Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Five-spice Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Five-spice Chicken Noodle Soup

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2013

      I really love this soup. It is really easy to make but I made it a little more work for me because I made my own chicken broth. I also added cremini (sp?) mushrooms just because I like them. Hubby adds some hot sauce to his bowl but I like it fine without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Delicious! I added tsp of Hoison sauce and 1 tbsp of chili paste to liven up the flavor. So easy! The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Soooo easy and extremely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was perfect for the cold weather and for getting over being sick! I added some fresh ginger as well as ground, and used brown rice vermicelli for the noodles. Delicious! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Very good although I made few changes. First I used carrot instead of red pepper. Instead of noodle and chicken I used frozen dumplings (I boiled them separately first and added them back to the soup near the end). I also used 1/4 tsp minced ginger instead of ground ginger (but I think ground ginger would have given stronger flavor). I doubled both the soy sauce and the five-spice to adjust to my taste. I will also used more broth and less water next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Hey Barb, another great recipe! I added broccoli, mushrooms, onions and used soba noodles. Loved the 5 spice and ginger. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was so awesome! Loved all subtle flavors. This was so easy to make and prepare. I used buckwheat somen noodles for added health. What's more, if you make the servings 6 instead of 4, each serving is just 2 points in Weight Watchers! I'm so excited with this recipe. Thanks so much for posting a healthy, low fat meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      My only modifications to this excellent recipe are to add 1T grated fresh ginger, a cup of carrots and some sriracha sauce. I keep a batch frozen (w/o noodles) to thaw out in case I come down with a cold - the ginger & 5-spice powder are great for clearing up a stuffy head, plus the soup tastes fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I doubled this for dinner for 8 picky eaters, and it was a definite hit. I used all chicken stock instead of cutting it with bullion, subbed in udon noodles instead of somen, and added a handful of thinly sliced carrots as well as some white pepper. Not a good soup to make if you're hoping for leftovers! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I read the reviews and I made some changes too. I used more garlic than called for, I used udon noodles and I used the seasoning packet that came with the udon noodles. I also added quite a bit of chili oil to spice it up. Very easy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Just finished making this. Added a drop or two of chili oil at the end and it was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I thought this looked really good, and I had bought a bottle of five-spice powder that I had not opened yet, so I thought that this was the perfect opportunity. I really liked the flavor, but I accidentally added the chicken with all the other ingredients in step 2, but I don't think that mattered too much. I also made a double-batch. Next time, I'll will most likely up the spices in the soup, and as well, I may experiment with different noodles, as somen noodles get squishy very quickly, so I didn't like the texture as much eating leftovers. Probably a good idea would be to store the soup without noodles, and then heat it up to cook the noodles later. Udon noodles would probably work well in the soup as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This was a quick and easy soup for a cold night. My hungry Hubby wanted egg rolls as a side, but they weren't necessary, as the soup was hearty enough on its own. Thanks for an easy meal. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Yum! This soup is a nice change from the traditional chicken noodle. I used udon noodles instead of somen because that is what I had on hand and I bought the five-spice powder just because I wanted to try out this recipe. I think this would be a good vegetarian recipe by substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth and using tofu instead of the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      This was a great change from the chicken noodle soup I typically make. I increased the amount of bok choy and broth, otherwise left everything else the same. I will make this again and again. Thanks, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Just made this for lunch in what I thought was a 1 person portion but couldn't get through it all. I used 1 1/2 cups homemade chicken stock, a sheath of somen noodles, also added some extra vegetables 1/2 carrot juliened, 1/2 stick celery chopped and the meat of a chicken thigh. Really had enough for two as a light lunch. So easy to prepare from woe to go on the table in 15 minutes. Thoroughly enjoyed a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      This is a great receipe. You can also make a variant of our Thai noodle soup receipe using this 5-spice stock. If you like spicy soups that take less than 5 minutes to prep and cook check it out at http://www. thainoodlesoup.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      This was very good. I used napa cabbage instead of bok choy and ramen noodles because that is all I had. I also used left over rotisserie chicken from the deli. The kids loved it in their lunches at school. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Very tasty. I cooked up a bunch of chickens and later realized I didn't really have a "plan" for them. One went into this soup. I modified it with things on hand: regular white onions instead of green, lots of shredded green cabbage, grated carrots. Toward the end I added picked roasted red peppers along with the chicken. I serve it with a good splash of "rooster sauce" -- sriracha hot chili sauce, so says the label. Very nice simple winter warmer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      This was awesome!!! I couldn't find any five spice powder so added some chop suey prepackaged spices instead....not sure if it's going to taste different when I get a hold of some actually 5-spice but was not disappointed at all...will triple the batch next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Five-spice Chicken Noodle Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.2
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    22%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 39.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 448.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes