31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out incredible!! I'm Puerto Rican and this reminded me very much of the flan my grandmother used to make. I did substitute 1 cup of heavy whipping cream for one of the cups of milk. Also, to avoid having the caramel sauce (sugar dissolved in water) from hardening too quickly, add a drop of lemon juice while heating to help slow crystallization. Thanks Barb!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinaMarina December 04, 2007

This was soooo good! Turned out better than some of the pics posted! I baked it in a pyrex pie plate w/ the dish towel. It took almost an hour to cook. I was kind of worried bc of how hard the caramel was, but it turned out perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dhikirah786 August 13, 2010

We call flan cream caramel, that said....this was the best cream caramel I have ever made or eaten. Belive me I have made and eaten more then my fair share so I am a some what expert. I made two little changes Instead of 3 cups of milk I only used 2 and replaced the last cup with with cup of whipping cream , the other thing was I broke up a rolled cinnamon stick into the milk mixture. It sat in a closed pot for 2 days in the fridge, only because I just could not find the time to complete it, but it realy flavoured the milk beautifuly. The end result was very creamy and with a hint of cinnamon. I would be using this recipe often and passing it out. Thank you sharing :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemoncurd May 25, 2006

It was a great recipe and definiltely a keeper. I love flan and have made using various recipes. I used the 2:1 ratio of milk: heavy cream. Baked it in Pyrex Pie pan for about 40 minutes. The sugar quantity was just perfect! This is by far the best flan recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ianahraf September 15, 2008

Made flan for the first time ever, and chose this recipe because everything is spelled out so nicely. If only I could follow instructions! I forgot the water in the sugar, so although the melted sugar behaved nicely, it glazed to the bottom of the ramekins, and the liquid sugar tasted bitter and overpowering. Next time, I'll follow that instruction, and I hope I can amend my rating to five stars. EDITED TO ADD: I wonder if I had the ramekins floating in boiling water already before adding the sugar, whether the sugar would not harden as quickly? Worth a try. I would also leave this recipe in the oven for longer, as the insides were still liquid, though very tasty. (I made minor changes which did not affect the rest of the recipe: 2 parts milk 1 part whipping cream, as I discovered I was low on milk, after I'd started; pouring through a sieve directly into the ramekins, to save dirtying a bowl; and experimenting with cinnamon in the second half of the custard batch, after I'd poured the first half into half the ramekins--tasty enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feralgreens February 03, 2013

I make this for my father-in-law for his birthday every year and everyone raves about this flan. I also use the 2:1 milk/heavy cream ratio and use brandy instead of the vanilla extract. Incredibly delicious recipe. Those that swear they don't like flan are instantly won over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elliebell9201 December 27, 2011

I love flan, I've made many different flan recipes and this one was by far the best! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondiecancook September 26, 2010

Worked like a dream. Most recipes you have to alter here and there but this one worked perfect for me. I baked mine in a glass pie dish and it did take a little longer then the called for time but slipped out beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryan_baker April 15, 2010

Delicious! It cam out tasty and beautifu. Although I must say that I had to throw out the first batch of caramel because I stirred it and you are not suppose to stir it at all...my mistake. I made the caramel again and it came out great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarita in Austin Texas April 12, 2010

This was my first time making flan. I was a little nervous....but it is my husband's favorite dessert so I gave it a shot. WOW!! It came out perfect! I followed the instructions exactly and it is absolutely beautiful and delicious! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyNina January 19, 2010
Flan