18 Reviews

Followed recipe as listed and was very pleased with the end result. Will make this one again, thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice July 15, 2010

I have to say that these are my favorite wings in a long time! :-) We really enjoyed the flavor; I think the 5 Spice Powder just kicks these up a notch! I can't wait to share these with my friends; I know they will love them too! I did cook mine on an indoor grill, due to weather, and they got a little 'done', but it was fine for us. Thanks for sharing, Boomette! Made for ZWT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 03, 2010

I used just over a kilo of wings between 3 of us (I cut of the tips and froze them later for making stock) and left the other 2 halves intact and baked at 175C fan forced for 45 - 50 minutes, drizzling the honey every 15 minutes and the result was suculant tasty wings. Thank you Boomette, made for Everyday A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 02, 2012

Other than decreasing the cooking time, I wouldn't change a thing! Perfection! Perfect Superbowl wings. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 06, 2011

I really enjoyed these wings. I cut out the salt (personal preference) but I'm sure it would've been great with it as well. I accidentally put twice the amount of five spice powder and it was a really tasty accident! Since I baked the wings, I mixed the honey in with everything else. It all came out great, and I'm looking forward to trying them on the grill next time too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu August 24, 2010

This is a very interesting recipe for me. It definitely needs more salt for me. It tastes good like 4 stars The leftover ( as cold as room tempurture), tastes actually pretty good. ( 4.5 stars.) I will certainly try it again . Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjif July 28, 2010

Wonderful recipe. :) Great combination of ingredients and the five-spice puts this over the top for flavor. I marinated the wings in a zip lock bag for about 4 hours. This is a keeper and I plan on trying this on some chicken thighs and legs next time. Also warming the honey in the microwave made it easy to baste the wings. Thanks! *Made for SSaSSy's ZWT6*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 May 30, 2010

Great recipe for grilled chicken wings. This was my first time using five-spice powder. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The wings were sticky, messy and oh so yummy. They had a lot of flavor and were very tender and juicy. The honey was a little difficult to baste with. I think the next time I make these I am going to warm the honey in the microwave so that it will be thinner and runnier. Thanks for another great recipe, Boomette. Made for August, 2009 Bevy Tag. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

These wings were so yummy! I marinated for about 6 hours, and the flavors were great all the way through the meat. I love my wings on the gooey crispy side, so I kept mine in for about 40 minutes. I kept basting throughout the process of grilling, and they were nice and glazed with the marinade. Will make these often, as I loved them, and so did DS, who ate more than his share :) Thank you for sharing this one Boomette! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game. Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen October 09, 2008

Yummy, Boomette! These wings are so good, and really quite simple. I usually have everything on hand so I don't have to go out after anything. I made 12 servings and was a little concerned that the small amount of marinade wouldn't be enough for the pound of wings, but the flavor came through really well. I pre-baked these about 15 minutes in the oven, and then finished them off on the grill for that nice grill char. I used buckwheat honey since that's what we had, and I loved the spice and honey combo. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two September 02, 2008
Five-Spices Chicken Wings