Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flax Vegan Egg Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flax Vegan Egg Substitute

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-39 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2008

      A wonderful substitution!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Roosie, Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I used this to make the Soft Molasses Cookies Recipe 63981. I know that this egg substitute will come in handy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I just used this in a cookie recipe and it worked perfectly. It was a lemon olive oil cookie, and without the eggs the flavour of the oil olive really stood out (which is exactly what I wanted!). Plus, it's great to add some extra omega fatty acids to one's diet whenever possible. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      I have used this many times before, although we did not cook the flax and water, just mixed them together and added them to the recipe. I just used this to replace one egg in muffins. I cooked the flax water mixture in the microwave which worked well. It is amazing how egg like the consistancy is. The muffins turned out nice and fluffy and I felt good about using such a healthy egg sub. I will definitely be sure to cook the flax and water in the future as this recipe does since it worked so well. Thanks Roosie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I've used this in banana bread recipes numerous times now, and it works perfectly!! Functions the same as an egg would, but now I can use it and make the recipes vegan. You definitely can't tell the difference. Thanks for such a useful egg substitute!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      So far, I've used this substitute in an oatmeal cookie recipe, with a boxed brownie mix, and with a boxed gingerbread mix -- and all of them turned out wonderfully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Wonderful way to substitute eggs in recipes. I used the recipe to make Christmas cookies and stuffed pasta shells and cheesecake. The flax seeds do leave flecks in whatever you cook, so make sure you are using this where the texture doesn't matter. For example, if I was making a yellow cake, I might stick with eggs. But, any dark colored cake, the flax seed sub would be fine. I handed out Christmas cookies to my neighbors and never told them about the switch, and they raved about the cookies. I plan on using this for all my "egg" needs. Thanks, Roosie, for sharing. I wanted to incorporate more flax seed in our diets, due to the benefits of Omega 3, 6, and 9, and this is the perfect way to sneak it into our diet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Actually, this just takes about a minute in the microwave. Super easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      i too want to thank you for posting this...not sure how you found out this great idea but im glad you did!!! cant wait to use it this week! thanks soooo much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      This works especially well in quick breads and muffins. Sometimes I like the way it tastes and the texture better than when using eggs. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      I just wanted to thank you for posting this recipe.. I haven't tried it yet but I have been searching for some sort of egg substitute for baking for some time now and I will try this.. thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      This is what I've used for years in my muffins and such when I want them to be completely vegan...great to see it here on Zaar! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I have an egg allergy and have avoided certain recipes for almost 5 years. This has opened up new options for me! Thank. I do agree with another review, I do not cook it. I use hot tap water and let it sit until the consistency of egg whites. Perfect substitution for egg in almost everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      This is wonderful! Thank you! Going to go give it a try in some oatmeal cinnamon bread right now! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      This substitution has always worked well for me! I heat it one minute at a time (then stir to check consistency - it turns to an egg-like slime) in the microwave, two minutes total at 1100 W power. This was a real life-saver when my youngest was allergic to eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Love this, it never fails. Also, if you make this using whole flax seeds and then strain it, it makes AWESOME hair gel, especially for curly hair! Just keep it in a sealed container and it's good for a few weeks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

    • on March 13, 2007

    • on April 01, 2006

      A fantastic substitute! I gave this one to my grandmother, who is on a restrictive heart-healthy diet. This takes a few moments extra, but I think it's worth it for the health benefits. One hint: fresh-grind flax for the greatest nutritional punch (I use a coffee grinder I bought especially) Also, store flax in the fridge to prevent it from going rancid too quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flax Vegan Egg Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    71%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes