Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Finallywroteitdown Chicken, Sausage and Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Finallywroteitdown Chicken, Sausage and Shrimp Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2011

      This was excellent! I too don't care for bell pepper and tomato in my Jambalaya. The only thing I did different was add the chicken when I added the shrimp since it just needed to be heated through. I also had to add about a 1/4 cup additional chicken broth. My husband loved it for his "Mardi Gras" dinner and since he likes things spicier than I, he put a few dashes of Cholula sauce on top! Will definately make again... especially since we also didn't have much for leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Nice alternative to the usual fried rice recipe. I love the mix of herbs that don't come across as too overpowering. The ratio of meats/seafood to rice though might be a little too much; I'd re-adjust to lessen the quantity of each meat. I would probably also lessen the worcestershire sauce a little bit; mine came off too dark. Good to add tomatoes and green bell peppers too for a little more color. It really is even better the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I'm so glad you wrote this down! I used less garlic, and ham instead of sausage. I have never had jambalaya, but have always wanted to try it. This is one of the best recipes I have ever made! The flavour is...WOW! I'm just speechless! The leftovers were even better! This recipe is a great example of why I spend so much time searching for new things to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Fantastic. I skipped the thyme and white pepper as I do not like them and took the recommendation of another reviewer and added a can of Rotel tomatoes and about a 1/4 cup extra of rice. This was easier to make and will become a keeper in our house. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Super easy and really good. My husband loved it - and he grew up on his momma's Louisiana cooking. I added some fresh crab right at the end of the cooking process. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      This was awesome and easy to fix. I followed it to the T and it turned out perfect. We didn't have enough for leftovers which was sad because I would have liked to take some to work. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I have made this dozens of times, and can't believe I never rated it. Sorry! This is the best ever! i don't like green peppers or tomatoes so this was exactly what I was looking for. And the perfect blend of spices. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      a big hit at the family reunion and will be sharing the recipe around. i panicked a bit and added some extra water as i had scaled it up, but the rice would have been better a little firmer, so my bad! Super easy and delicious, even with just sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      We loved this! I used cooked brown rice, so I skipped the broth. I also added 1/4 tsp paprika, 1 tsp parsley, and 2 shallots, plus 1 tsp hot sauce. I also only had cooked shrimp so added that towards the end right before you simmer everything together. We skipped the chicken and it still came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Perfect! I'm so happy to find a good jambalaya reciepe without tomato!! thank you thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Excellent. Great flavor! I used brown rice and it turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      So much less work than my own jambalaya and, dare I say it, just as good. I used brown rice and adjusted the liquid and cooking time accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Very good. First time I ever made jambalaya! I added some celery and green and red bell pepper with the onion and garlic and it was a delicious and colorful meal! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe. My son makes a "free-form" jambalaya very much like this, just with peppers and tomatoes added. Enjoyed it very much! Thanks for reminding me to cook Cajun every once in awhile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I sure am glad that you "Finallywroteitdown" too! I almost never follow a recipe for Jambalaya, but I make an exception for this. I can't improve on it! I have made this dish about 4 times now and has become my favorite recipe. My DW doesn't care for tomatoes and I don't miss them in this version. Thanks Angie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Great recipe! Lots of chopping - but I think from now on I'm going to start chopping and freezing servings of onions and bell pepper. I added some celery, and a little more rice + broth to stretch it but for the most part followed the recipe exactly. Very delicious! I'm glad you wrote it down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I'm glad you finally wrote it down because I finally made it. I never knew how easy it was to make. It turned out wonderful and spicy...too spicy for me but DH loved it. The only changes I made was I threw in a can of rotel tomatoes. I used smoked sausage, ham and shrimp. I can't wait to make it again and experiment a little more with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      This was great! Even though I live in Louisiana I had never mastered the art of Jambalaya and this sure has helped my feelings a lot. Thank you! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Finallywroteitdown Chicken, Sausage and Shrimp Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 608.7
     
    Calories from Fat 251
    41%
    Total Fat 27.9 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 230.4 mg
    76%
    Sodium 1585.6 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 45.7 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes