Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Five Flavor Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Five Flavor Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2002

      This is, without a doubt, the Queen of all pound cakes! The blend of flavors is superb. I used 6 flavors because that is what I had on hand (no pineapple). I increased the vanilla and almond to 1 1/2 tsp. because I wanted those flavors to stand out. I used real butter, pure vanilla and pure extracts if available. The glaze gives the crust a nice light crunch without adding too much extra sweetness. It actually soaks in so you don't even see it. Perfect texture--all in all the perfect pound cake, in my opinion! I also gave the recipe to a girl I work with and she made it before I did so I got to taste it before I made it. She loved it too, but she thought it was a little on the sweet side (I didn't think so, but it IS very rich). We both agreed that we will make it again. THANK YOU Sharlene--I will guard this recipe with my life!! Another note: This made a large cake. I baked it in my stoneware fluted pan and it raised up and over the top of the tube. Next time I will bake it in my regular tube pan which has a taller tube.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Sharlene~W, I'm sorry you had to get this recipe at a funeral, but oh my goodness, I'm also glad you did. This is so good. I was a little confused by the first teaspoon of coconut, but on reading farther, figured you meant the extract rather than coconut. Also, this is a fail safe recipe. I didn't print the whole thing out so messed up in almost every way, but it still came out absolutely wonderful. This is a keeper by all means.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This was a very yummy cake! I didn't have any 'white sugar', so I added about a cup of powdered sugar (maybe more) to the mix so the topping was a little thicker. It still soaked into the cake, but it had a nice frosting on top. My family gobbled it up!! UPDATE: I used all 7 flavors (I got a lot of funny looks at the grocery store buying 6 of them at once, and nothing else), and it turned out wonderful! I only had regular powdered sugar on hand, so I mixed a LOT of powdered sugar in the glaze mix and it made a great clear icing. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      This is only the first night, and I imagine it will just be perfect by Christmas. I didn't have coconut or butter extracts, but used the rest of the flavourings, including almond, pineapple, and orange for good measure. I reduced the amount of sugar by half a cup, and by my recent samplings, it is just perfectly to my taste. I would never imagine that so many diverse flavours would work so well, but they seem to have melded quite nicely during the baking process. As mentioned, there seems to bake up a quite nice crunchy little crust on the outer rim of the cake. Next time I may add some chopped up toasted pecans to the exterior. This is really one of the best pound cakes I've ever tasted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      Tried this recipe at BBQ party and it was a hit. My husband even said it was a keeper. I could not find butter flavour extract so I used orange extract and used real rum instead of extract as I had that on hand. Thank you for your recipe, keep up the great baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2002

      This seems like the recipe that my aunt has made for years. It is also delicious without the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      This was a really rich and fragrant cake!! I didn't have all the flavours that was required for this recipe, so I substituted some. I didn't have coconut and lemon extract. So what I added mango extract instead. I also doubled the mango and rum extracts for both the cake and glaze. I wanted these two to stand out more. I tasted it on the first day, and i thought it was worth only 4 stars...BUT! After 24 hours...my goodness!! All the flavours have come together, and it is a wonderful cake!! 5+ stars for sure!!! Do make this cake in advance, so that the flavours can come together. You won't regret planning ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      This is a wonderful pound cake. Very moist, very dense, very delicious. I used almond extract instead of the coconut I couldn't find. I used more butter instead of the shortening called for, otherwise followed it to a "t". It's a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      When I made this cake and served a slice to my husband neither of us was impressed with the flavor. It seemed a bit 'off' and I made a note not to bake it again. I covered it and we didn't touch it again for two days. I was going to toss it but cut another slim slice for each of us. Both of us said the same thing...is this the same cake? It was so moist and tasty. The couple days of "ageing" had mellowed the flavors. The texture was improved and the cake turned into a "winner". We ate two more slices. It really was delicious! I will make this again, but be sure it is two or three days before I want to serve it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      I have a five flavor pound cake recipe but I decided to try this one, this tops my old recipe..Wonderful Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      I couldn't wait till tomorrow to try. Excellent! I used 6 extracts I had on hand. This is the best pound cake. It reminds me of that expensive frozen one. Wonderful texture. Nice crunchy edge. Next time, I will use a loaf pan also to catch the almost overflow. This is a keeper. 8-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Awesome recipe - didn't change a thing. Pretty easy in spite of the list of ingredients. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

    • on April 18, 2010

      Definately KING OF ALL POUND CAKES! Ohhhh my! I wanted to make the 7 flavor version, but could not find any pineapple extract at the store so only could make the 6 flavor version! I was worried, when I first pulled out of the oven because . . .it was very brown on the outside. I ended up not doing the full hour and half as suggested or it would have burnt. Otherwise though, this cake was SUPER MOIST, and FLUFFFFFY! Loved it, got lots of compliments at the family reunion - and will be making it again! It's awesome! Thanks for the great recipe!!! www.seraphinos.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Great flavor in this pound cake. I didn't have butter ext. so used almond and it was great. I didn't make the glaze but served with fresh strawberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I substituted buttermilk for the milk. Boy oh Boy, is this pound cake out of this world. It rose so high and the crumb is tender and moist at the same time...not dry like most poundcake. There is a light crust on the outside which I love. The combination of flavors is awesome. It is wonderful even without the glaze. What else can I say except that this is the Perfect pound cake!!! Keeper for sure. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I have made this cake several times. My mom decided to retire from making a pound cake after she taste it. I tried it in a bundt pan as well as a 10' pound cake pan. The bundt pan turned out drier than the regular pan. Other than that, the recipe is great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Because my first attempt rose too much, this time I filled my pan 3/4 full and added the rest to what looks like a shallow slightly flattened bundt pan. I took the short one out of the oven at about 30 minutes and baked the other for the full amount of time. . Both cakes were moist with a very nice crust. Delicious! The full size cake, I took to the office where it was promptly inhaled. Mahalo Nui Loa, Sharlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This pound cake has the best texture, although it's a little too sweet for me (I already reduced sugar to 2.5 cups, with no glaze). I might try to reduce sugar a bit more next time. I also made some other changes: 6 eggs instead of 5, evaporated milk instead of normal milk, 1 tsp salt (could have added more), butter flavored shortening instead of the regular one.

      The cake tastes better and better as days go by. the lemon flavor is more pronounce than the other four. Besides being a lil sweet, this cake is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Very good! This is an excellent recipe and is even better the next day. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Five Flavor Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.5
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    40%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 121.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 204.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 58.5 g
    234%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes