Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flemming's Steakhouse Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flemming's Steakhouse Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2009

      These were ok, but not the best potatoes I've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly. First of all, my potatoes took twice as long to cook. For a total time of 2 1/2 hours and I sliced the potatoes super thin, a lot thinner than 1/4 inch. The flavor was good, but I did not like how the cream mixture turned kind of clumpy while it cooked and not smooth. I believe this is from just warming up the cream and half and half and not making a roux to stabilize the mixture and keep it from not separating. The jalapeno gave the dish a good flavor and was not too hot at all. However, I will keep looking for "the" recipe as I like my scalloped potato cheese sauce to be creamy and not separated. But thanks for posting, I see a lot of people like this dish a lot. So it just must be my picky preference!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      The trick is to prep your potatoes first rinse them a couple of times and let sit in cold water for about 15 minutes. As you get your other ingredients ready bring a pot of water to a complete boil and add potatoes for about 10 minutes. Drain and continue with the cooking procedure this helps in so many ways. Creamier sauce faster cook time and softer potatoes make sure you cover pan first with foil and end with broiling it to brown. A little paprika or cayenne pepper gives it a very nice kick also. Enjoy !<br/><br/> J. B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Im only putting four stars because I made a lot of changes to this recipe. I used 5 medium-sized russet potatoes and cut them into 1/8 of an inch pieces. I simmered the heavy cream, half and half, salt, black pepper, 1 tsp onion powder and about 1/3 cup chopped jarred jalepenos. When it got warm enough, I stirred (in increments) two cups of white sharp shredded cheddar into the sauce. I layered potatoes in my greased 9X13 pan, and poured about 1/2 a cup of sauce and spread to coat each layer. I ended up with about five layers. I reserved the last cup of cheddar to spread over the top. Also, didn't cover it with foil because I felt it needed to thicken and evaporate out a bit.

      The end result was FANTASTIC. Hubby ate half of the pan himself. Will definitely make these potatoes again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I used two jalapenos instead of one and it had just the right bite to it, not too spicy at all. These turned out really good but I think next time I would use less potatoes so that I have a creamier version. The best scalloped potatoes I've ever made or ever had!! A must try to everyone out there!!!! I have made this several times and I too find it easier to put the shredded cheese directly into the heavy cream, half and half mixture and then it melts down evenly. I usually use 3lbs of potatoes instead of 4lbs and that way they turn out cheesier and creamier. Had to increase the cooking time also, might just be my oven. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      These potatoes were awesome! WIth some "minor" adjustments. When I warmed the half and half & heavy cream, I added the shredded cheddar cheese and made a sauce. In addition, I added some butter. (taste vs calories) I cut my russet potatoes thin, but still added about a 1/2 hour cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Fabulous! This recipe produced the absolute best scalloped potatoes I have ever made or eaten. The only thing I did differently was to swap the proportions of heavy cream and half-and-half. I have always found scalloped potatoes to be bland and the jalapeno with white pepper was perfect to perk the dish up without making it spicy. This will be my "go to" scalloped potato recipe from here on out. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This Christmas my nephew made these wonderful potatoes, we were all fighting over the casserole pan for the last of these most delicious creamy sensations...and I agree with the prior review, when I made them, (Yes all for just me) I added another jalepeno..mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Hi Lorac! These potatoes are every bit as good as MysteryShopper's photo! I made it exactly as written and we loved it. The only thing I MIGHT do different would be an optional thing, that would be to add finely diced ham or sliced mushrooms, it does not need any additions at all, but I just like ham and mushrooms LOL Thanks Lorac, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

    • on April 11, 2007

      Awesome scalloped potatoes! I made these for easter dinner (2007) and served them with a traditional easter ham. The pairing was outstanding. I used half of a very large jalapeño and the zing was hardly noticed. It lent a nice flavor to the dish. Thanks Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flemming's Steakhouse Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 730.1
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    56%
    Total Fat 45.7 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 28.6 g
    143%
    Cholesterol 155.7 mg
    51%
    Sodium 992.4 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites