236 Reviews

This was delicious! A definite winner in my house. I'm not the type who can experiment with recipes and change half of it like other reviewers so this review is of the exact recipe as written here. The sauce was amazing and I'm guessing could be made healthier by using light or fat free versions. The fish crumbled and fried up nicely. We'll definitely be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sklovell77 July 16, 2015

This is a great recipe that I modified just a little. I'm so excited to find a good fish taco recipe, and hooray! it's EASY! After my 5 year old and I tasted the "dressing", it was a little too spicy for him, and a little too sour cream for me (not a big sc fan). So I added 1/2 cup mayo, and more cilantro. This was the perfect "less sour creamy" and "less spicy" to satisfy me and the rest of my family. I used Mahi-Mahi, and only a pound. I have plenty of leftover sauce to make again soon. I cut the fish into 1/2" pieces since I knew my kids would like it better that way. Also, I garnished with fresh avacado, and I will also garnish with fresh cilantro next time. Just great, thanks a bunch! Also worth noting is that Costco has this recipe in the May 2015 Costco Connection magazine (the only difference is the there is no taco seasoning added to fish... so this recipe is better, but everything else is the same!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW May 06, 2015

Thank you! Amazing sauce and great tasting fish tacos. Basically had a meat taco kit and fish... This allowed me to make a dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowpantswow April 16, 2015

Delicious!!! It was the first time I've ever had fish in tacos, but I definitely will again! So simple to make and it tasted great! We used Bassa fillets and they were great! Loved that it wasn't battered or fried, it was fresh, tasty and quick to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog March 17, 2015

This recipe was great! Healthier version for fish tacos. I followed the recipe exact. I used cod. The sauce it makes...is the best part and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahLove2Bake January 07, 2015

I made this for my family's Taco Tuesday. Everyone rated it between 3 and 5 stars, so a 4 star average. To have a recipe that was eaten by all is a rarity indeed. My family did choose shredded lettuce over the shredded cabbage. I also offered other topping so everyone could top with what they like. The only complaint was that DD said she liked the sauce better before I added the cilantro. Next time I will leave a little out for her before I add the cilantro for the rest of us. Great way to switch it up and have something a little different than traditional tacos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom November 04, 2014

Theses were excellent! I added veggies to the recipe because the garden is spilling over. I left out 1T oil in the pan cooking sauce & added sliced onion & sliced red peppers. I also added some lemon juice to the sour cream sauce since I didn't have cilantro (can't wait to try them with cilantro). Lastly, I served them with sliced red cabbage & chopped tomatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe, these complimented the mahi mahi filets nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau August 10, 2014

I use less mayo and even sub yogurt for sour cream and lime for lemon... it's a thing I do.. but we all love this and it's good the next day too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy K. July 07, 2014

Made these the other night and loved them. I loved how simple they were to make. I agree with other reviews about green onion in the sauce. Gives that little bit more flavor needed. I used extra lemon juice on the fish and loved the tanginess. I didn't put the taco seasoning on the fish. I just put it in the mayo mix and it was plenty for me. I will make these again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rather be quilting May 12, 2014

Awesome recipe. I used 1 T coconut oil, 1 T olive oil & 1 tsp. minced garlic for sautéing. I did not have lemon at home so I used malted vinegar, taco seasoning sprinkled my fish and let it sit for 5 minutes, Then I sauté in hot oil it didn't take more then 5-7 minute to sauté and I kept fish in strips rather then cut it up into pieces and it was delish....<br/><br/>I will definitely make this again and again . Gee The whole meal took less then 20 minute to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greeneggs.nham February 12, 2014
Fish Tacos