39 Reviews

I will never cook my boneless country style pork ribs any other way!!! I only boiled mine for an hour and a half, but I only had 3 ribs in the pot also... I added bbq sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and minced garlic to the water. When I took them out of water, they nearly fell apart! I put them in a glass pan, basted them with bbq sauce, and put them in a 375 oven for about 8 minutes, then put the broiler on just long enough to carmelize the sauce a tiny bit (3-5 minutes or so). These were DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe :) P.S. My grill didnt have any propane, otherwise I would have cooked them that way.. I could only imagine how delectable these would have tasted that way!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunters mom March 14, 2011

Sorry it took me so long to get back with a review. Okay the first time we did this, we did it as directed boiling the ribs. Yes the ribs were tender, but a lot of great flavor was also removed with the boiling method. Next time, I baked them covered at 250 degree Fahrenheit oven for 2 hours and then finished on the grill. The low and slow baking kept a lot more flavor. I thinking the only thing boiling accomplishes is making them tender.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jencathen February 19, 2011

This is a fabulous recipe, however, a chef's nightmare. NEVER boil the ribs, they can be baked for a few hours a a low temp, but never boil. Any chef worth their salt and ANY Rib shack owner would tell you the same thing. Never boil. Flavor in meats come from the fats, and boiling remove the fats , hence removing flavor, so most of what you are tasting is seasonings and bbq sauce, not the meat itself. Do you boil a good rib eye steak? NEVER

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ocrbmom March 16, 2013

The first time i tried these we did not like them. but after reading the other reviews and adding liquid smoke and garlic to the water. these are fantastic. Even my picky eater asked for more,, ty

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Firedancer September 16, 2009

My husband brought home ribs late afternoon and wanted me to cook them by tonight. I didn't think I would have had the time so I got on the web and found this recipe. Even more last minute I invited friends over for dinner with the comment "Not sure how dinner will turn out". Needless to say it turned out GREAT, So great I just got an email from the husband asking for recipe! My only suggestion it to make sure not to boil them too long as they fell apart and I had min ribs instead of big ones and it was harder to BBQ. I will for sure make these again and again. Oh the BBQ in the water was such a nice touch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie_r August 09, 2009

Will not do this again. Flavorless with boiled meat texture...next time will bake on 275 for 5-6 hours and then put on grill. This was quick but no one ate it...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titan M. September 03, 2013

I quit making ribs a few years ago because they were always so tough. This recipe is PERFECT! The ribs were so tender! I'm not hesitant to cook ribs anymore! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alwayshappy August 31, 2011

Wow, I just recently started cooking and I was worried about boiling the ribs but they came out perfect. Very tender. Very EASY way to cook ribs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanielleC0730 August 25, 2011

OMG These were so good! The best ribs I've ever had! I sprinkled them with Famous Dave's Rib Rub and slathered them with Sweet & Sassy barbecue sauce before throwing them on the grill! Can't wait to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover June 06, 2011

This was awesome. DH was skeptical re: boiling first, but 'twas all for naught! These ribs did not lose one once of flavor in the water. Along with the cup of BBQ sauce we minced 3 cloves of garlic, cut up a medium sized onion, threw in some kosher salt and cracked black pepper. When they hit the grill, they took off running. 10 minutes for ours and they were sliding off the bone and falling apart. Messy, sticky? Oh yeah. "Finger-Lickin' Good." We were lovin' 'em. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie July 05, 2010
Finger-Lickin' Country Style Boneless Beef (Or Pork) Ribs