Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Firecracker Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Firecracker Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2009

      Loved this. Used as a sauce for grilled asparagus. Didn't have hoisin so subbed black bean sauce instead. Will definitely try with hoisin next time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This was great to dip my shrimp rolls in. My company went nuts for it! We give it 5 stars all the way! I can see this being used for many things in my kitchen. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Not much I can add that has not already been said - this is one great basting sauce and a wow of a sauce for dipping. Will be using it for our summer cook outs. Love coriander but just use a little and sub the rest with parsley for the family - you can be sure my portion has it's fair share! Thank you for posting this delicious sauce - we enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      This is just fantastic. I basted game hens the last 1/2 hour and used some of it as a dipping suace. So-o-o- flavorful. DH raved about it. If I could give it 10 stars I would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Wow oh Wow. This is AMAZING. The flavors just explode in your mouth, it turns plain old store rotisserie chicken into something so special with almost no work and best of all you want more and more because each bite you notice something a little different in flavor. I agree with the other two posters about the cumin and fennel but also noticed the brightness the orange gave to it. With the other stronger tastes, it is a background note that just brings them all together. The face of my friend was so funny when she took a bite. I thought she didn't like it at all, it went still then her eyes started moving and she said "im trying to figure out whats IN this, its wonderful".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I really liked this tart hoisin sauce and the depth the cumin gives to it! The only thing I really changed was to decrease the sesame oil to 1/2 tsp, so it wouldn't overpower the other flavors. I was thinking of also using it as a marinade, but it is more of a sauce (it is really thick and on the sweet side). It went perfectly with grilled chicken breasts. I think it would also be great with tofu, fish, and other meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Tell the cows to come home, cause Nelly's here. This is some firecracker of a sauce. It really isn't powerful hot, so most folks should be able to tolerate this well. The firecracker comes more from the true explosion of tastes that absolutely burst in your mouth with flavor. When I just taste some on a small cracker, you can really taste the full development of this sauce. The cumin adds a very special side note here, as well as the sesame, coriander, and green onion just really propel this sauce to enhance everything you eat with it. I also really like the taste of the fennel, as this added another dimension that makes you curious and you will take another bite. Very nice, and I so appreciate this recipe, Chef Kate. Perfect for us, and our palates. Although, I confess to have strengthened my personal cup of the sauce with some habanero sauce, but I really like hot foods and spicy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I'm right there with Susie D...this was the last recipe I made for the ZWT...served it with gyoza...boy what an incredible way to end!! Made it exactly like recipe, though my seed didn't "pop" and they were fresh...The orange and cilantro flavors are so good together and the overall flavor is so complex for quite an easy recipe!! Thanks for all your amazing recipes for the ZWT Chef Kate!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I agree with all! This sauce is fabulous! The heat was perfect! We had it with Asian Beef Kabobs and white rice... I ended up pouring some on the rice!! SO good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      This may be one of my favorite discoveries so far of the World Tour 2 Event. I served it alongside several Asian appetizers, but I plan to try it in other dishes too. Thank you Kate for posting this one. It goes into my keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful!!! I love the spicy orange flavor...I will definitely make this again for a basting sauce for chicken!!! MMMMMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Firecracker Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    39%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1531.3 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 18.3 g
    73%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot Chinese chili paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites