Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Firehouse Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Firehouse Chili

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      This is a great recipe. It was extremely easy to make. Both of my picky eaters ate it. My husband liked it so much he told me that I need to use this recipe from now on when making chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I made this chili and entered it in the chili contest on my job and won first place. It was really easy to put together. I actually made to batches. I liked them both but on the second one I used a portion of the salt to season the beef as it was cooking. This made a difference in the final taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This is my new go-to chili. It's so easy and delicious... really hits the spot. I substituted 2 cans of crushed tomatoes for the tomato juice and sauce, and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Awesome chili Anita! I did make a few changes due to my personal taste and what I had in my pantry...I omitted the oil, added a couple of dashes of celery seed and doubled the garlic. I only had a 10 oz can of Rotel and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I had no tomato juice so I subbed half a Red Stripe (Hooray Beer!). I'm sure it's equally as delicious as written. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      My search for a good chili is finally over! I wasn't sure the perfect chili was out there until I found yours. I did however double the spices because we love the extra chili flavor. I also added mushrooms and assorted bell peppers. The leftovers are excellent for nachos and freeze nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I made it for my office. I did put a tbsp more salt and 16 oz of tomato juice. Very good! Lot of compliments Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Tripled the recipe and it came out GREAT! The longer it sits the better it gets. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Really, really good. I made it as written except I didn't use oil to fry meat. I didn't have tomato juice so I substituted bloody mary mix. I also added 1 1/2 TB brown sugar as someone else suggested. It's my new chili recipe - replacing the one I've made for years. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      My Husband and I loved this chili !!! Delicious ! I used 2 lbs ground beef. I left out the cayenne pepper because I didn't have any. I also substituted 1 large can of tomato puree for the tomato sauce and juice. It worked out beautifully. Thank you !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I've made this recipe a bunch and I love it when the cold weather rolls around and I can start making it again. The only changes I make are to cut down on the beans (not a bean lover). I also use stew meat and throw everything in the crockpot for about 8 hours on low. The stew meat just melts in your mouth! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Excellent! I've been looking for a "go-to" chili recipe, and this is definitely it! I made a couple of changes, based on what I had on hand. I used a 20oz can of dark kidney beans. 1/4tsp crushed red pepper flakes instead of the cayenne, and a 10.5oz can of diced tomatoes with chilies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I've resorted to trickery when it comes to exposing the family to all the Recipezaar recipes I've tried. Just slipped this chili under their noses---comments on how good it tasted were made after just one mouthful. No one had to grumble about trying a new recipe and I discovered immediately this chili recipe is better than my old one. Made as directed, except omitted the oil and reduced the salt. Thanks, Anita, for helping me continue to be sneaky, yet still experiment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Great Chili! I omitted the oil (didn't really need it) and doubled the recipe. Instead of using all kidney beans, I put in 2 cans kidney and 2 cans of chili beans. I also used V8 juice instead of regular tomato, and used a little more chili powder, cumin and garlic than called for. At first it seemed a little soupy, but after simmering with the lid off for about 3 hours it was perfect! Just the right amount of heat. Since I'm cooking for only my DH and I these days, I had enough for dinner (with left-overs this week) and I even froze 3 quarts! I'm sure it'll be great to warm us up this winter. Thanks Anita for this perfect chili!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This was awesome...I left out the beans though. The second day I added some elbow macaroni into it with a little water and covered with cheese and baked-it was even better. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

    • on November 02, 2014

      This chili is awesome! Had a neighborhood chili cook off and it one hands down! I did add more seasoning as a preference about halfway through cooking, Mostly cumin because I love it but other than that everything else stayed the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This was good but I didn't think it was very spicy. My son said he thought it was "mild". I didn't use the oil to cook the burger and used two pounds. I only used a 1/2 teaspoon of salt but added the full amount of the other spcies. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes and a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes. We enjoyed it but next time I would just use a bit more chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

    • on March 23, 2011

      I added diced Jalapeno Chedder Brats and doubled the seasoning...SO GOOD! Won me 3rd place at the chili cook-off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I also liked this recipe for chili, a bit different from some other recipes I've tried and kept. For those wanting a little sweeter flavor, the brown sugar add works as well as molasses. On a doubled portion (3lbs of beef), I added both (1 tblspn brown sugar and 1 tblspn molasses). I also upped the salt another 1/2 tspn to counter the sweetness. One last addition, for those that like a thicker "sauce", 1 tblspoon of flour with 1/4 cup water for a simple thickener. A nice, straightforward bean chili that you can do a lot of amendments to like veggies, etc. if you want. Super recipe Anita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Firehouse Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.9
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    39%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 57.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 959.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes