Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Five Grain Hot Cereal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Five Grain Hot Cereal

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Very good. I made this up to take on a camping trip. I can't wait to try some of the alternatives. I used steel-cut oatmeal for the whole oats and I add in a different combination of dried fruits and nuts each time I make it. I used honey instead of sugar. Thanks for the new addition to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      I really liked this recipe, it is a great idea and very healthy. I think many different grains could be used this way as substitutes, I used semolina in place of barley (because I had run out of it) and next time I want to try some burghul as well. I boiled it with 1 cup of milk instead of water and added abit of extra water later when it needed some more liquid, I also added cinamon and rosewater while cooking (cardamom would be good also). I kept mixing it with a beater to avoid lumps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Kids loved it!! My 4 kids gobbled this down, which really surprised me because the oldest usually hates hot cereal. Mine came out a little chunky, maybe I'll grind the rice longer next time, but all loved it still. I also used the Vitamix, grinds so fast. My in-laws were here when I made it and my Mother-in-law called me the following week for the recipe. I was happy to find a cereal with barley as my husband has high cholesterol and slightly raised sugar levels. Great with cinnamon, brown sugar, a splash of milk, and a drizzle of honey... reminiscent of rice pudding....Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Even got my 11 year old to eat it with lots of brown sugar!! I toped it with craisins and milk. Love knowing how to make it myself - healthier that way. And fast also. I used a vita Mix blender so grinding is easy. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Till now I've been a major fan of Cream of Wheat. But I thought there must be some way to make it myself and avoid preservatives, etc. This recipe hit the nail on the head! I love how versatile it is. I used everything you mention here but the cornmeal. I added in oat bran and wheat bran and ground pecans. Wow, this is so flavorful and my favorite way to start the day. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Good. I used dried, chopped dates for the fruit. I added brown sugar and cream to our servings. I'm enjoying it, and it was nice to have breakfast ready and waiting. Thanks! Made for Holiday TAG

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Fantastic. First time I made it I used 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal since I didn't have any barley. I've also made it substituting rye for the barley and it also turned out well. I now eat this every morning for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I ground everything in my Whisper Mill, so that wasn't a problem. I used 1 T sucanat to cook it for 2 1/2 minutes on the stove. I always burn the pot though! Came out very creamy and just the right amount of sweetness. Didn't need extra sugar or milk. Kind of like Malt 'O Meal. You could drizzle some maple syrup over the top too. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I've been making a hot cereal mix simular to this one for years. Mine didn't have sesame seeds in it. They make a wonderful addition. I grind mine in a 40 year old Corona hand cranked mill. I don't try to take it down to a fine flour. A bit of roughage is good for you. Oh, they call roughage, fiber now but it's still good for you. Our local market has a wide assortment of dried fruits in bulk which lend themselves to hot cereal. Some of my favorites are, pineapple slices, rasins, figs, apricots, currents, mango, cranberries, cherries, papaya, coconut, and the list goes on. I cut the big pieces into bite size and add them to a ceramic bowl with the cereal and the milk and 'nuke' it for 9 minutes at 50%. (If I'm on the road in the RV, I cook it in water and add 2 TBS of instant powdered milk when the cereal is done.) The dried fruit reconstitutes well and is almost as good as the fresh. Try different combinations of fruit. Some go well together and then again some don't. Play with your food a bit, it's fun. If I cook it plain I sweeten it with Real Maple Syrup or sorghum molasses or any of the wonderful varieties of honey that are out there. The only way you can go wrong is to add something you don't like. Another advantage of this for breakfast is that it lasts until noon so there is no need for that '10:00 o-clock Danish' Thanx for posting this great recipt. Pierre

