Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fire Roasted Salsa (Más Salsa Por Favor) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fire Roasted Salsa (Más Salsa Por Favor)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe, but is very hot with a whole can of chipotles. I recommend starting with 2 or 3 chipotles and then adding to taste. Also regular tomatoes can be substituted for romas by removing the excess liquid. Just core the stem area of the tomato and then hold it upside down and squeeze into the sink to remove some of the juicy seeds. I smoked the veggies on my smoker at about 300 F for the recommended time and it turned out great. The skins were not black, but there was plenty of smoke flavor without being too smoky.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      One of my favorite things about summer is having fresh Roma tomatoes available to use in this salsa recipe. I've made it numerous times for family and friends and it's always a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      This is amazing. Husband says it is better than any restaurant salsa he has ever had. Followed the recipe as written, seeded the jalapenos. Has a wonderful smokey flavor with a little bit a kick. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

    • on June 03, 2009

      Amazing....ill definetly be making this salsa again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      If i could give it more stars I would! Absolutely delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      A fabulous salsa. Exactly the flavors and consistency one expects from a tomato-based salsa. The extra step to roast the vegetables makes all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      The DH was looking for a salsa to make at home (and even camping). We made this over our campfire and I must say it turned out wonderful. We used regular tomotoes the first time bceause that is all the store had and it was too wattery. The second time we made this we waited for the plum (roma) tomatoes at the store and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is EXACTLY what I've been looking for since we left Dallas and our favorite Tex Mex joint, Tin Star, and their roasted salsa behind. It's so incredibly perfect and now I don't have to fly back to TX to get it! The first time I made this, I used my new Braun hand mixer's chopping attachment... but forgot to take the protective plastic off the blades, so there went one terrific batch of salsa! The following night was Attempt II, which was successful! I did cut back considerably on the chipotle and adobo for our tastes, but made everything else as indicated and BAM! There it went into my ~ENCORE~ cookbook for many repeat performances. I think I'm going to print this one out and shellac it onto a cutting board for more permanency. *lol* The aroma, even before you can gobble it down, gives you a promising heavenly hint of what you're in for when you finally do taste it; smoky, spicy and just completely flavorful. I wish I had a more impressive vocabulary to describe it, but since I don't... To everyone reading this, GO MAKE IT! NOW! Thank you, Wing-Man, for a true keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I absolutely loved this recipe. I have always been looking for a restaurant style salsa. The only thing I would change about this receipe is to omit the Jalepenos, because I found it to be way to hot. And I love hot salsa. Also, I would roast the garlic. Otherwise, I would'nt change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      We served this salsa and corn chips to guests at a BBQ we had last weekend. It was a huge crowd pleaser. Our guests commented again and again about the smoky, chipotle flavor and how much they enjoyed this "not your run of the mill" type of salsa. It definitely has kick, but is not too hot. Just perfect. I put this into my recipe keeper box and will definitely continue to serve it at subsequent parties. I agree with DandyDon that it beats anything you can buy off of the shelf. You were as good as your word. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      A very nice fresh tasting treat! I roasted veryting in a big cast iron skillet before blending and it turned out great. I used 2 poblanos, 1 jalapeno, 2 cloves garlic,1 big beef steak tomato, 1 white onion, 1 lb tomatillos. I added more cilanto and then put it all in the blender and blended smooth. Nice heat!! I have plenty for leftovers. I will def make this again. So easy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      At first, I was not sure this recipe was for me because the smoke flavor goes a long, long way if you leave the veggies on the grill too long like I did. However, this salsa is fantastic when flavoring shredded meat for Mexican dishes. I left pork chops in the crockpot too long and they fell into chunks, not chops. I simply pulled them into smaller pieces and threw them in a cast iron skillet with a sprinkling of packaged taco season, some of this salsa, lime juice and a touch of cinnamon. It cooked, I moistened it with water, let it cook again, then served it as tostados. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fire Roasted Salsa (Más Salsa Por Favor)

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 30.7
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    31%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 151.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites