Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flan Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flan Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      I have a very close version to this recipe that calls for using 2 cans of the evaporated milk instead of just 1 and making the yellow cake mix as directed on the box. Since I am married to a Cuban it would be sinful to make this without the correct "caramel topping", which is just melting sugar in the bundt pan prior to adding all other ingredients. I also baked uncovered in a water bath, chill for 8 hours before flipping.This makes the cake super moist and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I would have rated this a five star, as I was familiar with flan cakes and what was missing, placing the bundt pan in another pan, filled with hot water and placing it in the oven making sure that the bundt pan with the ingredients is covered tightly with foil. I used a chocolate mix, and it was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Used the ingredients given but baked in a water bath and let it chill in the bundt pan before flipping. It was so delicious! Going to make it again tommorrow using a chocolate cake mix. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      I have yet to taste this cake, but I have to say how EASY it was. It comes out gorgeous and I made the recipe, just as written. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      this cake is EXCELLENT! a very nice alternative to an every day cake. I brought it in to work and the reviews are A+++ all the way! I was worried about the flan not cooking, as others had said, but I cooked it for 55 minutes to be sure, and it was PERFECTION! Thanks so much....a new favorite!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      We made this cake for our Cinco de Mayo gathering. Fantastic, delicious, not enough words to describe this cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I love this recipe!!! I did just a little tweaking of the recipe. Instead of using the caramel topping I made my own caramel by melting sugar in a saucepan and coating the bottom half of the bundt cake pan. and I also cooked it for a little longer, I cooked it 10 min longer than what the recipe called for. a total of 55min. I am definately making this again very soon. The chocolate dipped strawberries complimented the cake very nicely. It is however, very important to make this cake in a bundt pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I love the original recipe but I have been experimenting with it a bit. I added 1 (14 oz) can of coconut milk to the Flan, instead of yellow cake mix I used Pineapple Cake Mix, substituted the water for milk and the canola oil for butter. It might not be the healthiest version but it's very popular among my friends. Thanks for sharing the original recipe. Happy baking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This is a very easy and simple recipe to follow and everyone loves it. Don't need to choose between the flan or the cake, have both!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Made this for Thanksgiving to great reviews. The presentation was just amazing, it got a lot of Oh's and Ah's. I will be making this again and again. There is one thing I will change only because I think it will make the cake much better and it's just a personal preference, I make my own caramel sauce. Otherwise, the texture and taste are fantastic. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I made this cake, and OH MY GOD! it was so delicious that my family ate in in two days, I had to bake another one a few days later, we craved it so bad. The other wonderful thing about this cake other than the great taste is that, it is very simple to make. with not a ton of ingredients! L-O-V-E-D it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Don't use Mexican vanilla. Most of them are ''cut'' with the Tonka Bean and is found to be carcinogenic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This cake is great. I like to top it off with some canned pineapples on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I have made this for company functions and each time it was a huge hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Very good. Even my non-flan eating family had a taste and enjoyed it very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      this is so amazing. tastes sooo good, and the presentation is a showstopper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This is an awesome cake! It looks amazing when it's cut into - yellow cake on the bottom with a layer of flan on top and caramel dripping down over all - and delicious, too! This is actually the second time I made it. The first time was a bit of a disaster. Since the instructions didn't really say how to tell when the cake is done (and being a flan cake, I thought it might be different from a regular cake), and I didn't realize my oven has begun running a bit cooler than the temp it's set at, I ended up inverting a big mess onto my serving plate. A quick trip to the store the next day replenished my ingredients, and I tried it once again. This time I knew to raise the temp of my oven to 360 with the help of an oven thermometer, and wow, what a difference! This time the cake baked up just like a regular cake should and it inverted beautifully! I'm anxious to try a chocolate cake mix, although yellow will be hard to improve upon. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      mmm mmm good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      This cake got rave reviews at my nieces first B-DAY. My aunt who didn't even eat a piece of her own birthday cake could not resist a piece of this cake. I used cajeta which I think really makes the cake special and I had to increase the baking time to 1 hour. I used a toothpick to test for doneness. I will definately be making this cake again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flan Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.4
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    35%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 85.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 347.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 27.6 g
    110%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites