Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flan

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2007

      This turned out incredible!! I'm Puerto Rican and this reminded me very much of the flan my grandmother used to make. I did substitute 1 cup of heavy whipping cream for one of the cups of milk. Also, to avoid having the caramel sauce (sugar dissolved in water) from hardening too quickly, add a drop of lemon juice while heating to help slow crystallization. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      This was soooo good! Turned out better than some of the pics posted! I baked it in a pyrex pie plate w/ the dish towel. It took almost an hour to cook. I was kind of worried bc of how hard the caramel was, but it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      We call flan cream caramel, that said....this was the best cream caramel I have ever made or eaten. Belive me I have made and eaten more then my fair share so I am a some what expert. I made two little changes Instead of 3 cups of milk I only used 2 and replaced the last cup with with cup of whipping cream , the other thing was I broke up a rolled cinnamon stick into the milk mixture. It sat in a closed pot for 2 days in the fridge, only because I just could not find the time to complete it, but it realy flavoured the milk beautifuly. The end result was very creamy and with a hint of cinnamon. I would be using this recipe often and passing it out. Thank you sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      It was a great recipe and definiltely a keeper. I love flan and have made using various recipes. I used the 2:1 ratio of milk: heavy cream. Baked it in Pyrex Pie pan for about 40 minutes. The sugar quantity was just perfect! This is by far the best flan recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Made flan for the first time ever, and chose this recipe because everything is spelled out so nicely. If only I could follow instructions! I forgot the water in the sugar, so although the melted sugar behaved nicely, it glazed to the bottom of the ramekins, and the liquid sugar tasted bitter and overpowering. Next time, I'll follow that instruction, and I hope I can amend my rating to five stars. EDITED TO ADD: I wonder if I had the ramekins floating in boiling water already before adding the sugar, whether the sugar would not harden as quickly? Worth a try. I would also leave this recipe in the oven for longer, as the insides were still liquid, though very tasty. (I made minor changes which did not affect the rest of the recipe: 2 parts milk 1 part whipping cream, as I discovered I was low on milk, after I'd started; pouring through a sieve directly into the ramekins, to save dirtying a bowl; and experimenting with cinnamon in the second half of the custard batch, after I'd poured the first half into half the ramekins--tasty enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I make this for my father-in-law for his birthday every year and everyone raves about this flan. I also use the 2:1 milk/heavy cream ratio and use brandy instead of the vanilla extract. Incredibly delicious recipe. Those that swear they don't like flan are instantly won over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I love flan, I've made many different flan recipes and this one was by far the best! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Worked like a dream. Most recipes you have to alter here and there but this one worked perfect for me. I baked mine in a glass pie dish and it did take a little longer then the called for time but slipped out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Delicious! It cam out tasty and beautifu. Although I must say that I had to throw out the first batch of caramel because I stirred it and you are not suppose to stir it at all...my mistake. I made the caramel again and it came out great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was my first time making flan. I was a little nervous....but it is my husband's favorite dessert so I gave it a shot. WOW!! It came out perfect! I followed the instructions exactly and it is absolutely beautiful and delicious! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This flan is amazing! My BF said it was just like flan from a restaurant, and I even thought it was better than that - it was creamier and melts in your mouth! It was certainly not what I would say is an easy recipe, even though many reviewers have said so. It's somewhat complicated, but sooo worth the effort. I didn't end up putting a towel in my baking dish (wish would have made me nervous in my gas oven), but it still worked out great. I loved it and can't wait to make it for my family who loves flan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

    • on March 25, 2009

      Oh Wow! So good! So so good! This is a definate keeper. I didn't read the other reviews first and used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 2%. It took about 65 minutes to cook but other then that everything went fine! I was a bit worried for a minute when I came back and saw that everyone else used cream. I might try that at some point but this was fabulous with my low fat milk. I let it chill over night, and it popped right out of the pan this morning with lots and lots of caramel sauce! Wonderful. Just follow the directions and you can't go wrong! The caramel cooled off a bit before I got it all out of the pan and formed quite a spider web. I'm sure candy makers are used to this but I thought it was just awesome lol The 8" pan was full to the seem and ended up spilled over when I tried to move it. Next time I'll use ramekins or a 9". Thanks soooo much Barb!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Barb, you had me nervous because my caramel got very hard when I was spreading it in the pan...and my flan took closer to 50 minutes to cook...so I didn't know if I was on the right track! But as soon as I flipped the flan onto the plate and the caramel melted down perfectly around the edges, I knew it all worked out just right. Thanks for the great recipe! It was a huge hit - so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Oh so yummy! I used whole milk and couldn't believe how rich and creamy the flan turned out. I ate one after only an hour, it was warm and so good. I actually preferred eating the flan at room temperature. I made individual custard cups and wished I had more sugar syrup mixture at the bottom, so next time I'll increase the sugar/water mixture by 1/2 c. Thanks for the easy, yummy recipe! I'll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      This was easy and very good! I used 2 cans of evaporated milk and no cold milk.... what I had on hand... and it turned out great! Looks just like it does in the restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Smooth and Creamy!! Very simple and easy to make. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This was amazingly good and not that difficult to make. I was surprised at how pretty it turned out to be - I haven't had much success with custards in the past. I wanted to take a picture but after 10 minutes there wasn't any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I have made flan a bunch of times, but I lost my recipe when I moved... let me tell ya though... this is the best flan that I have ever touched to my lips. I took some things I remembered from my old recipe and use 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of heavy cream!! FANTASTIC!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This flan was silky smooth and absolutely delicious. My family is Spanish, so I was raised eating flan. This flan took me back home. I don't care for the flan recipes that use sweetened condensed milk, although I know they are popular, I prefer the clean & simple taste of milk, eggs & sugar & vanilla. I'm keeping this recipe. Thank you, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.4
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    25%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 174.9 mg
    58%
    Sodium 84.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 37.6 g
    150%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes