Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish and Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish and Chips

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2002

      Yum, yum, yum. This was really a good batter! I never seem to get the batter right, but this recipe worked very well. We used catfish, which is in abundance down here. The fish was a little on the heavy side, but still quite good. Thanks for another good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      The only one I will use now. My husband was the one who made it. There wasn't a piece of fish left at all. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      I am so pleased that my 1st review is a 5 star one! I choose this recipe for my dad's Birthday dinner.He is English and he LOVED it! I would not change a thing. I highly reccomend this recipe to others and will be making it again and again.Thanks so much for sharing! A++ 8)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

      This is first class. I left out the salt and used thin whiting filets. The batter is, without question, the best I have ever been able to make at home. I'm going to try using it with fresh sea scallops and fresh shrimp, also. This recipe merits every one of the 5 stars I am giving it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      This was a great batter! I had some friends over and everyone was excited to eat this! I used Blue Whiting, which I discovered is a.k.a. Cod. The thin pieces curled a bit, so I would recommend using thicker pieces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      These turned out very good. My kids are always asking for fried fish when I buy some at the store. I tried your recipe and this turned out perfect. Thank you for a good fish and chips recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This was yummy. My DH and I really enjoyed it while my kids were a bit less enthusiastic. I made Tartar Sauce to accompany it, and that was very tasty as well. I used small-medium tilapia fillets and cooked in canola oil for approximately 3 1/2 minutes. I agree with other posters that the fish didn't have much of a taste, but for us the tasty batter combined with the mild fish and the tartar sauce (ketchup for the kids) worked well. Will likely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious. I didn't have self-raising flour so i added baking powder and soda to all-purpose flour. I also didn't have milk so I used coffee creamer and water combination. The end result was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      These were great! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This recipe was a big hit in my house. I added more salt and some pepper and still found it to be a little bland, so next time I will try to punch it up some more!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      JUST finished eating the fish. This is the first time I've tried making this at home, and the coating was quite nice and crispy, but it didn't stick to the fish :( A big disappoint...but brother really liked the crispy coating anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I used tilapia. I took a tip from another reviewer who didn't have self rising flour and used the baking powder. We had this with fries and tomato and lettuce salad. Thank you Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Amazingly simple and scrumptious! I only had 3 large cod fillets, so there were some batter left. Poured them all into the remaining oil and my husband finished everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Used it on cod & would'nt change a thing. When you're right--you're right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      Tried this last night. It was quite tasty. I modified only a few things....I didn't have selfraising flour, so I added heaping 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, and a dash of salt to 1/2 cup of all purpose flour. I also added some garlic powder, and cayenne to the batter for some added flavour. I used red snapper for the fish. We served it with some oven fries, broccoli and homemade tartar sauce. It turned our really well. I'd make a few changes though... next time I'll reduce the milk to half a cup (4 ounces instead of 5), as I think it would have been better if the batter was a teeny bit thicker, and would definitely season the fish before dipping in the batter. The batter was delicious, but the fish was a bit too mild in flavour for our tastes. I will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      I made it tonight for my family with blue gill. It was a huge hit with everyone. I made up a good sized batch, and it is all gone. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Excellent batter. Light and crispy, just the way we like it. I used turbot- which was a little too soft for fish and chips, but the batter was wonderful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      This is the best fish batter recipe! The family raved over it and want me to make it again. Used with Haddock Fillets. Dh is very picky over batter and this one was not to thick of a coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Very, very good. This is a lot like a batter I make.. only mine has an addition of a few spices, and is a bit thicker. This batter is really perfect, and I plan to try it with other types of fish. I used Tilapia fillets (cut in half). I had no problems with this at all... and that is unusual for me because batters are always troublesome for me. I am very happy with this recipe, and I will be using it many more times in the future. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish and Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.1
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    22%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 189.1 mg
    63%
    Sodium 694.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 39.3 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites