Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Taco Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Taco Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2012

      This sauce was excellent! I actually used about 2 oz olive oil mayo to 7 oz fat free greek yogurt. I was making fish tacos and I'm used to having a slaw instead of sauce so I tossed this sauce with a whole bag of sliced cabbage from Trader Joe's and a half a package of broccoli slaw until it was the right consistency. I also threw in a few tablespoons of chopped cilantro because I had some lying around. Absolutely amazing! I'm never making fish tacos (or breakfast tacos) without this slaw again! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      We enjoyed this! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      I've been using this with baked tilapia for fish tacos, but with a bunch of leftover cabbage and some carrots I decided to make coleslaw - this sauce makes an excellent coleslaw dressing too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      Great basic sauce recipe. I have an egg/dairy allergy and so I substituted Veganaise for mayo and sour cream and it was still quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Great sauce as written, but to knock it up a notch, I added fresh cilantro and jalopeno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Excellent sauce....made w homemade mayonaise....simply superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      This was great! I left out the capers (personal preference) and had to use ranch dip as I was out of sour cream but it turned out to be a perfect sauce for my spicy fish tacos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Perfect compliment to spicy fish. Loved it - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      What a great sauce. I made it with blackened Mahi, Cabbage, and Colby cheese in a Flour tortilla. Delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Yum! This was easy for spur of the moment fish tacos. I didn't have any fresh cilantro, so most other sauces were not in the cards, but this tasted wonderful! Will definitely be making this again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was good. I used yogurt instead of sour cream to cut down the fat. I also left out the capers based on a previous review and the fact that I generally don't like capers in things. The flavor was very good. I made blackened salmon for the fish and served on flour tortillas with cabbage and picco. Black refried beans and brown rice on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Not bad, I would leave out the capers next time, they detracted from the southwest flavor. I think that cilantro would be excellent. I added a smidge of buttermilk to thin it out a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      This was fantastic on my fish tacos today! It's fresh and compliments fish tacos perfectly - very similar to the sauce used at Taco del Mar. I added a few shakes of green tabasco for a little added ole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      I was looking for a sauce like the one that is on the fish tacos at Baja Fresh. This is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      This is so good! I have been looking for a good sauce for fish taco's and this is it! I did omit the cumin & cayanne and followed the rest to a "T". Wonderful, I will use this one often. Thanks TigerJo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Easy easy easy! Unfortunately, I only had fat free sour cream on hand and used that. The sauce was a bit more runny than I would have liked- but fat free sour cream is thinner than regular so that was my fault not the recipe. I couldn't resist adding chopped cilantro. Good sauce recipe! I, too, sometimes use frozen fish sticks. I prefer Van de Kamps fish tenders.They are made with fillets not minced fish and the batter is sorta like a tempura.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      How I wish I had tried this sooner! This sauce is so easy; I threw it together in no time, and the end result was a masterpiece! All of the spices just work together and the fresh lime juice and capers really put it over the top. I could eat this every day and probably will for a while. Thanks for sharing such a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Taco Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.6
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    79%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 148.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites