18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well strike a match, light that fuse, and stand well back...these little chaps are dynamite!!!
DH insisted on fried onions to go with them, so after cooking them off, I threw in the extra marinade to perk them up...they were great!
DH thought these dogs were amazing, and is already looking forward to me making them again- not only that, they were SO simple that I could even trust him to make them!!!
Made and reviewed as a THANK YOU for tagging in PRMR during the recent TIC-TAC-TOE event.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo October 19, 2011

While these do have a "kick" they are not overly hot. I marinated skinless, gourmet hotdogs all day and then grilled them for dinner. They were served on my homemade, gluten free lobster rolls with a touch of Dijon mustard hiding under the dogs. The marinade was cooked down until onions were tender and topped the finished product. A wonderful tailgate entree. These were served with Super Easy: Cucumber Salad and Maple Baked Beans. Made for the Diabetic Forum and the 2nd Annual Tailgate Party.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 09, 2011

Tried these INCREDIBLE dogs this evening. I was concerned they would be toooo hot but they had great flavor. I did not put the onions on mine and just ate the dog. Will be making these again and again. These had spice but not burn your mouth hot. The others loved the onions on the dog. Can't say enough about how awesome these were!!!!! Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 August 16, 2011

These hotdogs have changed our whole family hotdog dynamic! I don't think we'll ever eat them the old, boring way again. My husband used Frank's hot sauce instead of Tabasco. While they were grilling they smelled great but they tasted even better. Thanks so much for this great recipe. It's a new family fav!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyd July 02, 2012

WOWZA!! These were SO good and so much fun to eat! I soaked an eight pack of Ball Park Bun Size Beef Franks for about 8 hours in Tobasco and omitted the Oregano. DH grilled the dogs and I heated the sauce. I preferred mine with just sauce while DH preferred the sauce with a little bit of mustard. We kept looking at each other giggling with surprise at how hot they were and how much we enjoyed them. Leftovers were eaten the next day for lunch and were even better. Next time I'll poke a few holes in the dogs so the sauce can get deep inside and marinate overnight. Definite keeper! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 14, 2011

I made these last week for hubby & I for lunch. I marinated them about 4 hours. We grilled them and I did simmer the left over marinade. These were awesome! I have about 3 dozen hotdogs in my freezer, that I'm always looking for something new to do with them. This fit the bill. I served these with a side of Bar-Be-Que Pork and Beans, which hubby decided to stir some of the marinade into it and spoon it over his hotdogs. (Good thing I toasted the buns on the grill). This is a wonderful and clever way to jazz up a boring old dog! Thank you for posting this recipe. (Made for PRMR)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 June 15, 2013

Great way to doctor up some dogs! Used Hebrew National hot dogs and they turned out GREAT! Not really spicy, just more flavorful. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 11, 2013

No forks needed, just towels for the forehead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 06, 2012

Does it get any easier than this!? Wow, what a great easy meal. I was worried that these would be too hot to eat much of, but it was just the perfect amount of heat. My the end I could feel the burn, but was so good! I made exactly as directed and loved them as is. My husband didn't care much for the oregano in the marinade though. We still both really enjoyed these. They were perfect for our superbowl supper. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo February 06, 2012
Firecracker Foot-Longs