Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Five (Or More!) Ingredient Garlic Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Five (Or More!) Ingredient Garlic Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2007

      Mmmmm, lovely and tasty! I try to cook an excess at mealtimes so that I have leftovers to eat at work the next day, but if that fails then I just cook something different up the night before to take with me. That's what I've done tonight with this recipe but I've just had a mouthful now and it was delicious - a flavour sensation! I followed the recipe pretty closely but added some grated courgette (zucchini?) and used vegetable stock instead of water. It's really good. My hard-to-please other half tried some too and declared that he would be happy to have this served at dinner in the future! I'm looking forward to having it again with a meal and also having it cold tomorrow to see how the flavours hold. Thanks for a great recipe Happy Harry! 11.06.07 Just wanted to add that this was really tasty cold as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      This is my first time tasting/making quinoa. It was pretty good. I think it's kind of like rice. I made it to go with some refried beans & tostadas (instead of red rice). Word to newbies like myself, rinse REALLY REALLY well. I think I will double my rinsing time next time. Tasted a tiny hint of bitterness, but not due to the recipe, rather due to my shorter rinse time. I doubled the recipe, used 5 cloves of garlic and beef broth. Ended up cooking for about 25 minutes. Turned out great. Thanks for the great intro to quinoa!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      This was the first time I have used quinoa and I turned out perfect! Nice to know there is a simple recipe that tastes great and is good for you too. Even my teenage son ate it which is unusual since he doesn't like much in the way of side dishes. I used some chicken base with the water to make it even more flavorful. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Excellent! I love how versatile this recipe is, how filling and mostly, how delicious and healthy! My additions included mushrooms, calamata olives and diced chicken. I also subbed chicken broth for the water to add even more flavor. This will be on my rotation for my school lunch meals coming soon! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This was my first time making Quinoa and it turned out pretty good I must say. I added some extra veggies (green beans and corn) that I had leftover and served it with chicken. The flavor was a little bland even though I used chicken stock instead of water. Next time I would add some spices (maybe garlic salt, curry powder, etc) to kick up the flavor. But this was a great, easy recipe that I'll use again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      I've never made quinoa before. Based on my experience with this recipe, I'm not sure that I would make another quinoa recipe again. I used red quinoa, so perhaps this made a difference. The texture was nice. But the flavor was rather blah and odd. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't great. Worth a try though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Great recipe. I did as NewWifey suggested and made it with a mexican feel. This is a great base recipe and you can get creative and turn this into many other dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Thank you! I love this quinoa! Dh and son usually love quinoa, but I tend to eat it "because it's good for me." Not any more! Delicious with a little curry or pepper sauce too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      A delicious way to serve quiona. I especially liked the fact that the quiona was toasted (I used the recipe stated), it really brought out nice flavors. The garlic was present but I didn't find the garlic to be very strong. I could definitely see how this could be very good cold the next day as a salad mixed with a little italian dressing. Another make again recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Wow, this is a great recipe!! Simple, fast and SO delicious! It's also my very first time preparing & tasting quinoa, and this classic recipe is a keeper; plus it's a perfect base that will work with numerous variations, allowing you to get creative. Like several others who reviewed this recipe, I also used chicken broth instead of water, but followed everything else exactly as the recipe says. Thanks for sharing this Happy Harry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I think my opinion has more to do with quinoa in general as opposed to this recipe. Sorry, I've been trying to like it, but it's just not happening. However, if you like quinoa, you would enjoy this, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      A nice basic quinoa recipe that does not taste very much of garlic though you may think so based on it's title. I used canola oil instead of vegetable spray, to be soy free, which is not mentioned in the ingredients list BTW, sweet onions, extra carrot, plus the rest of the ingredients. I enjoyed this as a vegetarian main dish mixed with an arugula salad and Wicklewood's Yoghurt and Lemon Dressing. The dressing went very well with this quinoa dish. I also made it into a cold salad which we didn't enjoy as much. I'd like to make this again using the introduction mentioned, roasted garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Very good and a simple healthy side dish. Will definitely use again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Quick, easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      really good! used one small onion and next time will use more. Also made with chicken broth. I made grilled zuchinni recipe 102237 and poured left over heated marinade when plated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I've made this a few times, just didn't rate it until now. I first made as stated and like my grains with a tad more flavor. The next times I have added boullon or broth for added flavor. It made a big difference. I like to chop up and throw in whatever veggies I have on hand. I prefer this hot. Thanks for posting Happy Harry #2, I'll keep using this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      simple, quick and tasty. Instead of garlic and onion I used garlic scapes, and I added gomasio.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Yay! We loved this especially the toasted quinoa. I used the chicken broth as others suggested I added black olives, chile powder, jalapenos, corn, and grilled diced chicken which I had marinated in tequila, lime juice, cilantro, cumin, and jalapenos- a real taste extravaganza!! Thanks for this healthy tasty dish I will use it often in many ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very good! I used 2 cups of strong chicken broth instead of water and added walnuts and dried cranberries to the finished product for color and crunch. My first time making Quinoa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was really disappointing, because it had so many positive reviews and it sounded like it would be good from the ingredients. But the toasted quinoa gave an undesirable flavour to the whole thing, and that was pretty much the only flavour, because there's so little garlic in it, and no other herbs or spices. I definitely didn't enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Five (Or More!) Ingredient Garlic Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    13%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 160.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites