11 Reviews

Loved this. Used as a sauce for grilled asparagus. Didn't have hoisin so subbed black bean sauce instead. Will definitely try with hoisin next time. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stinkin rose September 08, 2009

This was great to dip my shrimp rolls in. My company went nuts for it! We give it 5 stars all the way! I can see this being used for many things in my kitchen. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thurstondonnie January 24, 2009

Not much I can add that has not already been said - this is one great basting sauce and a wow of a sauce for dipping. Will be using it for our summer cook outs. Love coriander but just use a little and sub the rest with parsley for the family - you can be sure my portion has it's fair share! Thank you for posting this delicious sauce - we enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry May 27, 2008

This is just fantastic. I basted game hens the last 1/2 hour and used some of it as a dipping suace. So-o-o- flavorful. DH raved about it. If I could give it 10 stars I would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon777 May 17, 2008

Wow oh Wow. This is AMAZING. The flavors just explode in your mouth, it turns plain old store rotisserie chicken into something so special with almost no work and best of all you want more and more because each bite you notice something a little different in flavor. I agree with the other two posters about the cumin and fennel but also noticed the brightness the orange gave to it. With the other stronger tastes, it is a background note that just brings them all together. The face of my friend was so funny when she took a bite. I thought she didn't like it at all, it went still then her eyes started moving and she said "im trying to figure out whats IN this, its wonderful".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba January 05, 2008

I really liked this tart hoisin sauce and the depth the cumin gives to it! The only thing I really changed was to decrease the sesame oil to 1/2 tsp, so it wouldn't overpower the other flavors. I was thinking of also using it as a marinade, but it is more of a sauce (it is really thick and on the sweet side). It went perfectly with grilled chicken breasts. I think it would also be great with tofu, fish, and other meats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 30, 2007

Tell the cows to come home, cause Nelly's here. This is some firecracker of a sauce. It really isn't powerful hot, so most folks should be able to tolerate this well. The firecracker comes more from the true explosion of tastes that absolutely burst in your mouth with flavor. When I just taste some on a small cracker, you can really taste the full development of this sauce. The cumin adds a very special side note here, as well as the sesame, coriander, and green onion just really propel this sauce to enhance everything you eat with it. I also really like the taste of the fennel, as this added another dimension that makes you curious and you will take another bite. Very nice, and I so appreciate this recipe, Chef Kate. Perfect for us, and our palates. Although, I confess to have strengthened my personal cup of the sauce with some habanero sauce, but I really like hot foods and spicy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm December 08, 2007

I'm right there with Susie D...this was the last recipe I made for the ZWT...served it with gyoza...boy what an incredible way to end!! Made it exactly like recipe, though my seed didn't "pop" and they were fresh...The orange and cilantro flavors are so good together and the overall flavor is so complex for quite an easy recipe!! Thanks for all your amazing recipes for the ZWT Chef Kate!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall July 15, 2006

I agree with all! This sauce is fabulous! The heat was perfect! We had it with Asian Beef Kabobs and white rice... I ended up pouring some on the rice!! SO good!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper June 25, 2006

This may be one of my favorite discoveries so far of the World Tour 2 Event. I served it alongside several Asian appetizers, but I plan to try it in other dishes too. Thank you Kate for posting this one. It goes into my keeper file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 20, 2006
Firecracker Sauce