236 Reviews

GREAT recipe. I used Tilapia.

PROS: Amazing sauce, very quick and easy, cutting the fish into pieces rather than strips is perfect, overall taste fantastic

CONS: as other reviews have stated only use 1 T. oil and 1 chopped green onion added to the sauce is a Necessity. While adding hot sauce later is good, mixing 1 t. garlic/chili sauce in with the fish before frying is better,

OVERALL: This is definitely my new fish taco recipe. 4 stars for the few needed additions/subtractions but this one is worth making monthly or for friends.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd777 October 15, 2010

This was an awesome fish taco recipe! I really liked that it wasn't fried, so many are battered and fried. I made a few changes, but nothing drastic and this came out great! I added a good squeeze of lime juice into the sauce which was heavenly. Loved that the best I think. I used tilapia since that is what I had on hand. I also used shredded lettuce, cheddar cheese, salsa and green onion for toppings since I don't like cabbage. The fish was great and tender and tasted fresh and flavorful. We put everything on a warmed flour tortillas and altogether this was an excellent lenten lunch! Thank you for posting Tish, I can't wait to buy some more fish to make these!!! yuuuummmmmmmy!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary N. April 23, 2011

this was delicious!!
it was super fast and very easy to make! i was at first hesitant of adding the taco seasoning thinking that it would make the fish taste like beef, but it complimented it perfectly!
we used talapia, wheat wraps, lowfat sour cream with 1 teasp of mayo for a healthier meal and it was perfect! will definitely make this over and over again! thanks for sharing this recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cat. May 06, 2011

Such a great meal! It is my husband's (who doesn't like fish)favorite meal! I used snapper the first couple times but I am using tilapia tonight. Also, I found an adobo chile sauce on another recipe that I use for dipping. This recipe rocks!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gatorkate September 27, 2010

These directions do not make sense!?want to make them but have no idea what to do with the ingredients in the small bowl?

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaymin W. August 05, 2015

Excellent. I did add one chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce...which I think was key. Also, ONE Tbsp of oil was plenty, ...and I used fat free sour cream, and low fat mayo. Topped with tomato and cabbage as suggested...and added diced avacado. All served up on lightly toasted low carb flour tortilla. I'll be making these again! Yum!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surfin' chef June 14, 2010

What a great fast meal. The sour cream topping is so delicous. My boys loved this meal. Next time I will have to remember more toppings e.g., avacado.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
britishmich October 16, 2012

Made these last night for dinner. We really enjoyed them. This is a keeper!! I will definately make these again. Thanks for the awesome recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidnkelli May 05, 2010

Yummy! Wish I would have had more fish I used 1 lb Swai & 1 lb. Grouper and it disappeared as soon as I sat it on the table. Everyone loved it and complained that I didn't have anymore. Its a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcookin4u August 10, 2015

This entree is straight #kulinarykhaos with a couple of simple additions. We like to throw some black beans in the taco shell, as well as some avocado to top it along with the tomato. Also, we have found a Sriracha Mayo that makes for a great replacement for the sauce. All in all, this is a weekly favorite in the summer around our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okie S. April 20, 2016
Fish Tacos