Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Cakes Fast and Simple Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Cakes Fast and Simple

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      I made these tonight for dinner. They were really fast and simple as the title says. DH wasn't home and I wasn't sure when he would get home, so I did everything except fry the patties before hand. Then when he arrived, I went ahead and fried the patties. The next time I make these I will leave the water out as that made them to loose to form into patties. I had to spoon them into the skillet and then kind of pat and spread them out. They tasted great and the fish and potatoes did not over-power each other. Thank you for sharing this recipe Chuck!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      I made these for my family a couple of weeks ago and I must say, we thoroughly enjoyed them. I took the other reviewers advice and left out the water. Had no problem forming the cakes. Fried to a delicate crisp. They had a wonderful soft texture on the inside. I used cod fillets. Thanks Chuck for sharing your recipe :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I left out the water which make it easier to form the cakes. Great camping recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      I liked this, Chuck. Quick and simple. But the second time I left out the water, much better consistency, well for me anyway. I also added a big pinch of dill tops because I like it with fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Boiled my potatoes in a tall pot with a make shift steam basket ( mesh strainer ) on the top to steam the fish (sole) then mashed them together. I also added old bay seasoning , lemon zest, 2 large onions grated with the juice squeezed out, parsley and a bit more salt. My family devoured them. Thanks for such a good base recipe. Oh, and your recipe is exactly how my Mum used to make them, they were my favorite growing up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Interesting ... For the east of cooking 5. For the taste 3. It was very very bland. But they did turn out good.

      - First off 5 potatoes was too much, 4 was plenty for me
      - Second, if I would of put my fish in right with the potatoes, they would of fallen apart. Different fish will taking different times. My snapper would of been nothing left, so you may want to mention what type of fish to add.
      - Third, I added Old Bay, fresh parsley, lemon zest, and scallions. It seriously needed seasoning
      - Fourth, I did add 1 tablespoon bread crumbs to help keep them together as I had that problem too, and did not use the extra spoon of water.
      - I coated very lightly in bread crumbs, froze for just 15 minutes or so to FIRM up and then cooked.

      I served it with a lemon dill sauce.
      So overall, easy, yes. But definitely not what I consider a fish cake, too much potato vs fish. But it was still tasty and if you are like me and like lots of flavor ... I highly recommend adding additional seasoning.

      But they were good and a nice easy method. Next time I may try tilapia, just because they are inexpensive, just to see the difference.
      Thx

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Thank you Chuck in Killbuck. my hubby had just caught a few big jew fish and i was looking for something simple. This fit the bill perfectly. I added 2tspn of lemon zest which gave it a lovely zing. I was hesitant about cooking the fish with the potatoes so i did them seperately.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Delicious! I used leftover tilapia from fish tacos so I cooked the potatoes by themselves. I cut WAY back on potatoes. Only used 2 large potatoes and it made 8 nice size patties. I think most people could eat 2 of the patties so I'd say that 2 potatoes makes 4 servings. I used a pound of fish and about 1/4 cup of onions and the 2 eggs. I didn't add the water. Instead of salt and pepper I added about 2 teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning. I sauteed the onions in a little oil before adding them to the fish/potato mixture. Next time I'll probably add a little cayenne because bf likes his food to have a "kick". I made the patties the night before and then fried them up right before dinner. I dredged them in a little seasoned flour before frying them. Served them with homemade tartar sauce, tomato & red onion & avocado salad with a balsamic vinaigrette, and black beans and saffron rice. 5****** for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      So simple and so good!! Almost a one pan meal. I also, left out the water and added dill seasoning and the cakes turned out wonderful! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

      Yeah, SarasotaCook points out several problems. I wish I'd seen her review before I tried this. Total disaster.<br/><br/>I used 4 large russet potatoes and I have a suspicion this was way too much. I eventually added 2 more eggs, for a total of 4, to the mix and it just got worse. This never really formed patties for me. I used 1 pound of frozen cod, defrosted, and cut into pieces to boil with the potatoes. At least it mashed well. I tried to fry this in a non-stick wok with plenty of oil on high heat as that was the best I could do with this. Didn't really come together.<br/><br/>They smelled great. I'm sure it works for someone. But the recipe is WAY off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      After reading a few of the reviews, I chose to only use 2 potatoes.I grated in a shallot, omitted the water, added some breadcrumbs, lemon zest and parsley. Still felt a bit loose, but held together while sauteing. I used some leftover Talapia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I chose this recipe because it appeared easy to make, and it received great reviews. Unfortunately, my patties completely fell apart! I can't figure out what I could/should have done differently. I made the recipe as written, including the tablespoon of water. I think the amount of potatoes called for is way too much; there needs to be a better fish to potato ratio. I tried using several different kinds of oils, including canola and grapeseed, but nothing assisted in holding the patties together. I also tried a blend of butter and oil, and then just butter, but that didn't help either. I even tried dividing the patties into smaller balls and deep-frying them, but they STILL feel apart! In the end, my husband and I ended up eating what we called "fish hash" (as opposed to corned beef hash), because that is how it looked and tasted. I definitely would not make this again, unless there were additional instructions added to ensure the patties stay together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I for one am happy to have found this recipe. Every year my DH goes to Canada and comes back with enormous lake trout -- which I personally don't care for (and I love fish). I've tried to cook this fish many different ways and I can hardly get myself to eat it...until now. I loved this recipe! I took many reviewers' advice and didn't add the extra water. As per their advice, I also added Old Bay, lemon zest and parsley. I served with tartar sauce or my old standby, mayo-n-yellow mustard mixed. Everyone loved these! Next time I will also try adding chopped green onion and some chopped red pepper for color. I do agree that for those who like a big BAM! of flavor, you will need to knock this up a notch or two, maybe add some more cayenne. When my kids came home while I was cooking these, they said, "Yum! What are you making for dinner?! It smells really good!!" Enough said. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This makes for a fast, easy, tasty & economical dinner - EXACTLY the way my mother made fish cakes to feed 4 kids on a very limited income! Like other reviewers, I used Haddock filets, skipped the water, added some Herbes de Provence and served with a tossed salad. Thanks for the recipe & bringing back some memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Easy and delicious. I've made this several times now. I find it has better texture when you add breadcrumbs to the mixture. I also opt for more seasoning, as others have suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This is pretty good. Fast and easy to make. Add more seasoning though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This was fast and easy! My family loved it!! And that's a miracle! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      These were pretty good but the recipe needed some tweaking. I added 3 big garlic cloves to the fish and potato boil. Then I mashed them up with the mixture and added a few tablespoons of Old Bay. I read other reviews and noticed that many people had trouble keeping the patties together. 2 ways around that: 1. add some breadcrumbs to the mix. 2. Put the cakes in the fridge for 20 min. before frying. Anyways, I breaded these in seasoned breadcrumbs before frying and they came out just like crispy delicious crab cakes. Will def. use again!! (If anyone cares, I used some leftover shark steaks. Came out great!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Don't know what I did wrong but these fell apart. Left out the water but no dice. Worth another try though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      yum yum, even picky hubby loved these! I used some talapia left over from the nite before that was pan fried in butter and salt. so good, but so bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Cakes Fast and Simple

    Serving Size: 1 (663 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 787.8
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    39%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 127.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 162.9 g
    54%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless fish fillets

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes