144 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummm!! This stuff is great! I have made several times now and have used fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic salt. I also use Best Foods (Hellman's) mayo as I don't have Miracle Whip. One time I added about 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard (Gulden's) and it was over the top fantastic! I always marinade my foods in a large freezer baggie, so much easier that way, just turn it over every 15 minutes or so. Thanks for posting, echo.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 10, 2010

I mixed it all up, had a hard time blending the mayonnaise into the liquid, tasted it, and despite all the flavors it only tasted like olive oil with a kick of vinegar. Like one of the other reviewers said, I was quite disappointed at the beginning, but had no alternative but to put it on the chicken. Like some of the other reviewers I added a bit of dijon to the marinade.

To my delight, the chicken was juicy and tender! Just sitting in the fridge the consistency changed and there weren't isolated chunks of mayonnaise floating through the oil. However, I still think this marinade has a DISPROPORTIONATE amount of olive oil. If I make this again, I am making it with 1/2 or 3/4 c instead. With all of the wonderful flavor in here, I'm surprised they didn't have more punch. The predominant flavors were olive oil and lemon. Also, since "2 cups" isn't exactly a usuable measurement, I used about 1 cup of this marinade for 4 thinly sliced boneless chicken breasts and they were well covered. So be sure it scale it down if you're not cooking for a party!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geca July 16, 2010

This was a big hit in my family. Left it on the marinade for a few hours until we were ready put them over the coals. Once I started basting them with this oil based marinade I moved them to an indirect heat to keep it from flaring. Plenty of flavor without overpowering the chicken. Great stuff!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples June 29, 2010

just tried this and, omg, it was amazing! I used cider vinegar and added just about a teaspoon of chopped garlic to the mix. marinated for about four hours then threw it on the broiler. soooooooo tasty! I will be using this one all summer on the grill!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
international mommy of awesomeness March 07, 2011

Excellent chicken! I made a half recipe and it was plenty to coat about 8 pieces of chicken. I baked for about 40 min, and then finished them on the grill. Everyone loved it. Thx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 17, 2010

Really good and super easy! Making this for the second time now, both times with drumsticks. Made 9 pcs the first time to serve myself, my fiance, and 2 friends who helped us move drywall. We devoured our 2 pcs each, raved about how good it was, and debated for some time over who got the last drumstick. Dumped all marinade & legs into baking dish, cooked in oven basting with sauce occaisionally. Served with rice and veg. Tonight we may try it on the BBQ this time. Thanks for this one, Echo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog May 20, 2009

This was an excellent marinade. We have grilled chicken marinaded in this and baked it in the oven and both ways it is wonderful. Will definately be keeping this one!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cure SMA mommy September 22, 2008

I'm glad I saw this listed in the "favorite five recipes" thread. This really tasted like a "bistro-style" chicken. The thyme really makes it. I used a white balsamic vinegar. I halved the recipe and used 4 medium chicken breasts and seared in butter and then finished baking for about 20 minutes. This is one of my favorite chicken recipes ever. Served with smashers and salad with feta and balsamic dressing.Thanks Echo, Echo! Roxygirl Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado March 27, 2006

This is probably the best marinade I have ever had. The only change I made was to use 1 clove of fresh garlic instead of the garlic salt, but next time I will use both or more fresh. Very tasty and moist chicken. Will definitely be added to my best recipes file. Thanks so much for sharing this super recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie June 01, 2005

This was the quickest and best marinade I've used!! Super juicy chicken and really terrific flavor. I used only 2 chicken breasts, cut in half and pounded a bit. I didn't even measure the marinade. Just poured on some olive oil until it coated the chicken a bit, a few splashes of regular vinegar, a spoonful of mayo (I use Kraft with olive oil), spices and a quick stir. Grilled and served over salad mix with pecans, apples, blue cheese and bacon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth_12300823 October 02, 2014
Finger-Licking Chicken Marinade