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Yum! I love the flavor in this! Unfortunately, while I was making this I realized we didn't have any brown rice so I had to sub white instead. The sesame seeds in this are outstanding! I used my vitamix dry blade and everything was gound to flour. I added the specified amount of water and microwaved for about 2 minutes--a lot easier but turned out a bit too lumpy. Thanks for this yummy treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      A very good way to combine several healthy grains. As others have noted, getting all this to grind took a little bit of work, but it was well worth it. I mad it without variation, including the optional sesame seeds. Once prepared, I found it to have a nice nutty/buttery flavor. When serving, I didn't use any honey, just banana slices in the bottom of the bowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      My first time making a hot cereal and it turned out great! My Magic Bullet processed everything to a fine grain. I didn't have wheat flour on hand so I omitted. My cereal was as smooth as Cream of Wheat but even tastier. I topped with a drizzle of maple syrup and sliced banana. Thanks Sharon,for another great cereal. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This is great! I've been trying to add more whole grains and this cereal is a great way. I made as directed, leaving out the sesame seeds, and then adding ground flax to the individual serving. Served with some brown sugar, a little maple syrup, and a drizzle of milk. Looking forward to trying some of the suggested adaptions as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This is a great basic reicpe!! I made the following changes: I omitted the sesame seeds; I didn't have quick cooking barley so I used 1/4 cup of regular barley; I added 1/2 cup of millet; I omitted the brown sugar completely - instead I mashed a banana in the bowl and poured the hot grains over it; put a smidge of soy milk in. Also, while cooking, I added cinnamon and all-spice. My hubby and son added grapenuts which was an awesome addition. One suggestion, I would not keep this in the pantry, but in the freezer (just like we do with our flour).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      You'll definitely want to use a coffee/spice grinder for this one - not a blender (unless it's fancy or something). This is a wonderful recipe, and makes you something sorta like 'cream of wheat', but more healthy and much less expensive than the brandname crap. It might not be the tastiest thing you've had (though it's pretty yummy), but for what it is, it's inexpensive, healthy, quick to prepare, and flexible. You can really use almost ANYTHING with this, though the ingredients suggested by the author are a sound choice. I especially like the cornmeal, as it gives the recipe a surprising shot of flavour. I'm not one for adding unnecessary sugar and condiments, but I figured I might need it with this recipe. I was wrong. For a variation, consider including or replacing an ingredient with some of the following things in whatever proportions you desire: -ground flaxseed; maybe not too much though, or it gets thick & chunky -ground millet -ground quinoa -ground kamut -ground buckwheat; roasted or not -whole flaxseed; in place of sesame seeds -honey or maple; in place of brown sugar -cinammon -green tea infused water; in place of just water Anyhow, an awesome recipe. Now a staple where I live.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Fantasic. A healthy and quick start to the day. I am really pleased with this recipe. I did make a few changes. I didn't have quick barley, only regular whole barley. So I used 1/4 cup ground up barley and then used a 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. It worked great. Used two teaspoons of brown sugar and little bit of cinnamon and cardamom. Everything was ground up in my coffee/spice grinder and it worked just fine. Thank you for this!! I love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This was great!! I added rye flour and didn't use any sugar. I also cut down the serving size. What a great idea. Thanx for shareing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      This tasted great. I used just brown rice and oats as that's all I had on hand. A little too sweet for me so next time I will either use splenda or omit all sugar and use fruit instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2005

      I haven't eaten hot, cooked cereal in years and that's a mistake. This is soooo good. I made it just as written. The only quick-cooking barley I could find was rolled barley in the bulk foods section. It looks and cooks just like oatmeal so it was easy to process into flour. The rice can't be ground as finely but that only adds to the finished cereal's texture and there is no problem cooking it until done in just 3 minutes. My second morning I tried it with Splenda and it seemed to work just fine. Great winter breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      Yummy!!! I made exactly as instructed, but omitted the optional sesame seeds. I don't know what kind of wicked blender you have, but even my Cuisenart food processor couldn't process the barley and rice to much of a flour. I combined the two in the processor with the hopes that the added volume might help them process, but I still ende d up with some chunks. I like some texture and they were small enough that I figured they would cook through (they did, by the way). Next time I might just go ahead and do the grinding of those two in my coffee grinder and be done with it. I processed the oats very fine, although next time I might do so a little less- I think I just went a little to far. I just made a bowl which was very good- just enough texture- not so much as real oatmeal, but not just mush. I was kind of surprised at how much flavor it has- you tend to think of grains as just being kind of ambiguously grain-flavored, but you could taste the variety in this. I think that I could have actually done with less brown sugar. I added some spices (cinnamon, cardamom, a dash of allspice) and vanilla, but this is actually so flavorful that I don't think it really needs it! I don't usually like oatmeal with milk (the only other hot cereal I've ever tried, really, I think) but this was terrific with milk drizzled over! Thanks for posting; This is great comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Five Grain Hot Cereal

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 430.6
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    86%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes