23 Reviews

I have a very close version to this recipe that calls for using 2 cans of the evaporated milk instead of just 1 and making the yellow cake mix as directed on the box. Since I am married to a Cuban it would be sinful to make this without the correct "caramel topping", which is just melting sugar in the bundt pan prior to adding all other ingredients. I also baked uncovered in a water bath, chill for 8 hours before flipping.This makes the cake super moist and wonderful!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCHopp January 17, 2010

I would have rated this a five star, as I was familiar with flan cakes and what was missing, placing the bundt pan in another pan, filled with hot water and placing it in the oven making sure that the bundt pan with the ingredients is covered tightly with foil. I used a chocolate mix, and it was terrific.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pegi #2 June 28, 2007

Used the ingredients given but baked in a water bath and let it chill in the bundt pan before flipping. It was so delicious! Going to make it again tommorrow using a chocolate cake mix. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*lil_miss_SBC*~ January 08, 2012

I have yet to taste this cake, but I have to say how EASY it was. It comes out gorgeous and I made the recipe, just as written. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHAUNCEY2 June 12, 2011

this cake is EXCELLENT! a very nice alternative to an every day cake. I brought it in to work and the reviews are A+++ all the way! I was worried about the flan not cooking, as others had said, but I cooked it for 55 minutes to be sure, and it was PERFECTION! Thanks so much....a new favorite!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevew July 01, 2010

We made this cake for our Cinco de Mayo gathering. Fantastic, delicious, not enough words to describe this cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bush_michael May 18, 2010

I love this recipe!!! I did just a little tweaking of the recipe. Instead of using the caramel topping I made my own caramel by melting sugar in a saucepan and coating the bottom half of the bundt cake pan. and I also cooked it for a little longer, I cooked it 10 min longer than what the recipe called for. a total of 55min. I am definately making this again very soon. The chocolate dipped strawberries complimented the cake very nicely. It is however, very important to make this cake in a bundt pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugabaker May 10, 2010

I love the original recipe but I have been experimenting with it a bit. I added 1 (14 oz) can of coconut milk to the Flan, instead of yellow cake mix I used Pineapple Cake Mix, substituted the water for milk and the canola oil for butter. It might not be the healthiest version but it's very popular among my friends. Thanks for sharing the original recipe. Happy baking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alain J. January 01, 2010

This is a very easy and simple recipe to follow and everyone loves it. Don't need to choose between the flan or the cake, have both!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ghud2b December 11, 2009

Made this for Thanksgiving to great reviews. The presentation was just amazing, it got a lot of Oh's and Ah's. I will be making this again and again. There is one thing I will change only because I think it will make the cake much better and it's just a personal preference, I make my own caramel sauce. Otherwise, the texture and taste are fantastic. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom December 03, 2008
Flan Cake