Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flax Vegan Egg Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flax Vegan Egg Substitute

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2008

      Excellent! I love this egg substitute and use it often. I don't boil the mixture, however. I add the flax meal to a small bowl, add very hot tap water and stir. I let the mix sit for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. When I bake I usually do this first so when I need a "flax egg," it's ready to go. I have used this substitute successfully in muffin and quick bread recipes but haven't tried it in anything that calls for more than three eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I have used this many times and it is wonderful! It doesn't work well with certain recipes (like sugar cookies ;)) but it is great in quick breads, pancakes, yeast breads, muffins, chocolate cakes, choc. chip cookies, etc. Nice sub. when you don't want to use an egg. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Great in pancakes and muffins! UPDATE: I just used this in 40 Minute Hamburger Buns for our 4th of July vegan cookout, and they turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Had my doubts until I tried it. 1 minute in the microwave, a stir, and once it cooled it was perfect egg consistency. I used it in a pinch for a meatloaf recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I've been using this trick for years but I just grind the flax seeds and mix with water and let stand. They thicken up just fine without the heating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Thanks for posting, not only is this healthy, but it's great for those in my family who can't eat eggs...I've been using the energy egg replacer, and this is tastier and healthier. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I cant believe I haven't rated this! I use this practically daily... I use it in a couple of my recipes too (you are credited, of course)! This has worked fabulous in quick breads, cookies, waffles, and pancakes! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I use this a lot for baking, especially for things that can withstand the slightly nutty flavor it imparts, like cornbread, spice cakes, gingersnaps, etc. I haven't ever made a batch to keep in the fridge - I think I'll give that a try. Sometimes when I'm in a hurry I don't even bother cooking the mixture - just throw in the flax with the dry ingredients and add the water (or extra liquid) with the wet -- so far I've had success with it that way too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Just tried this in oatmeal cookies, worked great. Found out my husband is allergic to eggs, can't wait to try this in other recipes. I didn't cook the flax/water, just poured boiling water over the flax in a bowl and let it stand for 10 minutes. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      This is a perfect substitute for eggs! It works every time. However, I DO think it is worth mentioning to some of the other reviewers that the EFAs in flax seeds are very fragile and don't stand up to heat, so you aren't getting the Omega 3 if you're baking or sauteing the flax seeds. You do get the fiber though and you're nixing the cholesterol, so yay for that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This is great for people with egg allergies! Substitute it in recipes where the egg is used for binding. We used to use this all the time for oatmeal cookies, sugar cookies, and sunflower butter cookies. We still often do, even though we can use eggs now - we like the texture better this way. Another bonus - you can lick the batter without worrying about raw eggs! We use _whole_ flax seed without grinding, at a ratio of 1 Tbs flax seed to 1/3 cup water. Updated: We've been using this for 15 years, and it never once occurred to me to use the microwave! Thanks, Chef 401574! It worked well, although it had a tendency to bubble over a lot -I don't know if this would be a problem if you used ground flax seed. We zapped two eggs-worth in a 2.5 cup Pyrex measuring cup in a 1000 w microwave for two minutes (still bubbled over a bit even in this large container!). Finally realized that the mixture gels while cooling - it doesn't necessarily have to get thick during the heating process. Stir it well and then test the texture of the finished product by dripping it off a spoon - it should gloop off the same way egg whites would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      Finally, I've found an egg substitute! And it's good for me, too. This thickened up very quickly for me. Probably less than 5 minutes, guess because I used a higher heat setting. I used this in Chick Pea Burgers #37560 and it worked perfectly. My burgers stayed together nicely and did not crumble. Can't wait to try this in some baked goods. Thanks so much for this one, Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      WOW this worked like magic! I used it to make Blueberry Banana Bread and it came out perfectly. I will most certainly use this recipe often, as I love that it decreases the cholesterol in baked good such as these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I love this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This works great in Vegan breads.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      One of my fave egg replacers! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      GREAT we used this in Gluten free Apple Cinnamon Muffins and loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This is great! I knew you could use flax instead of eggs but not the best way to make the substitution, I can't beleive how it actualy has the consistency of eggs, thats just so strange, but it works! Thanks for posting, it's great to have something healthier to use in baked goods where you are not tasting the egg anyway :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      worked great - and it's crazy but it really does have the consistency of eggs! I followed other reviews and simply heated water in the microwave and then added the flax seed - and it worked perfectly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Perfect! My daughter can't eat eggs. I've used this in muffins, cookies and even meatloaf with great success. I buy pre-ground flax seeds and just keep them in the freezer. I heat the water in the microwave for a minute or two then stir in the seeds and let it sit for a bit. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flax Vegan Egg Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    71%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites