47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this is a great recipe!! Simple, fast and SO delicious! It's also my very first time preparing & tasting quinoa, and this classic recipe is a keeper; plus it's a perfect base that will work with numerous variations, allowing you to get creative. Like several others who reviewed this recipe, I also used chicken broth instead of water, but followed everything else exactly as the recipe says. Thanks for sharing this Happy Harry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoCal Bella March 30, 2013

I think my opinion has more to do with quinoa in general as opposed to this recipe. Sorry, I've been trying to like it, but it's just not happening. However, if you like quinoa, you would enjoy this, I'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 January 07, 2012

A nice basic quinoa recipe that does not taste very much of garlic though you may think so based on it's title. I used canola oil instead of vegetable spray, to be soy free, which is not mentioned in the ingredients list BTW, sweet onions, extra carrot, plus the rest of the ingredients. I enjoyed this as a vegetarian main dish mixed with an arugula salad and Wicklewood's Yoghurt and Lemon Dressing. The dressing went very well with this quinoa dish. I also made it into a cold salad which we didn't enjoy as much. I'd like to make this again using the introduction mentioned, roasted garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 06, 2011

Very good and a simple healthy side dish. Will definitely use again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 03, 2011

Quick, easy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 December 10, 2010

really good! used one small onion and next time will use more. Also made with chicken broth. I made grilled zuchinni recipe 102237 and poured left over heated marinade when plated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi October 05, 2010

I've made this a few times, just didn't rate it until now. I first made as stated and like my grains with a tad more flavor. The next times I have added boullon or broth for added flavor. It made a big difference. I like to chop up and throw in whatever veggies I have on hand. I prefer this hot. Thanks for posting Happy Harry #2, I'll keep using this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick June 28, 2010

simple, quick and tasty. Instead of garlic and onion I used garlic scapes, and I added gomasio.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo May 19, 2010

Yay! We loved this especially the toasted quinoa. I used the chicken broth as others suggested I added black olives, chile powder, jalapenos, corn, and grilled diced chicken which I had marinated in tequila, lime juice, cilantro, cumin, and jalapenos- a real taste extravaganza!! Thanks for this healthy tasty dish I will use it often in many ways!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewWifey February 11, 2010

Very good! I used 2 cups of strong chicken broth instead of water and added walnuts and dried cranberries to the finished product for color and crunch. My first time making Quinoa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA February 01, 2010
Five (Or More!) Ingredient Garlic Quinoa