Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Finnish Pulla Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Finnish Pulla Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2013

      I have been looking fora recipe for pulla. My mother was first generation American but my grandparents came to this country from Finland. I used to watch my mother and grandmother knead the dough and braid the loaves. My grandmother kept the bread in the house all the time to dunk in her coffee. I look forward to making my own. This brings back some nice memories, Thank you Annacia

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This is delicious! I tried a few different recipes I found online and this was the best. Made it for my Finnish BF & he was thrilled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I'm so glad this is posted. I have a friend who is Finnish and she gave me this recipe (or at least most of it). It's nice to have an amount for the cardamom and for the topping. Everyone that I know who has tried it loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I first had pulla while visiting Finland and it was love at first taste! I've been experimenting with various recipes and like this one the best. I make a half recipe in my bread machine (it's too small to fit the whole amount) on the "dough" setting, then shape it into two braided loaves or roll it out to make cinnamon rolls. I top it with Scandinavian pearl sugar, which is a nice touch. Also, I bake both the loaves and rolls at 350 (25 min for the former, 20 min for the latter).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I fed it to finns here in finland and they all said it tasted like "normal pulla". I have made it as stated and I have also experimented with toppings. Sometimes after shaping into braids I push down the middle of the unrisen dough with the sides of my hands making an indentation in the middle. Then I put the quark filling found in Dallaspulla - Awesome Finnish Pastry. Other times I fill the indentation with blueberries then put chunks of butter down the middle then A LOT of sugar on top of that forming a crust when baked like in butter eye buns. Like in Finnish Butter Eye Buns "voisilmäpulla". I love this recipe so much, thank you for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I can't review this yet because I haven't made it but I'm writing because I'm SO EXCITED to find the recipe! My great grandmother was Finnish and used to make what was referred to as "boolah". My mother gave me a recipe that indicated a pinch of this and a dash of that, etc. but had no flour in it!!! It used sweetened condensed milk. I remember the mouthwatering smell when visiting my GG on Saturday mornings after she baked her boolah and have always wanted to make it. Now I can. Will update after the event!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I have been making this for years, from my grandmothers recipe, and, unfortunately had lost hers in a move. I tried this one, and it is exactly as I remember it. So delicious. everyone just loves it. I make it every week now for my coffeeshop, and people cannot wait for it! My hint for a shortcut is, after you warm the milk, add cold water and the cold butter to it, and it will cool the milk quickly, so that you can add the yeast. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing. I was able to do the kneeding in my Kitchen Aid Professional Mixer. Easy to make and I'll surely be baking Pulla more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      As a Finn I know my Pulla..... This is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      I got found this same recipe on another web site last year and found it to be fantastic. I ended up making nine total and giving them as gifts and everyone raved about this bread. Easy to make and I'll definitely be making more this year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finnish Pulla Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (2335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2162.4
     
    Calories from Fat 438
    20%
    Total Fat 48.7 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 26.3 g
    131%
    Cholesterol 456.6 mg
    152%
    Sodium 1199.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 370.8 g
    123%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 76.6 g
    306%
    Protein 55.8 g
    111%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites