8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful little fish recipe. I do not eat red meat, but I eat lots of fish, so always looking for a good fish recipe. The additional of the capers and olives give it a Mediterranean feel and the lemon and cloves add a freshness to the recipe. I did not use a 1/2 cup of butter and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Thanks for a nice simple fish recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser March 11, 2011

What an outstanding way to prepare fish! I left out the capers and used the basil option. I used a scant amount of oil to cook the fish since the topping was already so buttery. Easy to prepare and restaurant quality - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by Maito)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 19, 2011

What an awesome topping for fish! I halved the garlic and reduced the fats to just one tablespoon. I ended up having to omit the roasted red pepper since it had gone bad. The mediterranean flavors are just wonderful here. I used the sage, but I think the basil would be great in it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 09, 2010

5+ Stars!!! Lots of butter, which I'll probably reduce next time...but this tastes fabulous! I cut this down to 2 very slim fillets, and just eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. Then I increased the black olives (used calamata olives), which I think made the dish. I diced the garlic finely, so I didn't puree it. This is going in my keepers book....thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! Made for Gimme 5 Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 04, 2009

This was delicious. Tilapia was on sale this week so I used that. I used only half the butter and it worked out great. I used less garlic, but mine were pretty big. I added them minced so I didn't puree them. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. But it's a dish I'll make again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* July 12, 2009

I made this for DH & DS last night. They both said that it had a good taste but it was too much garlic. I only used 6 garlic clove to begin with & added some minced onion. I will probably make again but with less garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 01, 2008

FANTASTIC! I made a half recipe with Basa and frozen basil. The flavors are very yummy and it seems like something you'd get at a fancy restaurant. Thanks for this KEEPER recipe! Made for the Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 04, 2008

This was absolutely incredible! I served this using tilapia fillets, and I look forward to serving it over grouper. Unfortunately, I was out of capers, but it was still absolutely divine. This was also super easy, but tastes very complex. I chose to use basil as opposed to sage or dill, and it was excellent. Yes, this uses a lot of butter, and next time, I may cut back on it, but because it is served over the fish, you have some control over how much you actually eat with each portion, so I think the nutrition facts are "negotiable". Rather than puree the garlic after it cooked in the butter, I mashed it with a wooden spoon to retain some chunks. We will absolutely be eating this again and again - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek April 07, 2008
Fish Fillet With Garlic Butter and Black Olives