18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent! I too don't care for bell pepper and tomato in my Jambalaya. The only thing I did different was add the chicken when I added the shrimp since it just needed to be heated through. I also had to add about a 1/4 cup additional chicken broth. My husband loved it for his "Mardi Gras" dinner and since he likes things spicier than I, he put a few dashes of Cholula sauce on top! Will definately make again... especially since we also didn't have much for leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue March 09, 2011

Nice alternative to the usual fried rice recipe. I love the mix of herbs that don't come across as too overpowering. The ratio of meats/seafood to rice though might be a little too much; I'd re-adjust to lessen the quantity of each meat. I would probably also lessen the worcestershire sauce a little bit; mine came off too dark. Good to add tomatoes and green bell peppers too for a little more color. It really is even better the next day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha August 21, 2007

I'm so glad you wrote this down! I used less garlic, and ham instead of sausage. I have never had jambalaya, but have always wanted to try it. This is one of the best recipes I have ever made! The flavour is...WOW! I'm just speechless! The leftovers were even better! This recipe is a great example of why I spend so much time searching for new things to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae April 01, 2007

Fantastic. I skipped the thyme and white pepper as I do not like them and took the recommendation of another reviewer and added a can of Rotel tomatoes and about a 1/4 cup extra of rice. This was easier to make and will become a keeper in our house. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada September 13, 2006

Super easy and really good. My husband loved it - and he grew up on his momma's Louisiana cooking. I added some fresh crab right at the end of the cooking process. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slynch August 20, 2013

This was awesome and easy to fix. I followed it to the T and it turned out perfect. We didn't have enough for leftovers which was sad because I would have liked to take some to work. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kateyes March 09, 2011

I have made this dozens of times, and can't believe I never rated it. Sorry! This is the best ever! i don't like green peppers or tomatoes so this was exactly what I was looking for. And the perfect blend of spices. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage June 18, 2010

a big hit at the family reunion and will be sharing the recipe around. i panicked a bit and added some extra water as i had scaled it up, but the rice would have been better a little firmer, so my bad! Super easy and delicious, even with just sausage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shoga-chan September 14, 2009

We loved this! I used cooked brown rice, so I skipped the broth. I also added 1/4 tsp paprika, 1 tsp parsley, and 2 shallots, plus 1 tsp hot sauce. I also only had cooked shrimp so added that towards the end right before you simmer everything together. We skipped the chicken and it still came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie F. August 19, 2009

Perfect! I'm so happy to find a good jambalaya reciepe without tomato!! thank you thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Pas~ April 30, 2008
Finallywroteitdown Chicken, Sausage and Shrimp Jambalaya