15 Reviews

Really enjoyed this as it cold and rainy here. I used balsamic and thought it a perfect match. We love cabbage. Thanks Sharon for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 29, 2011

This was a great, quick way to use up some leftover cabbage from another recipe! I couldn't decide between balsamic or white vinegar (white's my favorite) so I did half of each. I preferred the balsamic, which surprised me!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee March 17, 2010

This is quite nice. It was certainly easy and inexpensive and the taste was good too. I used apple cider vinegar and think that next time I would like to try the balsamic (but I didn't have any white on hand). Really interesting way to serve cabbage!! Thanks Sharon!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender August 23, 2009

There is something about the smell of this cabbage that took me right back to my Nana's kitchen. PA Dutch women must do something very similar because it was a comforting taste too. Yummy, very low fat, filling and easy. Works for me! Made for Zaarstar tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne July 06, 2009

Update to the update! I tried this today with rice Vinegar. OMGravy! The slightly sweetness of that type of vinegar was so yummy! Update: Sharon- I am still totally enjoying this fabulous FAST and easy recipe! I just cannot get over how something so simple can produce such amazing results! Low calorie, low fat all natural to boot! Thanks for an awesome veggie recipe! Update: Awesome! This was so good! I cant decide if I like it better warm or cold. This would be wonderful to take to a potluck or picnic. Leftovers were even better than day one! Thanks for a great recipe! zwt 3

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) April 17, 2015

Very easy recipe. I used white balsamic. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama October 31, 2011

This is such a simple and delightful way to cook cabbage. I used a white balsamic vinegar and as suggested plenty of freshly ground pepper. This was served the salmon cakes and sliced tomatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG January 07, 2009

I hate cabbage. I always have; sauerkraut is one of the most disgusting things on the planet in my opinion. However, it is New Years so I gave this one a shot. It was actually good! Because of my history with cabbage and my ability to eat this, I gave it 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreaorvik January 01, 2008

Reviewed for ZWT3 (Family Picks) ... this was just great. I used white balsamic vinegar and prepackaged coleslaw mix -- it was extremely yummy, and I'll definitely make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts July 01, 2007

I have fallen in love with this recipe. It is so quick and easy to assemble and get on the table, big plus in my book and the taste was incredible. I used balsamic vinegar. I think I could have eaten the whole thing but I did refrain so that my daughters could have some and they left with the recipe in hand and I heard one of them tell the other to put cabbage on the shopping list cause we are making this this week. Thanks so much Sharon for a very good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 June 11, 2007
Five Minute Sweet Peppered Cabbage