Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fish and Chip Shop Curry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fish and Chip Shop Curry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2002

      Wow! This was really great. I usually use malt vinegar or tarter sauce when we have fish and chips but this was excellent. I may have used too much lemon juice, I used the juice of 1 lemon, quite a lot, might use less next time. All in all a great recipe. Thanks Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      This was wonderful and went very well with the Artur Treachers Fish. I am one of the odd Yanks that has a great fondness for English food and this hit the spot. I used Spice Islands Calcutta Heat Curry Seasoning and it added a nice warmth to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      This recipe deserves more for simplicity, i would add the addition of blending the mixture at the end ensure smooth consistency. Also i would recommend 1 TBSP of Chicken Bouillon powder to the mix at the end, it gives it much needed salt and a bit of additional flavor, the last thing would be to let it simmer for 15-30 mins to ensure a rounded taste. This was the first time of me recreating a child hood favorite. Thank You! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      The sauce turned out good but we just didn't care for the taste. DH and I both just didn't care for it. I am glad I tried it, I just don't think I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      A great clone of northwestern chip shop curry sauces. It's supposed to be very mild, because you need to make sure you top your chips with malt vinegar and salt before covering them in the sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I actually found this recipe on another site, but it used a half a cup less water and that probably solves the watery problem. that being said I tweaked the taste until it was the same as the pub down the street and while this recipe is close I almost doubled the curry powder. Still a very good platform to base your sauce on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I have to agree fully with Chef #997375. The basic recipe was watery and totally tasteless. However I did save the day with the addition of other spices and a tad more flour though it was all trial and error, but we did end up with "better than chip shop" curry sauce. I will have a go at recreating it again soon and post it online

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I have never had a sauce like this in Chip shops, it tasted little more than curry sauce and water, it was horrible, there was no depth of flavour at all and I would not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Very interesting. Smelled yum while cooking & we were happy with the results. We didn't sample the curry sauce while in the UK, so thanks for sharing this :) It does make a lot, so my suggestion would be to make sure you halve the recipe if you're only serving 2 or 3 people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      My fiancé and I had been looking for this taste after visiting UK several times. A late nights Curry Chips was just what we needed, it's not 'exactly' the same, but close enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      i am from the north of england, born and bred and trust me they DO serve this lovely curry sauce on the fish and chips and this one tasted just like the traditional one, in fact this one is better than the one they sell at the chippy down the road from me. yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      Don't waste your time. I've never seen this in a fish and chip shop. Thank goodness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I don't know what happened here! This sounds really good, but was it supposed to turn out to be so thin? I re-read the recipe and it says 20 oz. of water-that is 2 1/2 cups. I am used to a thicker, more flavorful sauce and I think this would be fine if 8 oz. of water was used instead of 20. I ended up eating the fish (which was great!) with vinegar and this went down the disposal! If anyone can tell me what went wrong, I would appreciate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fish and Chip Shop Curry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.6
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    58%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites