13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe, but is very hot with a whole can of chipotles. I recommend starting with 2 or 3 chipotles and then adding to taste. Also regular tomatoes can be substituted for romas by removing the excess liquid. Just core the stem area of the tomato and then hold it upside down and squeeze into the sink to remove some of the juicy seeds. I smoked the veggies on my smoker at about 300 F for the recommended time and it turned out great. The skins were not black, but there was plenty of smoke flavor without being too smoky.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevedussault August 30, 2009

One of my favorite things about summer is having fresh Roma tomatoes available to use in this salsa recipe. I've made it numerous times for family and friends and it's always a big hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whpetty July 27, 2011

This is amazing. Husband says it is better than any restaurant salsa he has ever had. Followed the recipe as written, seeded the jalapenos. Has a wonderful smokey flavor with a little bit a kick. Will definately make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1 tuff cookie June 19, 2010

Amazing....ill definetly be making this salsa again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldentastebuds June 03, 2009

If i could give it more stars I would! Absolutely delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliatomlin86 March 22, 2009

A fabulous salsa. Exactly the flavors and consistency one expects from a tomato-based salsa. The extra step to roast the vegetables makes all the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dabbler December 14, 2008

The DH was looking for a salsa to make at home (and even camping). We made this over our campfire and I must say it turned out wonderful. We used regular tomotoes the first time bceause that is all the store had and it was too wattery. The second time we made this we waited for the plum (roma) tomatoes at the store and it turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp November 23, 2008

This is EXACTLY what I've been looking for since we left Dallas and our favorite Tex Mex joint, Tin Star, and their roasted salsa behind. It's so incredibly perfect and now I don't have to fly back to TX to get it! The first time I made this, I used my new Braun hand mixer's chopping attachment... but forgot to take the protective plastic off the blades, so there went one terrific batch of salsa! The following night was Attempt II, which was successful! I did cut back considerably on the chipotle and adobo for our tastes, but made everything else as indicated and BAM! There it went into my ~ENCORE~ cookbook for many repeat performances. I think I'm going to print this one out and shellac it onto a cutting board for more permanency. *lol* The aroma, even before you can gobble it down, gives you a promising heavenly hint of what you're in for when you finally do taste it; smoky, spicy and just completely flavorful. I wish I had a more impressive vocabulary to describe it, but since I don't... To everyone reading this, GO MAKE IT! NOW! Thank you, Wing-Man, for a true keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) August 24, 2008

I absolutely loved this recipe. I have always been looking for a restaurant style salsa. The only thing I would change about this receipe is to omit the Jalepenos, because I found it to be way to hot. And I love hot salsa. Also, I would roast the garlic. Otherwise, I would'nt change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Lady #2 April 07, 2008
Fire Roasted Salsa (Más Salsa Por Favor)