21 Reviews

Yum, yum, yum. This was really a good batter! I never seem to get the batter right, but this recipe worked very well. We used catfish, which is in abundance down here. The fish was a little on the heavy side, but still quite good. Thanks for another good one!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Erin C. February 07, 2002

The only one I will use now. My husband was the one who made it. There wasn't a piece of fish left at all. Delicious.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge Plourde January 04, 2003

I am so pleased that my 1st review is a 5 star one! I choose this recipe for my dad's Birthday dinner.He is English and he LOVED it! I would not change a thing. I highly reccomend this recipe to others and will be making it again and again.Thanks so much for sharing! A++ 8)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ocean~Ivy June 29, 2002

This is first class. I left out the salt and used thin whiting filets. The batter is, without question, the best I have ever been able to make at home. I'm going to try using it with fresh sea scallops and fresh shrimp, also. This recipe merits every one of the 5 stars I am giving it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guabi Guabi February 28, 2002

This was a great batter! I had some friends over and everyone was excited to eat this! I used Blue Whiting, which I discovered is a.k.a. Cod. The thin pieces curled a bit, so I would recommend using thicker pieces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiaGem October 17, 2002

Excellent recipe! My Irish husband was very pleased with this fish batter. He always complains how thick the batter is in most pubs in Toronto. This is an easy recipe, fast to prepare and the results are truly yummy! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ntadera August 21, 2015

These turned out very good. My kids are always asking for fried fish when I buy some at the store. I tried your recipe and this turned out perfect. Thank you for a good fish and chips recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 27, 2009

This was yummy. My DH and I really enjoyed it while my kids were a bit less enthusiastic. I made Tartar Sauce to accompany it, and that was very tasty as well. I used small-medium tilapia fillets and cooked in canola oil for approximately 3 1/2 minutes. I agree with other posters that the fish didn't have much of a taste, but for us the tasty batter combined with the mild fish and the tartar sauce (ketchup for the kids) worked well. Will likely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SGpratt February 12, 2008

This was absolutely delicious. I didn't have self-raising flour so i added baking powder and soda to all-purpose flour. I also didn't have milk so I used coffee creamer and water combination. The end result was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amna81 September 22, 2007

These were great! Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 June 09, 2007
Fish and Chips