Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2002

      oh dana this was sooo good we had it on chicken tonight but will make it for other types of bbq. i did not change a thing as it was so darn delicious!!! thanks for the great recipe!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      This is so flavorful! Dana, we love it!!! Easy to make, and sure smells good simmering. It is an excellent combination of ingredients... spicy, tangy, just a tiny hint of sweet... just the way I like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Jeff Hixon (a long-time Recipezaar-er) made it for our Boy Scout troop along with pulled pork. It was fabulous!!! He held back a little on the cayanne & chili, but I could also see it going up to full strength. Thank you so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      This BBQ sauce is wonderful especially for people who do not like a real sweet BBQ sauce which I do but this was still delicious and my boyfriend just loved it. We used it on grilled ribs and chicken. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Thank you Dana, for another great recipe! We made this for a get-together...they licked the bowl! Had it with burgers, ribs and chicken...great on everything! Followed your recipe exactly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      I highly recommend everyone to add a little honey to this recipe, it gives it the right amount of sweetness and balances out that strong flavor. I've used this recipe a few times to make bbq smokies and its a perfect hors d'oeuvre! Now that I've discovered the new twist with honey, I love it even more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This BBQ sauce is sooo good! I made it lower carb by using Heinz 1 Carb Ketchup and substituted the brown sugar with Stevia in the Raw cup for cup. I'm sure it's wonderful made exactly as the recipe is. I also added a tiny bit (1/2 tsp?) of liquid smoke because it just needed something, but with my substitutions that is to be expected. I basted grilled porksteaks with it. YUM YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This was gooood!!! I used accidentally used smoked paprika instead of chili powder (oops!). I added 1tsp ancho chile powder hoping it would balance it out... turned out great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Mmmmm! I bbq chicken with a rub and then topped with this sauce. Excellent! Didn't change a thing, except I didn't read first about saute the onions and garlic in oil. I just mixed all in a saucepan and cooked to boiling and simmered 30 minutes. Will make again, and again, and again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I am sorry..we did not like this sauce. 1/3 cup Worcestershire was way too much for us. I followed the steps exactly, and after it was done added more of the other ingred. to balance it out but it was still overpowering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      The sauce is good, both sweet and spicy. I made to put on smoked chicken. The sauce turned out a little think after 30 mins of simmering for bbq chicken. I didn't have cayenne so I used a 1/4 teaspoon of ground red pepper. It is not like the traditional bbq sauces in my area that are all vinegar based. Give it a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I changed my review from 4 to 5 stars this sat in the fridge a couple of days and tasted even better. =D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I tried this sauce with beef ribs and was shocked how wonderful it tasted! I used a rub on the ribs while I cooked it halfway in the oven with beer, and then I drained the beer/fat and dipped the ribs in the bbq sauce and finished cooking it. I also added a little bit of honey to the sauce to bring out a sweeter taste. Yum! This I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This is great, I lowered the amount of brown sugar though to 2 tbsp and then before adding the vinegar I blended it in the blender with a canned chipotle chile in adobo and then added it. I also left out the chili powder since I was adding the chipotle chile. This is my new recipe for bbq sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Love this sauce!!! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I put in a couple pinches red pepper flakes, also added about 1/2 teasp. liquid smoke. Used some in my meatloaf mix and glazed the top with it. My husband is in LOVE with your recipes Dana!! Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      This sauce is the bomb. Quick, easy to make and it tastes great. So much better than store bought. It was perfect served with chicken wings and burgers. I can`t wait to try it on bbq steak. The sauce is sweet, spicy, hot and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      I had some leftover beef from a homemade pho base yesterday and I didn't want to waste the meat, even thought the beef wasn't in a perfect condition for eating after being cooked for hours. However, this fantastic BBQ sauce completely changed my beef into a super yummy main dish! So glad that I found this recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Just okay. Way too much of a ketchupy taste. Would not ever make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      So easy! And really tastes fantastic. I didn't have enough bottle barbecue sauce for my brisket so I used this. Wow. I think I'll just make this from now on! I was just a little shy on the ketchup so I added maybe 1/8 c of the bottled barbecue sauce to make up for it. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Great classic BBQ sauce. Easy to make, good consistency and lots of tang and flavor. Thanks for postng the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finger Lickin Good BBQ Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (795 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1173.7
     
    Calories from Fat 384
    32%
    Total Fat 42.6 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5482.0 mg
    228%
    Total Carbohydrate 202.6 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 174.8 g
    699%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites