Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish Baked in Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish Baked in Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2004

      Fantastic recipe Geema!!! made this for lunch to take to my inlaws. Used my own masala instead of the spice mix which is anyway a mix of fennel, cumin, coriander, pepper, aniseed and bayleaf which I always keep on hand (lovely to add to a vegetable preparation too!!!). Added the cayenne and turmeric. And then followed the recipe using the green chilli and floored them folks!!!Thanks!!! Fay khush hui!!!! (Means you made Fay happy in Hindi. It is a famous dialogue from a Bollywood film rather like I'll be Back by AS);) Fay

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I will never buy canned curry sauce again. This was a yummy sauce for fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Excellent! I used one 14 oz. can of coconut milk, so there would be plenty of sauce. Also had to cook longer than specified (total of 45 minutes) because my cod was very thick. Hubby and brother-in-law loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Very good. I used cod, and cheated with a ready made curry paste. I thought the coconut flavor would be more pronounced, so I will cut a little back on the spices next time (just my taste)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Very good recipie. I used tilapia. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This was fairly easy and really tasty. I didn't have any tomatoes so I used 1 tbsp (I was only making half the recipe) and a decent splash of water to make the sauce. Came out great! I can see this working really well with prawns or chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      DH made it, leaving out the chili peppers for the kids' sake. My 5yr old and 2 yr old gobbled it up; the onion-hating 8 yr old balked. I loved this new taste for fish. We also mixed fish & shrimp, and upped the milk to 1 1/2 cans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I think I should have used more coconut milk to get the consistency I wanted/expected. Other than that it was very tasty and made an impressive meal with forbidden black rice and frizzled cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This dish was fabulous!!!! And I realized after making and eating it that I completely forgot to put the coriander in. It was great without it. I did use more coconut milk than what was called for. My husband loved it. It was quite tasty. I highly recommend it. I served it over some Mango Coucous (comes in a box and takes 5 minutes to make) - together it was sensational.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This was a GREAT aromatic dish. Reminds me panang. Though not as tongue-fall-off spicy. I decided to double the coconut milk, and used picked pepperocini's instead. Then served it over rice. It was absolutely delicious. Though it's not a kid pleaser. Thanks for the recipe Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      i am rating this 4 star although Hugh told me this morning(!) that he thought it should be 5!! I did add shrimps to the final cooking stage, used tin crushed tomatoes with chilli and garlic. I think really the spices should be gently heated til aromatic at the start and then the remaining ingredients added to the sauce. I think also the coconut milk could be increased and the stock decreased. However it still made a very nice meal but I found the relatively uncooked spices rather "floury" tasting in the present recipe form

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Delicious! I didn't use the full amount of coriander (6 teaspoons is a lot!), but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. It was very aromatic and tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      I used this recipe for the coconut milk sauce as I was making Spicy Thai Fish Cakes(#41313) and wanted a sauce to pour over them. I fried the onion and garlic, then added some red curry paste (I was out of tomatoes) and the spice mixture. I added the milk and let it come to a low boil. I then added some basmati rice which I had pre-cooked. Then I strained it and served the smooth milk as a gravy/sauce. This was all a big hit. My stepson even gave me a 'thumbs up' which is a rarity! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Thank you for this tasty recipe. I modified it slightly by cutting the fish (ahi) into 1 inch chunks, which saved on the cooking time a bit. I also added frozen peas and thawed frozen shrimp just before serving and they were a yummy addition. Also used brown rice and light coconut milk for health reasons. Will definitely be making this dish again as we couldn't get enough of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      DH and DDs loved this. I found it lacked something and ended up putting a lot of salt in to taste the spices. I had to halve the garlic because DH is seeing patients tomorrow so maybe that's what was wrong... Still, DDs said it was yummy so thank you for another recipe to add to my family collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish Baked in Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.1
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    49%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 124.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 915.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 54.3 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes