Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Finnish Coffee Bread (Breadmaker Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Finnish Coffee Bread (Breadmaker Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2013

      Bravo! A great recipe that is so tasty. Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I used 8 cardamom pods. It gave a great taste to the bread. The texture of the bread is great. Thanks ellie :) Made for PRMR tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Erinomainen leipä koneistaa ohje! (Outstanding bread machine recipe! In Finnish.) Put both eggs in and later understood that the one egg was supposed to be reserved for Step 3. The dough is very sticky and next time would add 1/4 cup of lour. I did not do the sugar glaze as we love toast and this makes great toast. Thank you ellie for a keeper. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence during ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Excellent recipe, I have made it several times. Just make sure you add only one egg into the breadmaker. I used 1.5 tsp ground cardamon. Also, I found it was better cooked aat a bit lower temp. Then what I did for the sweet topping is the 1/2 cup sugar to 1/2 cup water brushed on midway though cooking. I also like to sprinkle some coursely ground cardamon at that point(I just put some in a ziploc and wack it with a mallet). Pop it back in the oven for 5 min, then brush it with the sugar water again, and finish coooking it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Very nice flavour. My husband's family is Finnish and he has been eating "coffee bread" all of his life....he thought it was very good. My daughter thought it could have used a bit more sugar...I will try this next time I make this bread. I used a heaping teaspoon of ground cardamon instead of the crushed seeds....This recipe is a definite keeper...Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Very nice sweet bread! Great with my morning coffee. I used my bread machine and 1 heaping teaspoon of ground cardamom. It was perfect I think. My boss is Finnish and I had her try the bread too and she really thought it was great - very similar to her Nissu (sp?) bread recipe. She suggested for the sugar top to mix 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup sugar and brush it on about 5-10 minutes before its done baking. This is how she does hers. I haven't tried that yet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      This bread is light and fragrant without being too rich or too spicy. I made it by hand, and needed about 5 tablespoons more flour to be able to knead the dough and used 1/3 teaspoon ground cardamom instead of the whole pods. I followed the recipe in all other respects, getting two 1-lb 2-oz braids. I'm looking forward to toasting it tomorrow morning. Thank you for the recipe, Ellie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Sooooooo goooooood. It was actually the first bread I made in my bread maker and I have made it several times since then. It did sorta fall once, but I think that was a breadmaker issue, not a recipe issue. It was still delicious! Try it with Nutella. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This is a great recipe - I've made it several times now. The first time, I mistakenly used both eggs in the dough itself (rather than one for glaze) which resulted in really wet dough, although the result was tasty. I do find that an additional quarter cup flour makes the dough more manageable and gives more shape to the braid. I also used Kim127's tip about the sugar glaze, which gave it that perfect, slightly sticky top that you get with bakery cardamom bread. And I use 1-1/2 tsp very fresh ground cardamom. Sometimes I make rolls instead of a braid - 9 dough balls in an 8x8 pyrex. Delicious, tender, and fragrant bread! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      I enjoyed this bread,we use to call it -Finnish biscuit,in the u.p. of Michigan.In the winter you had it with steaming hot coffee.Thank you for the good recipe.I used a tablespoon of cardamon ,as we love the taste.Good after a nice hot sauna! Rose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finnish Coffee Bread (Breadmaker Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (1041 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1385.2
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    16%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 263.3 mg
    87%
    Sodium 523.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 249.4 g
    83%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 51.0 g
    204%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cardamom

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites