8 Reviews

Excellent - even though I goofed. I skipped the milk, the result was a very dense yummy bread. I used up the last of my flax, so I will have to wait to try this the way it was written. I also used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of 3 tablespoons of sugar. Fast and easy bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen November 28, 2011

Holy smokes!! This is FABULOUS bread. I am so glad it made 2 loaves. They will be eaten quickly. The ground flax seeds really adds depth and flavor to the loaves of bread. This was incredibly easy to make and really didn't take long. Notes: I did end up adding all of that reserved 1 cup flour - plus kept adding more flour to my counter/hands during the kneading process - just to prevent stickiness. My bread was done in 30 minutes and the whole family LOVES it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood August 29, 2010

Although I do like the flavor of whole grain breads, we found the flax meal in this particular bread did make for a great taste treat! A very nice change of pace & easy enough to prepare, too! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my groupmates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #42]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 06, 2010

Delicious! I made in a bread maker and taking on board some other reviews added the full amount of flour from the start and it came out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J December 28, 2013

What would you give to see a fight over the last bite. Bail money? Made for A-NZ#62 recipe tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 05, 2012

Delicious. I used ground LSA as that was what I had available. I also sub'ed quick yeast and used standard dried yeast which I dissolved in the water. Only added 1 tbls of sugar as 3 tbls seemed a bit OTT (over the top). I found that it did use all the additional reserved flour. When making again I would just retain 1/3 cup flour as I ended up kneading the dough for a lot longer than should have been required. Really easy to make, tasty and healthy as well. Also makes nice toast. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap Feb 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy February 06, 2012

This bread is as delicious as it is healthy! I halved the recipe and cooked in the bread machine. My only problem was that after the bread rose to a beautiful dome-shaped top, it fell. That must have been due to a mistake on my part. We loved it toasted and will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F September 20, 2011

Agree completely with the previous reviewers - this is fabulous bread! LIG - thanks for the reco from your Best of 2010 Cookbook! I made one loaf (halved the recipe) in my bread machine, and the only change I made was to use 1/2 spelt flour because I'm on a spelt kick right now. Like LIG, I had to add extra flour as it was sticky, I only added about 1/2 cup, but if I was kneading by hand, would have added more. Love this bread, and will make it again! Thanks for posting, Chef1Mom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen March 06, 2011
Flax Bread