Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / First To Go Mexican Potluck Pleaser Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    First To Go Mexican Potluck Pleaser

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2002

      This was very easy to make. I seasoned the meat myself instead of using taco seasining and I used velveeta instead of the cubed american cheese. I love this recipe and took it to a pot luck and it is one of those requested recipes! Everyone loves this and it is perfectly named too! It is first to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Talk about being stuffed! I did not have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes and drained it to use the juice for the recipe. I loved the salty taste of the gr. olives but my kids want black olives on it next time. So I'll make it half green/half black.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Thanks for the great recipe! The title is right - it was the "first to go" at the potluck. The recipe was so easy to adapt to what I had on hand in my pantry. I loved the fact that I could make up the components ahead of time and assembly the casserole right before it was to be served! Great for working families. I added a chipotle bouillon cube to the cooking water of my brown rice in place of salt and low sodium taco seasoning (always trying to offset some of the sodium from "store bought" items). Another shortcut was using a 15.5 oz. jar of salsa con queso in place of cooking cheese sauce. Also used a shredded 4 Mexican Cheese blend for the topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I hate olives, so I left them out. This is basically a taco that you dip chips into! I think it turned out great and will definitely make it again. (I might adjust the directions to make them a little easier to understand, too.) Next time I think I'll try the suggestion to use Mexican cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This did not work very well for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was real good. I tried to make it one day and was out of some of the ingredients to make the whole meal. I ended up putting the meat mixture, the (left over) rice, and the cheese sauce in the fridge. I put the whole meal together a few nights after and it turned out real good. My DH used extra tortilla chips to dip the casserole. Kids liked it also. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This resisted my best efforts to ruin it since all I had on hand was processed cheese food (ick) and fajita seasoning (waaaay too salty). Still it was mostly eaten at the cookout and Hubby finished the rest. Can't wait to make it again -- correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      This is definitely the first to go at all of the mexican potlucks I go to. Everytime I come in they so "oh good, you made it again". Everyone looks forward to it. Definitely a crowd pleaser. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for First To Go Mexican Potluck Pleaser

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 267.3
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    62%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 50.0 mg
    16%
    Sodium 613.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites