152 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The sauce is good, both sweet and spicy. I made to put on smoked chicken. The sauce turned out a little think after 30 mins of simmering for bbq chicken. I didn't have cayenne so I used a 1/4 teaspoon of ground red pepper. It is not like the traditional bbq sauces in my area that are all vinegar based. Give it a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YouCantCookTooMuch June 26, 2010

I changed my review from 4 to 5 stars this sat in the fridge a couple of days and tasted even better. =D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxiepurple May 16, 2010

I tried this sauce with beef ribs and was shocked how wonderful it tasted! I used a rub on the ribs while I cooked it halfway in the oven with beer, and then I drained the beer/fat and dipped the ribs in the bbq sauce and finished cooking it. I also added a little bit of honey to the sauce to bring out a sweeter taste. Yum! This I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callmelitldebbie May 12, 2010

This is great, I lowered the amount of brown sugar though to 2 tbsp and then before adding the vinegar I blended it in the blender with a canned chipotle chile in adobo and then added it. I also left out the chili powder since I was adding the chipotle chile. This is my new recipe for bbq sauce. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny_Toodles April 03, 2009

Love this sauce!!! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I put in a couple pinches red pepper flakes, also added about 1/2 teasp. liquid smoke. Used some in my meatloaf mix and glazed the top with it. My husband is in LOVE with your recipes Dana!! Thank you very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in Kansas Brown March 10, 2003

Made this sauce tonight for chicken and fell in love! I did add a pinch of salt and had to use garlic powder and dehydrated onions. I can only imagine the taste with fresh onions and garlic! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka January 08, 2015

This sauce is the bomb. Quick, easy to make and it tastes great. So much better than store bought. It was perfect served with chicken wings and burgers. I can`t wait to try it on bbq steak. The sauce is sweet, spicy, hot and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 22, 2014

I had some leftover beef from a homemade pho base yesterday and I didn't want to waste the meat, even thought the beef wasn't in a perfect condition for eating after being cooked for hours. However, this fantastic BBQ sauce completely changed my beef into a super yummy main dish! So glad that I found this recipe! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen March 27, 2014

Just okay. Way too much of a ketchupy taste. Would not ever make this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennie V. January 19, 2014

So easy! And really tastes fantastic. I didn't have enough bottle barbecue sauce for my brisket so I used this. Wow. I think I'll just make this from now on! I was just a little shy on the ketchup so I added maybe 1/8 c of the bottled barbecue sauce to make up for it. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 December 31, 2013
Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce