Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fleisch Perisky ( Meat Buns) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fleisch Perisky ( Meat Buns)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2004

      These little meat buns were fantastic. We had many compliments on them. My kids also loved them in their lunches with a pkg of ketchup for dipping. I will use this recipe alot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic. I'm from the Niagara area and after moving to Toronto and away from Mennonite cooking, REALLY missed meat perishky. I tried other recipes that didn't come close -- this one is fantastic. The dough is absolutely perfect.

      I did make some changes in the filling but they were very minor.

      UPDATE: I'm doing a "vegetarian month" and this is the week I try to go completely vegan, so I just made a completely vegan version. They are phenomenal - and I say this as a committed meat-eater!

      To make this version:
      - Use oil in the dough, and no egg..
      - To make the filling, I mixed together the soup mix, the oil (instead of margarine) and the water. I used 2 packets of No Name onion soup mix, which contains no animal ingredients.
      - Then I added, in place of the beef in the filling, I made up 4 cups of reconstituted texturized vegetable protein (from Bulk Barn, it was about 2 cups dry boiling water) 1/4c soy sauce about twenty good shakes worcestershire (vegan worcestershire is available) 2 teaspoons garlic powder.
      - After mixing in the other ingredients, I added the breadcrumbs and let it cool down in the fridge while the dough rested/rose a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

    • on April 18, 2010

      I just made these and they are amazing!!! I must admit when I told my family that I was going to make this recipe they weren't very excited, they admitted they were wrong and absolutely love them. I cut the recipe in half and still have oodles for later on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      My husband is making these as I write...:) He has made these many times in the past year and they are sooooo delicious! Definately a favorite in our family, we will use this recipe many more times to be sure. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I made these today and they were great. I really liked the dough for these. It was light and fluffy. It felt almost too sticky after I had kneeded it for a while and I was scared but it doubled in size very fast and after baked had a great result. No lipton soup mix in my area so I attempted a recipe I found on this site and it was way too oniony (at first it tasted salty but I realized it was just overwhelming onion taste). So be weary if making your own onion soup mix. I would even cut down on the onion soup if using store bought just in case. You can always sprinkle a bit more onion powder to the end but you cant take that strong stuff out. I halfed the recipe and also did not roll them so small because I was planning to pack them as a quick lunch and it saved my wrists from hurting making so many. Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      we loved this recipe! my mother in-law and i took turns making the little balls which worked really well for us! we made it for a pot-luck party and it went over very well, very worth the effort and shoulder pain lol! totally will make this agian!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Ok, yes they are lots of work but they are great for parties. Served it for Super Bowl and everyone loved them. Super easy after they are done, just keep warm and enjoy. I did find the meat a bit salty so might make my own onion soup mix and cut back on the salt but that was on the day I made them. I then froze them and waited for Super Sunday, thawed and enjoyed. That did help with the saltiness. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      I came across this recipe while searching for recipes to use anbundance of lard that I received from my sister. I am assuming that with the addition of onion soup mix that this is not a traditional mennonite recipe, lol! However it tastes really good. I used Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix and the 1/2 package of no name, but I think next time I will just use a bit more of the other stuff as it was a little salty. This recipe makes a ton and by the end my buns were really large as I was getting tired. These will be perfect little treats for my upcoming Christmas Party as well as great lunch time snacks as well. They are patiently waiting in the freezer and I have a new recipe to add to my OAMC collection, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2004

      WOW~ These are the best! Defintely a pain to make (literally, my back got sore standing there so long LOL) but oh my . VERY much worth the effort. I had a LOT of dough left over , but I just used it to make regular rolls. I think next time(oh YEAH there will be a next time!)I will try half a batch instead. I literally didn't have a bowl big enough for the dough. The last addition of flour, I had to kind of dump it all out on my counter and work it in that way. If we could give more than 5 stars, we would! :) Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fleisch Perisky ( Meat Buns)

    Serving Size: 1 (5008 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.9
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    25%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 500.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes