8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I know I shouldn't give this any stars because I did change the recipe slightly..but it turned out so great, I can't help myself! I had intended to make the maple walnut fudge, but after combining the basic ingredients, I discovered I was out of maple flavoring! Well, I don't live close to any stores, so what to do? After rummaging around in my pantry, I came up with a bottle of butter flavoring and another of rum extract. Humm, I really do love butter rum, so what did I have to lose? I added one teaspoon of each along with the chopped nuts. It came out beautifully...it almost tastes like a penuche fudge. I think next time I will put a little more rum in than butter, and after I buy some maple extract, I'll try that! This is such an easy, quick recipe, I know I'll be making it often (in many different ways). Thanks Krusty for this great new favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in da Kitchen December 01, 2006

Quick and easy - made the chocolate version and got the thumbs up from family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie January 12, 2003

I made the chocolate version of this fudge but it was just a little too sweet for everyone here. Also, the consistency seemed rather grainy but maybe I didn't cook long enough for the sugar to melt completely. This was simple enough, but needs some tweaking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu December 02, 2002

I made the chocolate fudge version and then added the 2 Tbsp peanut butter too. I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup as others said it was too sweet. When I put the fudge into the pan it did have some butter/oil on the surface so I blotted that off. (I think it may have been the Skippy peanut butter that made it oily). The next time I make it I am going to reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup as it was still too sweet for us. A nice recipe though, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 13, 2011

this turned out pretty well after a little tweaking: you do have to make sure you boil it long enough to dissolve the brown sugar, and i added a square of unsweetened chocolate. i think next time i will add another, because i like dark chocolate :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammajean August 10, 2010

Made this recipe yesterday afternoon let it chill for a few hours and when I tried it, my cheeks sank in. My family loved it but I found it very sweet, I made the chocolate version and it was just to sweet for my personal taste. Will try possibly the maple version next time. Was a very simple recipe to put together though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leanne~ February 24, 2005

Made the maple stuff. It was fast, easy and super yummy. I nearly ate it all out of the pot. I'd like to tell ya my family loved it too, but can't say they'll be getting any. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ February 22, 2005

I found this recipe to be quick and easy. I made the chocolate version as well but I added candy canes for a sweet christmas treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmangel November 24, 2004
Five Minute Fudge