Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flax Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flax Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2011

      Excellent - even though I goofed. I skipped the milk, the result was a very dense yummy bread. I used up the last of my flax, so I will have to wait to try this the way it was written. I also used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of 3 tablespoons of sugar. Fast and easy bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Holy smokes!! This is FABULOUS bread. I am so glad it made 2 loaves. They will be eaten quickly. The ground flax seeds really adds depth and flavor to the loaves of bread. This was incredibly easy to make and really didn't take long. Notes: I did end up adding all of that reserved 1 cup flour - plus kept adding more flour to my counter/hands during the kneading process - just to prevent stickiness. My bread was done in 30 minutes and the whole family LOVES it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Although I do like the flavor of whole grain breads, we found the flax meal in this particular bread did make for a great taste treat! A very nice change of pace & easy enough to prepare, too! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my groupmates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #42]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Delicious! I made in a bread maker and taking on board some other reviews added the full amount of flour from the start and it came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      What would you give to see a fight over the last bite. Bail money? Made for A-NZ#62 recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Delicious. I used ground LSA as that was what I had available. I also sub'ed quick yeast and used standard dried yeast which I dissolved in the water. Only added 1 tbls of sugar as 3 tbls seemed a bit OTT (over the top). I found that it did use all the additional reserved flour. When making again I would just retain 1/3 cup flour as I ended up kneading the dough for a lot longer than should have been required. Really easy to make, tasty and healthy as well. Also makes nice toast. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap Feb 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      This bread is as delicious as it is healthy! I halved the recipe and cooked in the bread machine. My only problem was that after the bread rose to a beautiful dome-shaped top, it fell. That must have been due to a mistake on my part. We loved it toasted and will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Agree completely with the previous reviewers - this is fabulous bread! LIG - thanks for the reco from your Best of 2010 Cookbook! I made one loaf (halved the recipe) in my bread machine, and the only change I made was to use 1/2 spelt flour because I'm on a spelt kick right now. Like LIG, I had to add extra flour as it was sticky, I only added about 1/2 cup, but if I was kneading by hand, would have added more. Love this bread, and will make it again! Thanks for posting, Chef1Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flax Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1690 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1918.5
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    14%
    Total Fat 31.5 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 9.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 2413.9 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 349.3 g
    116%
    Dietary Fiber 24.0 g
    96%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    107%
    Protein 56.1 g
    112%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites