31 Reviews

Just as an FYI, cross blade steaks and flat iron steaks are not identical. The cross blade cut is across the grain, as the name suggests, and so theoretically is somewhat more tender. However it also leaves the connective tissue between the two muscles, which make up the steak, in place down the center of the steak.<br/>The flat iron steak is cut with the grain and eliminates the connective tissue and most perimeter fat. IMO the flat iron is a much superior cut, but many butchers and meat departments will give you a cross blade steak when you ask for a flat iron simply because they're more common presumably because they are considerably easier cut to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simon W. March 13, 2014

I really loved the marinade! Next time I am trying flat-iron steak bc flank steak was not very good, in my opinion. Thanks for this great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ali L July 07, 2010

Delicious Marinade. I left my steak marinading almost all day - I was out. It was wonderful; I'll keep this recipe for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 July 03, 2010

I did not have any red wine so I used red wine vinegar. The flavor was really good. I cut the garlic into chunks to spread around the flavor. I had to use Thyme because I didn't have any Rosemary. I cooked the steak on a griddle on top of my stove- 4 minutes per side. Turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msgadget October 02, 2009

This was pretty good, but the rosemary was overwhelming, I would cut that in half at least. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife November 05, 2008

This marinade turns an inexpensive cut of steak into a gourmet dinner! The marinade flavors really compliment the meat and four minutes grilling per side was perfect for us. Thanks so much for posting this NCMS. I've made it twice now and it will go into my "Favorites" file!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas February 04, 2008

I have to admit I was skeptical about using this cut of meat. For whatever reason I always thought flat iron steak would be a tough cut and probably not worth buying. When I saw all the other reviews, I decided to give this a try (being on sale this week for $3.99/lb also helped). I understand now why everyone rates this so high. It was delicious. I only made a couple of very minor changes ... didn't have any fresh parsley so used dried (1 tsp); I seldom bother with fresh garlic anymore and use the bottled minced garlic ... used 2 tsp. of that. Also, I let it marinade for about 3 hours. Everything was to the recipe. I'll be buying more of this steak while it's on sale for future dinners ... we all loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. September 22, 2007

I used this for flat iron steak, a cut I had never cooked. Turned out well even though DH likes his cooked a bit more. Very flavorful and augmenting without being too dominant. Will use it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ June 23, 2010

An area diner started serving flat iron steaks and my husband thought we should try them at home. The marinade produces a tender and flavorful steak. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. April 13, 2010

Great tasting steak. I used half of the rosemary as others suggested and added extra minced garlic as we love the stuff. Cooked them on the grill and they came out perfect, very tender and flavorful. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 February 08, 2009
Flat Iron Steak