Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Tacos

    Average Rating:

    227 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 227

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2013

      Made the recipe with a little less oil than stated, and greatly enjoyed it. I've actually made it twice now and made a fish-taco lover out of my husband. :) The quantity of sauce it makes is a little on the large side, but better to have more than not enough. Use a good quality, thick cod or tilapia filet if you can. The little frozen, cheap filets are not sturdy enough to stir around without breaking/flaking apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Finally found a great recipe for Fish tacos. Kids, hubby just devoured it. The sauce is good and can be used itself to go with fried fish appetizers. I adjusted the spice to a little mild for kids and higher for hubby to customize to their taste buds..will be making a lot of these. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      Very easy to throw together and they came out great. I used both tilapia and cod, and like others added green onion to the sauce and reduced the oil. The cilantro adds a nice flavor to the sauce, and shredded cabbage complements the seasoned fish well. Thanks for the recipe!! We will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Great, easy, healthy (when you make a few adjustments) and delicious! And so much easier than breading the cod first. I used less oil and sauce and didn't measure anything. I also added seasoning to the sauce to taste and just sprinkled it on the cod as I flipped it. I forgot how much the cod pieces shrink! Next time I'll use more than the 1/2 lb or so I used. Served with bagged "Coleslaw," tomatoes and salsa - and chips/guac. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I think the thing you may be looking for with the half cup of mayo and half cup of sour cream is called Crema Mexicana. It's a blend of heavy cream, cream cheese, and sour cream. You can find it in most local Latino grocery stores. It's usually in a jar that looks like a mayo jar. Mde this recipe with that and it was soo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      This is my first food review ever. I had to write to say how DELICIOUS these Fish Tacos were. I followed the suggestions to use 1 T of oil, light sour cream, and I used 2 T of light mayo for the taco sauce. I also added a Chipolte pepper in adobe sauce to the fish liquid. I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used 1 1/2 T of dried. I didn't have taco shells so I used baked scoops. To quote my husband, "I never thought Fish Tacos would taste so good". We devoured the entire dish. Thanks Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Just cooked this! Soooo good! I also used less oil and taco seasoning than it said and I used romaine lettuce instead of cabbage and spread avocado on tortilla along with the sauce mixture before adding everything else. Delicious!!! Family loved it! Only we all only had one...next time I will double the recipe so that we can have more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      The sauce was spot on. Yum. I used green cabbage and added brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Great,quick and easy. Also easy to adapt to your tastes. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      My family found this to be too spicy (we are NOT jalapeno people) so I"ll probably have to make my own spice mix next time, but I thought this was awesome. I cooked the fish for MAYBE 2-3 minutes per batch (had to do 2 batches to make sure single-layer frying) and it held up fine to reheating. Fast and fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      What an amazing recipe. I loved this recipe as is, but next time I think I will add some chopped chipotle pepper to the sauce simply because I am obsessed with chipotle. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I have made this several times for friends and family. It has always been a compliment laden dish! It is so good! I have added a few thing as other reviewers have suggested like using tilapia, adding the red chili and green onion. I will continue to make this fish tacos for more happy faces! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      This was such an easy recipe for fish tacos. We enjoyed it very much. I did think there was too much of the taco seasoning flavor since it was used in the cooking of the fish and in the sauce, so next time I will use less of that seasoning. Thank you! made for Cookbook Tag in the Cooking Tag Games forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      What a great fast meal. The sour cream topping is so delicous. My boys loved this meal. Next time I will have to remember more toppings e.g., avacado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I used frozen Hake filets. I guess I didn't get enough of the water out since it was more like cooking fish stew than sauting. I had dried the cut fish pieces on paper towels and had used less than the recipe amount of oil and lemon juice. I had about 3/4 of a cup of liquid left over after cooking 2.5 # of fish. All that said, we used rice, avocado, diced tomatoes and sliced cabbage along with the cooked fish to create some delicious tacos. The sauce was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Excellent. Quick, easy, delicious. I served with salsa, guacamole, shredded cabbage and pickled jalapeno slices. My kids topped with shredded cheese. I'm making this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I joined this site to tell you all how AMAZING this recipe is! I've been using this site for meal planning. Last night I did not feel like cooking. I knew I had frozen cod filets, they had been breaded but not cooked. I was hoping to find an easy way to cook them. This dish did just that with amazing results.

      I just let the fish soak up the chili oil a bit. Then, cooked them as usual. WOW. This is a keeper. The fish went like hoecakes, so I'm using some chicken instead tonight. I made homemade tortillas, used lettuce instead if cabbage, and used the taco seasoning off this site since I don't handle MSG well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      It was tasty but tasted too much like the fake taco taste. What else
      Could you expect though. Next time would like to try a tequila lime marinade or
      Something. I did add lime and
      Chipotle but still tasted like
      Taco kit. However the family loved it. The toppings were
      Wonderful. Thanks very much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

    • on June 21, 2012

      this was awesome good!

      I used tilapia as well, and shredded it up a bit so it was more like taco meat. I also decreased the oil as recommended. This got a thumbs up from the teen girl who likes NOTHING and from the hubby who doesn't care for Mexican food, and absolute raves (and 4 helpings lol) from the boy child who loves anything resembling a taco of any kind. He even asked for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.2
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    55%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 47.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 294.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning mix


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites