Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Marinade for People Who Hate Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Marinade for People Who Hate Fish

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2012

      This was OK for us. I used talipa and let it marinate for about two hours. I then cooked it in a pan on the grill. This wasn't bad but it just wasn't for us. I followed the recipe exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      I do not normally eat fish! My husband loves it, so I decided to try this recipe. I think I had thirds! It was really delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Thanks so much for this recipe! I really do hate fish, but I force myself to eat it, and my husband is very picky about what kind of fish he'll eat as well, so I was surprised that this was actually a tasty way to prepare fish. I didn't marinate a full hour, but did poach the frozen fillets in the marinading liquid as someone recommended. I used a whiting fish this time, but will probably try salmon next time for some variety and more omega 3s.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I had fish on hand and, while well wrapped, had been frozen longer than I care to admit. No time for marinating so I mixed up the recipe, placed it over the fish, then baked in the oven. It turned out very good and my family ate it without reservation. Next time I would like to actually let it marinade for at least an hour as stated in the recipe! I made one substitution - onion powder for shallot. One of our diners does not like any kind of shallot, onion, etc. While the real thing is preferred, onion powder at least adds flavor without the diner being the least bit aware. Will keep this recipe handy for future fish dinners! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I loved this recipe. It smelled so good while cooking too! I reduced the amount o foil to 1/4 cup and doubled the lemon juice and marinated the fish for an hour while frozen then cooked in a covered frying pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This was good. Kids didn't like it, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I used this marinade on some frozen fish that I had. It was ocean perch, so it was a milder fish. But Im still leary about it sometimes having that fishy taste that we dont like when buying frozen versus fresh. I was looking for a marinade to help with the fishy taste in case it had some. I stumbled across this recipe and tried it. It gave it nice flavor. I breaded and fried mine. But I could still taste the flavor underneath it all. No fishy taste here! There was one piece that was a little bad tasting, but the rest were delish. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I thought this was really good. I am hot one who likes "fishy" tasting fish. I followed the recipe exactly and left it all day while at work. Came home popped it in the oven and it was done quickly. It was a nice change to the normal that we have over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Pretty good. I used fish seasoning instead of salt and a little less pepper. I think extra lemon wedges squeezed over it is good-it needed more lemon flavor. It was a little bland, as I prefer Asian style marinades, but still good and easy and my son liked it.I wrapped my tilapia in foil with the marinade poured over it and hubby put it on the grill. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Let me start by saying that DH loved this recipe,I thought it was way to "salty".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I got this from another site, and read your comment. This is a wonderful recipe. I used less salt and pepper, put the lemon juice in the marinade, and substituted onion for the shallot (didn't have any on hand). Oh, and I used ono (wahoo). My husband kept saying how good it was. I totally agree! Definitely a keeper. Had it with a side of brown rice, and NO GUILT. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is great 2nd time around I used lime juice & coriander with a 1/4 teaspoon Thai green curry, I would not say it was better, only different. Motto for the day. There is no bad food only good food cooked badly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Pretty good, my husband HATES fish, but needs to include it in his diet. I used this on tilapia, and it was pretty good. It covered up most of the "fishy" taste, but only if he ate it quickly...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      My father is 86 years old and can be hard to cook for him. Especially things that are healthy like Fish. Well, he loved this recipe!! THANK YOU so much! He even asked me to send it to my sister in Boston and my Uncle and Aunt in Florida, since he is going to visit these places after he leaves our house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I'm new at this and forgot to give you stars. Five stars for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Are you aware somone seems to have plagiarized this recipe on grouprecipes.com? They just changed "stepdaughter" to "mother." http://www.grouprecipes.com/51380/fish-marinade-for-people-who-hate-fish.html Anyway, I am one of these "people who hate fish." I do not care for anything that comes from the sea, but my boyfriend LOVES all seafood. This meal was a favor to him, but I must say, the taste was pretty good! After marinating, I dipped the filets in seasoned bread crumbs and some Parmesan, then baked it on a broiler pan. Tilapia was a good, mild fish to try after years of my refusing to eat fish, and the marinade definitely covered up any fishiness there may have been. But the texture of fish is still a little too much for me to really crave fish in the future. As for flavor though, this was great! I would definitely make it again for my boyfriend... he ate it all! Thanks! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I had some Barramundi fish in the freezer which is a very good fish but when I take it out of the package it always smells a little fishy...could be because it's frozen. Anyway I found this recipe put a little rosemary in along with the basil, marinated it for almost 2 hours then like another reader baked in in foil with some of the marinade...Fantastic! I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Wonderful recipe. This is a staple in the house - lives up to it's name completely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Incredible. We will be eating more fish because of this recipe. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This was very tasty! Even my picky eater liked this fish! I will use this recipe many times again. I will be trying it on chicken next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Marinade for People Who Hate Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.9
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    98%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 582.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites