9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am not a great baker, but these cookies turned out great both crispy and chewy. They should be a Christmas hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina D. December 08, 2013

I just finished making these cookies and they are delicious. I am not a baker and I always try baking healthier which usually ruins the baking. I used half a cup of spelt flour and used sunflower seeds instead of nuts To keep a protein in the cookie ( nut allergy in my house) and they turned out great. Also only had quick oats. And they still turned out great. Next time will try making them with chia seed instead of butter ... If you don't roll into 1 inch balls I could see them ending like pancakes so beware if you don't.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uglymuppet January 24, 2012

cookies come out flat, because of the oil in the flax meal, you need to cut down on the butter. the cookie dough tastes good, actually, you might as well eat the dough because baking the cookies is a waste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melaine999 December 01, 2009

Oh MYLANTA! These cookies are just delicious! I made them with my kids. I only had whole flax so I just used that since we love the bite of it, but I am making them today and I will grind half the flax and use half whole flax. So good that 5 stars is not enough. THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful Disgrace November 09, 2009

My family LOVES this recipe. Loves is not strong enough, actually. And no one guesses that there is flax seed in the cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Minnecook September 27, 2009

Loved this recipe! My family adores it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nhanway March 01, 2009

Everyone loved these cookies! And I loved that they contained flax! Used butter and omitted the nuts cause the kids won't eat them. Would probably use whole wheat pastry flour to make them even more healthy next time. Used a cookie scoop instead of rolling into balls which worked well. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama September 26, 2008

Yum! Yum! Yum! These were delicious! A nice warm treat on a cool Fall day! I substituted Splenda for the while sugar, 1/2 whole wheat flour and left out the nuts. Also cut back a bit on the chocolate chips. Both of my boys loved these too! Thanks for a wonderful recipe with some healthier ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers October 22, 2007

Great cookies. I used whole wheat flour in place of the all-purpose flour. They didn't last long at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gruenes September 29, 2007
Flax Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies