56 Reviews

I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! I took half of an acorn squash, cubed it and added it to the choweder, along with the potatoes and other ingredients. I boiled the other half, pureed it with 1/4 a cup of heavy cream and then added this to chowder. This thickened up the base and of course, it adds a background flavor that won't overpower. We will keep this in the rotation of "cold night" soups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tevisv February 01, 2011

This is a great basic chowder recipe. I added lots of flour to the milk, as others suggested, and I added 3 large garlic cloves and lemon pepper seasoning. I also didn't add any liquids until after the fish cooked (this was by accident from not carefully reading the instructions!), and this allowed the fish and veggies to really absorb the seasonings. It was a mistake, but one I will repeat. This was a nice change from how I usually cook fish (sauteeing) and I will be making it throughout the cold months. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doggy momma October 17, 2009

This was soooo good. I used chicken stock for the water, and added some cajun seasoning and lots of black pepper. I also thickened this with a roux of bacon grease and flour. No lack of flavor. Served with green salad and homemade warm french bread this was a great dinner for my daughter's 19th birthday. We will be having this again. And I saw some large shrimp in the freezer so that will be a last minute addition next time...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cena January 26, 2008

This was my first attempt at fish soup. I read some of the reviews and was afraid of it being too bland so added both cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes, next time will only add one or the other. Also threw in garlic and thyme. Thickened with equal parts butter and flour roux. Found this to be a wonderful basic recipe and a great way to get some of those fish eaten. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowbound December 18, 2007

This was good but not special, I used cod, sorry but I probably won't make it again, it did not seem to have a lot of taste. I added cayenne pepper and some cumin, to give it a little kick, also used just one tablespoon of oil and followed the rest exactly. Maybe more seasoning would help the flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 19, 2006

plan to try this tonight, the stars are for your great intro and my anticipation of using your recipe and mine (Mother's Clam Chowder - Manhattan Style). She grew up in New York and talked about the FFM. Thank you for sharing all this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetiebarbara January 25, 2016

I just used broth and cream for a little richer flavor, it turned out wonderfully. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 December 24, 2015

Awesome. The beauty of this recipe is its simplicity and adaptability. As other have mentioned, they made their adjustments. I used butter, more salt, half and half and some fish stock along with the water(I also made about 1.5X the recipe). Classic chowder that you can adapt to your liking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmvadas October 12, 2015

I have to admit I wasnt sure about cooking up my leftover salmon from last night, but I am sure glad I did. This recipe is so easy and delicious, anyone can make it. My husband loved it too. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie V. July 23, 2015

We recently tried this recipe and are also confused by the blandness comments. We found this to be delicious and simple. It would be easy to prepare this for a fresh, home-made weeknight dinner. I followed the recipe and agree that butter is the way to go. It adds such a nice flavor and texture to the broth, and is a healthier fat than margarine or cooking oil. I also used 12 oz of non-fat evaporated milk instead of whole regular milk. And I included the carrots ? I have eaten chowder all up and down coastal Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts and have had it both with and without. Both are good, but I am a firm believer in there can?t be too many carrots in soup. We served it with a salad for dinner, and there was enough chowder leftover for lunches. To that we added some sautéed watercress and that was a nice addition. It didn?t affect the flavor of the chowder, but the lingering flavor was only of the watercress. The chowder held and reheated nicely. I put it in a saucepan on the stove very low to heat it slowly and avoid the risk of scalding the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catsoverhusband March 25, 2015
Fish Chowder