9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Brilliant biscuits...and very forgiving. Making these was a comedy of errors. Started out making 1/2 a batch and then forgot that's what I was doing. Had dry ingredients and yeast for half a batch and butter and liquid for a full batch in the bowl. Had to stop, proof more yeast, double all the dry ingredients and remix. Even after all that these biscuits were light, delicious and attractive. Hint: cut biscuits out half the size they will eventually be because they really will double in size, mostly out not up. I've got some saucer-sized yummy biscuits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea September 18, 2003

This was a good biscuit recipe. I did need to add a bit more flour at the end to bring it all together. I would consider the texture more light and fluffy than flaky. I was looking for flaky. Still very good and convienent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 October 15, 2009

These are good biscuits, mine had a faint yeast taste which is ok but I am not used to this flavor in biscuits, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarstar January 11, 2009

This is by far, one of the best biscuit recipes I have ever tried! The only thing I felt was that the mixture was quite wet when the liquid was incorporate in to the dry ingredients. More flour was needed to bring it all together. I got my recipe from the Best of Bridge cookbooks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 19, 2006

I have been in search of a good biscuit recipe for the freezer for YEARS! I have found it! Glory! These are great! I doubled the yeast in them and left out 2 T. of the sugar and they dont rise lots but they do get bigger. Slighlty crunchy just on the outside and light on the inside. PERFECT! THANKS FOR POSTING!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaleenasmom March 19, 2006

Quite an interesting recipe . They turned out really good . I used fast rising yeast , just through it in with the flour, what could be easier. Great to have some in freezer when neede.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DotM May 15, 2004

Laura, I was just looking to post the recipe for these wonderful biscuits and I saw that you already beat me to it. I discovered these two summers ago and have enjoyed them ever since. I have frozen batches of these and they turn out just as great as when they are freshly made. This is a wonderful recipe, fully deserving of 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert February 14, 2004

Biscuits are a huge hit in our house. Going to make a batch right away! Let you know the results - but knowing my crew I will be the "Martha" for whipping these up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjd4 September 23, 2003

Added some cheddar cheese. Didn't rise much but were flaky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 02, 2003
Flaky Freezer Biscuits