Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Chowder

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2013

      Excellent!!! I did everything here to a T, then I added 4 strips of turkey bacon cut up really small and 1T of Old Bay Seasoning. This was awesome and because the hubby is lactose intolerant it went great with the margarine and plain soy milk. It was so creamy! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      We were very impressed with this fish chowder. It smelt so good and it had a great taste.I put in about 1/4 cup 15% cream instead of milk. I will make this again , my husband was very impressed with the outcome. Made for world Tour 8.We thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Really nice. I did thicken it a bit, but the flavour was good. I will try it again with different types of fish and seafood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      It took me an hour and a half to make this very bland chowder. It's okay, but nothing special. Could definitely use a little something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This is a lovely recipe I am happy to have come across. Quick, Healthy & Delicious! I make this recipe pretty much as listed, with the exception of using 4 cups fish broth instead of the boiling water, skim milk instead of regular milk and slightly more vegetables, instead of potato to make this dish less in carbohydrates. I also add Tarragon as well. I have made this soup with Cod, Pangasius and Tilapia and it always comes out brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      I used salmon fillets and added garlic and frozen corn to this recipe. I also used a no-salt seasoning since I felt the soup lacked that 'little something.' These additions made a world of difference to me and I enjoyed the dish after this! Also, I added some flour to the milk before mixing together with the soup pot; this gave the soup a creamier texture. I'd make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and it came out awesome! I did add flour though to make it more cream, but other than that it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

    • on February 05, 2009

      i made a double batch of this today, and it was excellent! I had intended to thicken it a little bit with flour, but got ahead of myself and forgot, but it was still very tasty. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Liked it a lot. I did add some flour to thicken it a little. I'm sure it would thicken some on its own, but wasn't interested in waiting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      WOW! This all my 4 kids love! My eldest daughter said she can have it everyday! Thanks for posting. Added cream instead of milk though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I loved it. It had all the flavor and very little fat. Next time I will try it with half and half but its great as posted. Thank you. Its exsactly what I've been looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      mighty tasty, couldn't believe how simple it was and how good it tasted...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Very good recipe for a some-what bland tasting chowder. It lacks a little zip that you would expect from a New England chowder. The basics are certainly there. With a little creativity it can be a real hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Pretty easy to make, and a good basic recipe. If you make it according to the directions, you will end up with a pretty bland meal. It also didn't have the thick consistency normally associated with 'Chowder'. I added flour for thickness, and spiced it up with a fair amount of garlic salt, as well as black pepper and crushed red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      made today very fast and easy. Followed directions exactly thought it was very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Very good, tasty and healthy too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I followed this recipe exactly as written with the exception that I doubled it and I made a mixture of cornstarch and mil in hopes of thickening it somewhat as the broth was thin and needed more body. It is quite bland tasting but could be spiced up easily which I will do the next time around, and there will be a next time. This is a very healthy chowder and with a few tweeks from the spice rack could be out of this world. If the intent of the originator of this chowder was to keep it healthy, I would not substitute half and half for milk. I think it can be thickened nicely with a cornstarch or flour mixture; maybe even a roux. Thanks you Dreamgoddess for sharing your adopted recipe, it was definately worth saving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This is an outstanding recipe. Very easy and so tasty. We all loved it. I will struggle to do fish in any other way now!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Good - Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (433 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.0
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    30%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 57.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 769.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites