here, so this is NO REFLECTION on the poster of this recipe. I cut the recipe by 75% because no way did I need that much sauce... Other wise I made it exactly as the recipe said... IMO, it was terrible, and I can't for the life of me figure out why people would ruin a good hot dog with this sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      OMG, this stuff is GREAT! I made a batch to see if it's like Flo's and it is EXACTLY the same. We often go to Flo's in Cape Neddick Maine, and indulge in her delicious dogs, but now I can make them at home and save on gas. I am so psyched! Thanks Linda!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I made 1/3 the recipe and got about 3-1/2 cups relish. DH and I loved the flavor, sweet, spicy, oniony with the flavor of baked beans from the molasses and brown sugar. I simmered it uncovered for 7 hours when it was thick like jam and started to stick to the pan. I served it on dogs with the mayo, mustard and celery salt. I liked the flavor the celery salt gave. I've never been to Flo's but if this is close to her recipe I'm one happy camper. chefly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I have been to Flo's and the sauce they use makes you go back for more dogs. I had to try this recipe and it came out really well. The flavor is sweet and a little twinge of hot at the same time. I tested it on my dh and he says this is a 2 thumbs up sauce, so I am giving it 5 stars. I would give it more if I could!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I was so excited to see this recipe posted! I can't wait to give it a try. Also, don't forget the other optional topping of celery salt which also seemed very popular in this amazing hot dog shack.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2014

      I have made this many times and it is the recipe... I live a few miles from Flo's and have eaten many hot dogs from there... Not everyone like the hot sauce as we call it, it is something you either like or don't like... But most Mainers love it !!!!!!! I didn't cook as long as stated but other wise it is exactly like I cook it but I add a little more hot sauce then stated.... Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Made up a half batch of this relish and it came out great. It really added flavor to our dogs and with the addition of the celery salt it was extra special! I look forward to sharing this with my mom and my neighbor. I know they will love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I was not sure that I would like this because I am not fond of molasses, but it sounded just interesting enough for me to try. I made the recipe using 4 ounces ground onions, 5 teaspoons molasses, 1 1/4 teaspoons white vinegar, 1 Tablespoon brown sugar, ½ teaspoon Sirachi Hot Sauce & 1 cup water. I cooked it in a 1-qt heavy saucepan, over low heat, covered, for approximately 2 hours, stirring often, uncovering it for the last half hour to allow it to thicken. I ended up with approximately 1 cup of delicious sauce. It is absolutely wonderful and has a complex flavor that really grows on you. I will make a larger recipe SOON. Thank you for this unusual recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I tried this recipe for a second time and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I quartered the recipe and let it cook about 2 hours. It was wonderful and I had it on a zucchini wheat germ burger! Yum! Thanks for posting this great recipe! Made for Zaar Stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This is an absolutely wonderful relish. It went really well with our potato salad, too. Thanks to Linda for the recipe in particular with a thanks to Chefly for sharing how long it took her to make a lesser quantity. We made one pound of onions and simmered for four hours. Turned out exactly as Chefly described and a total keeper. Thanks for the recipe, Linda!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Oh lordy this recipe is gooddddddd! I made some today and we had some for dinner tonight on our dogs in rolls along with some Homemade Kidney Beans. This relish is 5+ stars, says my whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flo's Special Hot Dog Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (6598 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 751.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    30%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 119.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 188.1 g
    62%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 138.3 g
    553%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes