9 Reviews

What a delicious bread, it's lightly sweet with a great cardamom flavor that just makes it complete. I made a single loaf and I think that it isn't going to last long.. Mine was fully bakes when the crust was much lighter than the other pix, that might be because I used Splenda for the sugar and brushed with egg white only? For whatever the reason we very much like the golden blush of it's crust..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 22, 2011

Excellent recipe. Produced three gorgeous loaves and made my house smell like a bakery. I will freeze two of these loaves. The texture of this dough is somewhat like Challah, but the texture and flavor of the finished product is quite different. Terrific. I can't wait to serve it to guests this weekend!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock March 12, 2004

This gets 5 stars just for making my house smell so nice today! This is wonderful Ellie, it was fun to get my hands in some dough on this cold, snowy day and have some warm coffee cake as a treat. I used 12 cardamom pods because we really love the cardamom taste....made the recipe as is, excellent instructions with wonderful results. Thanks Ellie, this is replacing Grandma's recipe (sorry Grandma)m

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude January 25, 2004

Made this to serve on the morning of Yule & it was a big hit! Loved the wonderful taste of cardamom! Another loaf is out for serving tomorrow, & we'll enjoy the still frozen 3rd loaf for breakfast the 1st day of the new year! Another year I'll enjoy making these for gifts as well! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 24, 2009

Perfect recipe! I was worried that it would not turn out as I never made this before. Our family has an international food night once a week and this week we chose Finland - I remember a Finnish friend making this once and it was so good and this recipe certainly lives up to my memory of this bread. I halved the recipe and it still make 2 loaves. I used 1 Tbsp of Penzeys ground cardomom and it was the perfect amount. Thanks for posting this fantastic recipe :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise J October 24, 2006

What a find! I make this exact recipe with my Mummi at least twice a year in her wood stove (she is VERY traditional) except we call it Pulla as there are many coffee breads from Finland. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laila08 October 10, 2006

This bread is called Pulla, pronounced; boolah. I was getting ready to post it when I found this. My uncle gave me the recipe that his family has made in Finland for many years, it is pretty much the same that you have posted here. Our family has made this for years as it was the favorite in Finland. Glad to see so many people have enjoyed it as well! It does have a wonderful taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Missy October 11, 2005

Thanks for posting this! I've actually been making a recipe that's virtually identical to this one for years - I misplaced mine in a move, searched the internet frantically until I found this one here last winter, (then found my original page the next week - all the ingredients are virtually identical, must have come from the same cookbook). This is one of my favorite breads to bake - it makes the house smells wonderful, it has such lovely texture, and the flavor is just fabulous. And my kids are getting old enough to help - they love helping braid the dough. I've found it also freezes great - on the one occassion that I had a loaf leftover - it's usually gone before it cools! Somehow the neighbors know when I'm making this. Every few months my husband takes warm loaves of this straight from the oven to his office where it is inhaled by the entire staff - it's his required Christmas gift to several ladies there. His Danish grandfather claims it's just like a loaf his mother used to make when he was a boy. I can't tell you enough how this bread is raved over by everyone who tries it. The only change to the recipe I make is to add a little more cardamom, and I sprinkle pearl sugar and sliced almonds on the top before baking. Thanks again for posting it - I wish I could give more than five stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberli September 24, 2004

this is so close in taste and tezture to my Aiti\'s recipe, and since she kept it in her head and recently passed away,I\'m totally pleased with this recipe, thanks for making my house smell like when I was a child.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doc Docherty July 06, 2004
Finnish Coffee Bread (Traditional)