Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Finnish Summer Vegetable Soup (Kesäkeitto) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Finnish Summer Vegetable Soup (Kesäkeitto)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      This worked well both for my BF and me. Fresh dill put it over the top. We used low-fat milk and light cream. Instead of 1 cup milk we subbed 1 cup broth. BF ate some leftovers, a sure sign of a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I just made this. It's great! I am not a soup person, normall, but I do love anything creamy ;-) I actually thought the soup might be boring and bland. I'm glad I was wrong! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of the cauliflower. I left that out. I'm eating it with ciabata dinner rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I loved all of the veggies in this soup! Overall, I thought the soup was good. I thought it needed some more flavor, though. I'm sure the addition of some more herbs would help me to like it better. I really loved the spinach addition. Thanks for posting. Made for the Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      What a fantastic recipe! I believe this is my new favorite comfort food. It's simple, uses lots of fresh veggies, is hearty and oh so flavorful. In my climate, this would be more of a fall vegetable soup, and I look forward to making it then with the veggies from my garden. Made for Mike and the Appliance Killers ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      What a delightful soup! It has that taste where you don't have to worry about the fat/calorie content because it has so many yummy vegetables in it. I thoroughly enjoyed it. We felt we didn't need that much salt in it, so we salted and peppered it to a flavorful taste. I disagree on how much salt there really NEEDS to be in it. Still yummy and very Nordic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Oh Yes!! Seriously good soup Made as directed, but I didn't have fresh dill or fresh parsley so sprinkled over a little dried dill. Such a nice quick recipe with delicious results. Made an excellent Friday night meal served with a slice of toasted Healthy Household Bread. Simply scrumptious. And there is even enough left over for lunch the next day. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap Sept 2012.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Great soup. I used skim milk and also an immersion blender to puree it a bit but still left a lot of good chunky vegis. Thanks for sharing this keeper! Made for July Vegi Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This was very good and easy to make. I served it with Swedish Meat Dumplings for Soup and Scandinavian Cucumbers for a lovely meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      This was really lovely, and perfect for using the end-of-summer harvest on this night when fall seems around the corner. I did use vegetable broth instead of water, and used skim milk. I used broccoli instead of cauliflower as well, but this recipe is versatile enough that any of your favorite veggies (or whatever is languishing in your fridge) will work perfectly. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 9, Gourmet Goddesses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is really good soup. It isn't super fancy, just really good. The veggies taste super fresh, not overpowered by a bunch of spices or thick sauce. I made this in my crockpot and then chopped up some fresh dill and parsley from our garden and put it in. Yum! Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This soup is incredibly delicious! Made as directed, substituting the first 1/4 cup milk with buttermilk. Even picky DH loved it, and he doesn't like to eat his veggies! Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Veggie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This soup is delicious. I prepared it with frozen cauliflower, green beans and broccoli. I omitted the spinach because my family doesn't care for it and garnished with parsley. Made for Veg*n Swap 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Great soup! Nice and creamy for a cold day. I love all of the veggies. I used frozen peas,fresh young green beans and parsley for my choices. The hardest thing to do was to peel veggies and that wasn't tough at all. Thanks so much for posting!! :) Made for Photo Swap '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      This is an excellent soup -- soothing and nourishing and pretty, too, with its milky white broth polka-dotted with colorful vegetables. I added 1/2 cup corn, to appeal to the children; also used white pepper so as not to have black speckles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finnish Summer Vegetable Soup (Kesäkeitto)

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.1
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    40%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 37.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 981.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes